We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable.. wouldn't change a thing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cape Heritage Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Cape Heritage Hotel to your Saves list
Cape Heritage Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   90 Bree St, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
San Francisco, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Unbelievable.. wouldn't change a thing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2009

My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon for 8 days and could not have been happier with our selection.

The Rooms: We stayed in a luxury room, and it was HUGE. You could do cartwheels in this room & not hit anything! Big, beautiful four-poster KING SIZE bed, several upholstered chairs, a desk/chair, a big beautiful armoire. The building is two hundred years old, but restored beautifully. I loved the mix of historic style with a modern bathroom! That's right, huge soaking tub, separate shower, plenty of counter space. Super strong water pressure, plenty of hot water. It was a dream! I slept very soundly in this room. The bed was extra comfortable, and you had your choice of foam vs. down pillows (just ask!). They keep a carafe of filtered water & cups in your room so you don't have to worry about purchasing bottled water. You can refill it in the breakfast room downstairs. Our room was facing a side street and there was some traffic noise, but we had no problem whatsoever sleeping. Over the course of the week, we did peek into all of the other rooms (when they were vacated in the mornings and being cleaned). Every one is decorated differently and has a different size & shape. They said if we found a room that we wanted to try, we could switch for free. How nice! (We didn't, we LOVED our room!)

The Hotel: Absolutely adorable renovated building on a historic square. A lounge area with free internet/computer. A formal living room with a fire place. An adorable breakfast room where you can have your delicious free breakfast, or choose to order hot items off the menu (for a small fee). The food was superb, and the daily breakfast specials divine. There is a courtyard behind the hotel with tables/chairs from several of the restaurants on the block. There is a Thai restaurant, a wine bar w/tasty food, a steak/fries restaurant, a cape malay tradiional african restaurant, and my favorite, Savoy Cabbage (continental). There was NO shortage of food. Some days, we were too lazy to wander out and just dined downstairs. We highly recommend HQ restaurant for fresh-fruit cocktails.

The Staff: They were hands down some of the best service providers we have ever had the pleasure of meeting. Nothing you could ask for was too much trouble. Big gorgeous smiles greeted us every morning. We actually felt bad when we didn't need them to do anything for us! All of their restaurant recommendations were fabulous. The tour companies they recommended were solid. They even have an in-house driver in case you would like to drive around in a Mercedes wagon in style instead of hailing a cab. Very convenient! Need a cell phone for the night? No problem! They'll loan you one. You can use it to call the driver when you're ready to come home too!

The location: We loved it. It's just a few blocks from Long Street banks/shops/restaurants. We also walked to Tamboerskloof and to the V&A waterfront with ease. We felt like we were very centrally located and it was a fantastic place to use as a home-base. We felt safe walking around the neighborhood too, even at night.

I'm sitting here trying to find something negative to write, but can't come up with anything. It's a super-clean, super-friendly, adorably-decorated hotel in the heart of the city. What more could we ask for?

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    543
    97
    14
    5
    4
See reviews for
86
359
43
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockport, Maine USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2009

Everything has already been said about this hotel, so I'll keep this brief. The ONLY thing to be wary of is if your room overlooks the courtyard it gets noisy at night. Everything else was perfect, the staff is outstanding and gives 200 percent effort into making the stay a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2009

This is wonderful hotel, with great staff willing to go that extra mile to help. The room we stayed in was just beside the courtyard which was buzzing at night. The hotel is serviced by 3 or 4 great resturants/pubs/cocktail bars and seems to be very popular with the locals. There is only one place I will stay in Cape Town and this is it. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2009

The Cape Heritage Hotel is a really nice home away from home. The service feels very personal and attentive, and the décor is really lovely. Each room is decorated in a different style and what's nice is that they leave the doors of unoccupied rooms open so that you can get a sense of what other ones look like. Although the choice is not enormous, the food at breakfast was very nice. The only slight worry that we had was about the size of the actual breakfast room. There must be only 8 places in total... which was not a problem when we were there because the hotel was not very full. But, when it gets busy, I wonder what they do. One really nice thing was that we had to check out very early in the morning to get our plane back to Jo'burg and they did make special arrangements so that we could have breakfast before it usually starts.
The only thing that I slightly disliked about the hotel was its location. We'd stayed at another place in the same area in early 2006 and had the impression that the town centre had got a little less secure since then. We definitely didn't feel at ease wandering around the neighbourhood after sunset. Fortunately, there is a choice of a number of restaurants in the courtyard behind the hotel. So, you don't necessarily have to go far to eat at night. Plus, they do offer secure parking on the adjacent square. So, it's easy to avoid walking anywhere. The other downside to the central location, however, is a little unavoidable — there did tend to be a certain amount of noise from the street at night... which could be a problem if you're a light sleeper.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2009

We enjoyed our stay here but didn't particularly like our room. The bathroom was actually built into the bedroom with glass. Not a great deal of privacy, one needs to give one's partner some privacy when they visit the bathroom. There were much nicer and rather exotic bedrooms available. As we were only staying one night it was not a big deal. We visited a lovely bar at the front of the hotel and enjoyed tapas sitting outside on our first night in Cape Town. Very close to the centre of town and lots of parking.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2009

I just came back from my nice honeymoon Cape Town. After reading reviews about Cape Heritage i decided to book a room and i am glad i did. Firstly hotel stuff is very friendly and very helpful.They make all my reservations and give suggestions about what to do. There are very lovely restaurants around the hotel. They also make a very nice touch with putting roses on my floor and sending champangne and fruit for my honeymoon. They also upgrade my room to suit which was the best bathroom i ever stay in my life.Only thing i didnt like about the hotel was breakfast. There wasnt much and they charge money for hot stuff.
But if i come back to CT agin, i will definetly stay in Cape Heritage

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2009

We stayed at Cape Heritage in March 2009. We arrived and were met by friendly staff and as our rooms were not ready we were shown into the courtyard and served coffee. What a surprise a lovely courtyard served by 3-4 bars and restaurants that as evening came was a really buzzing little spot. We stayed 3 nights and couldn't wait to come back to 'our courtyard' after dinner. We did eat at one of the restaurants 'Savoy Cabbage' but could not get into any other, so book in advance or as soon as you arrive. We ate breakfast in the courtyard as the weather was so good. Our room was at the front and in the main road so could be noisy. A really great boutique hotel that our friends and I would highly recommended to anybody

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cape Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Heritage Hotel

Address: 90 Bree St, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cape Heritage Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Heritage Square in the heart of Cape Town, the Cape Heritage is a boutique four star hotel that is historic and contemporary; intimate and lively; and stylish and cozy. Originally built in 1771, the hotel has 17 individually decorated bedrooms, which not only retain the charm of the past but are also equipped with an array of modern comforts. The hotel opens out onto a courtyard that houses the oldest living grapevine in South Africa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cape Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Town Heritage Hotel
Cape Heritage Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape Heritage Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.