We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“God for business but a bit out of the way” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Protea Hotel Sea Point

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Protea Hotel Sea Point to your Saves list
Protea Hotel Sea Point
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Arthur's Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“God for business but a bit out of the way”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Not a bad hotel at all. I was initially put in a room without a desk - (really!) but on request my room was changed without fuss. Not sure how the booking process works but when a guest books under the name of a corporate, during the week, surely you assume the person is on business and therefore needs a desk. The hotel is recently renovated so is fresh and new. The staff are very friendly but don't appear to be solution driven. When a problem arises, they tend to look at you with no solution, but when you ask if they can do something specific to help they are very pleasant about doing it. Rooms are nice and while bathrooms are very small, they are perfectly adequate with very nice showers. It's a bit out of the way if you are doing business in Newlands, Claremont and if you expect to visit the V&A a bit, best to stay in town. The I house restaurant is the Spur which is a bit of a disappointment. 500MB free wifi a day. And it's fast. Bonus!

Would I stay here again? Probably not, primarily because it is too out of the way for my business purposes. Otherwise, definitely.

Room Tip: Book a room with a desk if you're on business
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janneman B, General Manager at Protea Hotel Sea Point, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Rob S

Thank you for staying with us and for the review - apologies that you did not get a room with a working desk on arrival. At Protea Hotels we always try to anticipate, meet and exceed GUEST expectations - if ever you are in our area again - let me know and we will make sure you have a great stay in the right room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    64
    11
    7
    7
See reviews for
26
50
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

The hotel is lovely, but bare in mind, you will only get a partial sea view. Very clean and comfortable rooms. In South Africa, we only stay at the Protea Hotels. Protea Hotel Sea Point was our second choice as we always stay at the Protea Hotel President, but unfortunately they were fully booked and I understand why. But we were pleasantly surprised. The hotel is very centrally situated, in the middle of all amenities. Easy access to refreshing beach walks, and beach drives. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The breakfast was very good. The kids enjoyed it most. They have the Spur as a main restaurant. The only disappointment was when we tried to order alcoholic drinks at 10:00pm. We were told that we had to order food with, as the Spur is the hotel's in -room dining service. Really?? We just got back from a hefty dinner and wanted a night cap, only to be told that we must eat again to have a drink. We eventually bought our drinks at an outlet and took up to the room. That is the only complain I have about the hotel. Either than that, I will recommend this hotel. We enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Sixth floor rooms. Beautiful but partial sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janneman B, General Manager at Protea Hotel Sea Point, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Kershree

Thank you for staying with us and I am pleased that we could live up to expectation. We are in the process of making 'night caps' more available - please let me know when your next visit is going to be so that we can stock your mini bar. Wishing you safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johannesburg
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

My wife and I enjoyed our 2 night stay at this hotel. We found our room type, superior, perfect for us and spacious. I do not know how the rooms looked before the refurbishment, but they look smart and stylish and welcoming. The service received from all staff was spot on and friendly. I like its closeness to the ocean. Also convenient are the 2 supermarkets a shoprite,and a woolworths foods which is within walking distance. I parked on the street, in front of the hotel and found it to be safe. This hotel has a "holiday" feeling to it. I enjoyed being woken up in the morning to the sounds of seagulls too. The bathroom is understandably small but modern. I do suggest that the hotel puts a cover on the basin wooden legs as these seem to be starting to age due to water falling on the floor. Cape town does not really have any 3 or 4 star hotels that are directly on the beachfront like Durban, so this is a good choice if u want the sea within a few minutes walk. If I returned to cape town, I will stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janneman B, General Manager at Protea Hotel Sea Point, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear es786

Thank you for staying at the Protea Hotel Sea Point and for the review. I am pleased you had a great stay and will share your compliments with my TEAM. We have noted your suggestion with regards to the bathroom. We look forward to welcome you back soon and ensure you book a superior or deluxe room for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights, booked as a package through Kulula. Great hotel, friendly staff, comfortable beds. In an excellent location. Only downsides were the prices of parking and breakfast - but other than that, can't fault it!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janneman B, General Manager at Protea Hotel Sea Point, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Todd_82

Thank you for staying at the Protea Hotel Sea Point and for the review. It looks like you experienced some of the famous Cape Town attractions and there are more available for your next visit. Looking forward to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We stayed here for one week. Staff were great, friendly and very helpful. Room was adequate , great view of the sea front. Bathroom was small but wasn't a problem. Breakfasts were really good. Would definitely recommend this hotel to stay at. Location was also great.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janneman B, General Manager at Protea Hotel Sea Point, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Laura M

Thank you for staying at the Protea Hotel Sea Point and for the review - glad you had a great stay and could explore our city from here. The location of the hotel allows for easy access to various shops and restaurants in the area. The mountain and ocean views are magnificent any season of the year. We look forward to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holywell, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We stayed here for five nights in a family room with 2 kids. The hotel was always clean and the staff were very helpful. The pool is small but it enough for our kids to play in and the pool area has lovely views of the Lions Head mountain. The breakfast was reasonably priced but only because the kids ate free, there was a good selection of food. The room was nice but it was a shame that the family rooms seem to be out the back of the hotel so no balcony or views. The bed was incredibly comfortable and huge!! Although it's not a beachfront hotel, it's a 30sec walk to it and also well placed for the local shops. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janneman B, General Manager at Protea Hotel Sea Point, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Spikeswife12

Thank you for staying at the Protea Hotel Sea Point and for the review. I am pleased to see you had a relaxing stay and a very comfortable sleep. The Sea Point Pavilion is two blocks away from the hotel with a main pool / kiddies pool and diving pool - worth a visit during your next visit. We look forward to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

The room we had was comfortable, modern and clean. Looks like it was recently refurshed. Fabulous bathroom/shower. Staff are very friendly and helpful. I would stay again. The location is good for varios sightseeing trips around the cape. We never ate there. I think the bar/foyer layout could be better but that didn't detract from the stay.

We would stay again.

Room Tip: We asked for an got a room on the fifth floor - quiet, comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janneman B, General Manager at Protea Hotel Sea Point, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear robert_st_12

Thank you for staying at the Protea Hotel Sea Point and for the review. The hotel was refurbished during winter 2013 and the new beach house look have been well received. There are many more great restaurants for you to explore around the hotel during your next stay and we look forward to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Protea Hotel Sea Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Sea Point

Address: Arthur's Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel Sea Point 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEWLY REFURBISHED. Located a block away from Sea Point Promenade and the cool Atlantic shoreline, this stylish three star hotel guarantees GUESTS an experience that’s freshly different. Protea Hotel Sea Point is a comfortable oasis for corporate and leisure travellers alike who want to experience the best of Cape Town in a tranquil beach house feel. Protea Hotel Sea Point is Freshly Different. This seaside hotel offers either mountain or sea views from the rooms and the vast range of amenities ensures a home-away-from-home feel. The hotels’ most talked about feature is the individuality of the six Luxury Art Suites and the interactive lobby and lounge area. Minutes away from Camps Bay beaches, V&A Waterfront and the CBD; not to mention the beautiful Cape Town promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Marriott so you can book your Protea Hotel Sea Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Cape Town
Protea Hotel Sea Point Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Protea Hotel Sea Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.