We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, friendly staff, amazing breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Victoria & Alfred Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Victoria & Alfred Hotel to your Saves list
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   On the Waterfront Pierhead, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Scotland
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, friendly staff, amazing breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

My husband and I stayed in the V&A Hotel last year when we were in Cape Town and we both loved it. On this occasion we chose to stay somewhere else however we did have breakfast on 4 separate occasions at the V&A and it was brilliant every time. We sat outside so you have a view of Table Mountain and also over the harbour area so it's a lovely place to sit. Breakfast (whether continental or contintental with full English) is very reasonably priced. The buffet selection is much bigger than you see at many hotels and has almost anything you can think of on it - spoiled for choice. Also beside their fruit juices there is champagne for those who fancy a morning Bucks Fizz/Mimosa to start the day off - no additional charge for that. We were having full English breakfast (and champagne!) for 2 people for less than £25 which is great value in comparison to many places. Staff all very friendly and helpful and service was great. To be recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil M, Managing Director at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Emma

Thanks so much for the wonderful feedback on your experiences at the V&A Hotel and OYO Restaurant. I'm very happy to hear that you always enjoy visiting and we hope to welcome you back again soon!

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    504
    253
    62
    15
    13
See reviews for
125
432
46
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed here after staying a couple of nights in the Cape Grace. No comparison- Cape Grace is almost perfect. Problem with this hotel is that they dont seem to know what they are - a good restaurant/bistro or a hotel? The restaurant side is very good - lovely location - good breakfasts. But because it is part of a shopping mall, it doesnt feel a great hotel with good lounges etc. Also the service wasn't good - there seemed to be some problems with management I think. People who worked there didnt seem happy. However the rooms were clean - the bathroom good, but I expected more.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil M, Managing Director at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Good day

Thanks so much for having taken the time to write a review. I'll certainly investigate the points you have raised as we aim to deliver only the highest levels of service.

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

This hotel was in the most fantastic area of Cape Town - right in the heart of the Waterfront. Yes, the area is touristy, but as a tourist, isn't that what you want? We walked to a different restaurant for dinner every night. The hotel itself has character, and the rooms are sizable. We had a room overlooking the piazza, and seeing the ferris wheel and hearing the people and the music every day/night was very cool. The room was clean, had plenty of space, and we got a nice little chocolate and bottle of water every day. Breakfast was excellent, and the staff could not have been nicer. My one comment is that the bathrooms need somewhat of an update, but by no means are a reason not to stay here. And who hangs out in the bathroom anyway?

Room Tip: I imagine the Table Mountain room has a nice view, but the liveliness of the pizza view was fun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil M, Managing Director at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Good day

Thanks for the wonderful review on your stay at the V&A Hotel. I'm glad to hear that you've enjoyed your stay and you'll be happy to know that we're upgrading the bathrooms this year actually. We hope to welcome you back again on your next visit to Cape Town!

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We had high expectations for this hotel based on the location, pictures, star rating, website, and other guest reviews. We stayed for three nights.

Overall, we were extremely disappointed. For context, we were looking for a nice hotel within walking distance of the V&A Waterfront where we could relax after a few days of gruelling cycling.

Pros
- The rooms are nicely decorated, and large
- Bathrooms are nice, the beds are comfortable
- The breakfast buffet was really nice, and the restaurant view is great

Cons
- Poor security. Our keycard became demagnetised, so I needed to reset it. The front desk asked our room number and never confirmed our identity (either by name or checking an ID) before resetting the card. I view this as a really concerning security breach. Even roach motels will double check your identity before reissuing a card.
- The internet didn’t work for more than a few hours at a time, and we would need to call several times a day to inform them the internet had stopped working. This is a HUGE thing for us when traveling (particularly for keeping connected to work), and was a major negative. We would never stay at a property that didn’t have internet. It was clear that the IT department was incompetent, didn’t care about resolving the problem, and fed lots of BS to the hotel management which made no sense (I work in IT). One solution offered was to come down and sit at the travel desk and use their computer, which doesn’t really work when you’ve got queued emails to send, need a VPN, or have to have a chat with someone. Any hotel can advertise “we have internet, you just have to come downstairs and use our own computer” but nobody would take that seriously.
- There wasn’t really hot water available. It was at best warm (just above body temperature) which rendered the bath tub useless, a major disappointment for us counting on this to help tired and sore muscles.
- The rooms are REALLY loud. You can hear everything out on the street, and because it’s an active port and major nightspot, you’re woken by car alarms, port noises, seagulls, and at night have to listen to drunk people stumbling and hollering around. You can hear everything within the hotel hallway as well. Another major disappointment for us as we were really tired and looking forward to some nice uninterrupted sleep.
- Our fridge wasn’t working when we checked in.
- The AC will cut out for several hours each night so that you wake up hot. Bad for sleeping.
- The AC rattles intermittently, and the toilet drips loudly. Bad for sleeping.
- The TV is really small and doesn’t have any additional channels.
- There’s only one elevator, so you’re constantly waiting for it.

Overall, this hotel is nowhere near a 5 star experience. The management seems to try hard, but misses on all the details that you’d expect from a “boutique” hotel that’s aiming to provide a great product.

Examples of Poor Attention to Detail
- The internet was never monitored so it was always a surprise when out, despite me explaining this was a priority for us, and everyone knowing that it was having ongoing issues.
- The travel desk person spends most of her time talking to vendors and ignoring you while waiting to speak to her.
- The service at breakfast is poor. You’ll get your coffee cup refilled maybe once over the course of an hour.
- We had a greeting card in our room written by the manager with the wrong name on it.
- The staff never calls you back with bad news. They’ll just ignore you until you call them again.
- The place settings in the restaurant are always missing something. While being seated for breakfast each morning we had the following missing: napkins (both of us), napkin (one of us), chair (!).
- The hotel staff lies to you when they have a problem. For example, they repeatedly told us that their IT staff had been working “all night long", when the IT guy himself said he’d been finishing “really late, like 11pm”.

In and of themselves, these details aren’t enough to warrant a bad review, but put on top of the issues we experienced and in context with their arrogant website proclaiming how amazing they are, it really sours everything very quickly.

A few days earlier we stayed at the 4 star Protea North Wharf hotel just a short distance away, which was amazing in every way this hotel was not AND about half the price.

When you look at the money you pay and the other options in Cape Town the whole thing is just ridiculous.

We weren’t offered compensation at any point for any of the items above.

Avoid this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil M, Managing Director at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear John

Thank you very much for having taken the time to send us your feedback which we appreciate, as this allows me to monitor our service levels to guests and take the necessary corrective action.

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Fab hotel and staff. Location could not be better on the V&A Waterfront. 100s of bars and restaurants on the door step.
I paid the extra for a suite and it was well worth it. Rooms were fault less. Front desk staff were very helpful. My only gripe was with the restaurant staff who some times were a little forgetful. I would most definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking towards Table Mountain. You can also then watch the seals in the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil M, Managing Director at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Good day

Thank you very much for the kind words, I'm very glad to hear that you've enjoyed your stay at the V&A Hotel and we hope to welcome you back again soon!

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Our loft room was fine, but lacked charm. There are windows between the bathroom and the bedroom so that turning on the lights in the bathroom can wake up the person in the bedroom.

Breakfast is outstanding. The pool and garden at the sister hotel (Dock House) across the street are wonderful (although the changing room was full of cushions and furniture and I had to ask for a towel and drink -- they were not offered). I asked to see a room and they are much nicer than at the V&A (I know where I will be staying on my next visit).

I asked to keep my room a little later on checkout day because I had a 6 PM flight, but felt there was no effort to accommodate my request.

Room Tip: I would recommend a room on the lower floors because the loft rooms have much smaller windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil M, Managing Director at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Good day

Thank you very much for having taken the time to write a review in respect of your stay at the V&A Hotel in February. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to South Africa - this time perhaps at Dock House Boutique Hotel.

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley in Arden, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

This was our 4th visit, 3 times at the V&A and once at The Queen Victoria an associated Hotel which is only a few minutes walk away but we prefer the V&A location. This time we had a Loft Room for the 1st night, quite adequate and comfortable but it was only available for one night, so we changed to a much larger room on the 1st floor with a great view of Table Mountain and the Harbour, this was a treat.
The cold breakfast buffet was really excellent and all you need, we were greedy the 1st morning and tried one of the hot prepared choices also, this was not so good.
We had lunch , the kitchen prepared a dish for us off the evening menu especially, which was delicious.
We had arrived at the Hotel without a booking and unfortunately found the receptionist strangely unhelpful.
We will be returning next year on our annual trip.

Room Tip: The rooms with the Table Mountain/ Harbour view are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil M, Managing Director at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Kevin

Thank you for this lovely and constructive review on the V&A Hotel. I'm glad to hear that you enjoy staying at the V&A Hotel and apologies about the unhelpful receptionist, as this is your 4th visit I'm sure you know that this is not the standard we accept at the hotel so thank you for bringing this to our attention. We look forward to welcoming you back again next year for your annual visit!

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Victoria & Alfred Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria & Alfred Hotel

Address: On the Waterfront Pierhead, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#13 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#21 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#25 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria & Alfred Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury hotel is perfectly situated in the heart of the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront.Framed by the ocean and Table Mountain, the elegance and luxury of the Victoria & Alfred Hotel is rivaled only by its relaxed atmosphere and warm personal service.With 94 spacious bedrooms - It’s the detail that gives the Victoria & Alfred Hotel its elegance, intimacy, romance and reputation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and South African Hotels so you can book your Victoria & Alfred Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Alfred Cape Town
Victoria & Alfred Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victoria & Alfred Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.