We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Victoria & Alfred Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Victoria & Alfred Hotel to your Saves list
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   On the Waterfront Pierhead, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Jalandhar, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This Hotel is all about location, near all the facilities. Eating out, Shopping, Money Exchange etc everything is seconds away. The view is also great if you get a room which Cape Wheel facing.
Room is spacious, shower area is a bit old style. Breakfast area is amazing, nice view while eating.
City Center is also 15-20 mins walk but you get everything at waterfront area and don't forget to visit the Market Place which is just next to the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Cape wheel....Amazing View
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil M, Managing Director at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Good day

Thank you for your lovely review of the V&A Hotel. I'm glad to hear that you had a wonderful stay at the hotel. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel on your next visit to Cape Town!

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    588
    292
    77
    20
    16
See reviews for
142
517
55
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sendai
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We only had a few days to enjoy Cape Town... This hotel helped us make the most of the area! Had a driver waiting for us at airport! Great location... Walk right out to shops, restaurants, marina! Nice breakfast buffet with view of Marina and Table Mountain! Staff very friendly and helpful. Shout out to Antonio! :). On-site travel coordinator to advise on area site seeing. Highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: I believe you either have a view of Table Mountain or marina/boardwalk/ferris wheel, so can't go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil M, Managing Director at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Ron

Thanks for your raving review on the V&A Hotel. It is wonderful to hear that you had such a lovely stay at the hotel and I will certainly pass your compliments on to the staff and especially Antonio!

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed here for 12 nights. Excellent location, ideal for restaurants, shopping and sightseeing base but was great for our office, just a short walk. Bed was very comfortable, view was amazing, food was very good and staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Table Mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil M, Managing Director at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Janet

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review on your stay at the Victoria & Alfred Hotel. Your compliments are sincerely appreciated and will be passed on to the hotel staff.

We hope to welcome you back to the V&A Hotel on your next visit to Cape Town!

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

My husband and I are from Cape Town and stayed at the V & A Hotel for our 10th Wedding anniversary.

The setting, service and food was excellent!

We loved the breakfast - oysters, sparkling wine and a stunning view of Table Mountain.

We truly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil M, Managing Director at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Marianne

Thank you for having taken the time to write this raving review. I'm glad we could assist in making your 10th wedding anniversary a special one!

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Stayed here at the beginning of a safari trip for three nights. The waterfront is in an ideal location for the first time visitor to Cape Town. It is walking distance to many restaurants, shops and a major mall with a wide range of eateries of various price levels. There are souvenir shops and grocery stores in the mall as well as chain clothing stores known to US and European customers. The round-the-city open bus tour has a stop there, and the Robben Island tour leaves a five minute walk up the marina from this hotel.

The hotel staff provided excellent, cheerful and warm service. The hotel itself is somewhat older and has its wear and team, but is nonetheless in good shape and kept very clean in and out and has some charm in its age. It is located right in the heart of the wharf area, and there is a drydock where ship maintenance is done I would say less than 50 yards from the hotel. When we first arrived, the drydock was doing sandblasting of the paint on the ship, and this was a little noisy, even with the windows closed. The windows were beautiful paned wood windows, and did not close airtight, so they were not particularly soundproof. Our corner room gave a fantastic view of table mountain, but also was unfortunately the closest to the drydock. Nonetheless this was only a minor issue, as we weren't in the room for the most part while work was ongoing. But if you are going to be staying in the room for extended periods of time during the day, you may want to ask for a room away from the drydock if you would find the buzzing noise of sandblasting bothersome.

There is no gym facility in this hotel, or pool. To access the small pool and workout room, you must go across the street and up some stairs to a sister facility. It is connected to a shopping complex so there are a number of art and souvenir shops you can easily visit in the same building.

Big thumbs up here for the fantastic breakfast buffet spread that was included in our rate.

Also, on Sunday and Wednesday there was a fantastic artisan food market, where many vendors had stalls selling various items to buy and eat there, or take away. The offerings were varied and reflected the diverse cultures that are found in Cape Town -- Indian, Asian, British, and all the beautiful locally sourced foodstuffs available, as well as a number of great bakery vendors selling sweets and yogurt and flavored bubble teas. It is a must visit if you are there during that time.

I can't address value since it was part of a total package for the safari trip, but based on my asking about rates while there it is a good value alternative to the newer and five-star Cape Grace Hotel which is on the other side of a pedestrian bridge from V&A. By the way, the restaurant at Cape Grace Hotel, Signal, is phenomenal and a great value and a two minute walk away from V&A. We went there for variety and to get out of the hotel and ended up going back a second time! Will review that restaurant separately it was so good!

Room Tip: ask for table mountain view side, but away from dry dock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil M, Managing Director at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Good day

Thank you very much for having taken the time to write such a detailed review on your recent stay at the V&A Hotel. We really appreciate your feedback as this gives us the opportunity to monitor our service levels as well as the guest experiences.

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Hill South, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We loved the V&A Hotel and were spoiled from the moment we arrived to the minute we left. Big thank you to all at the V&A for making our stay in Cape Town so special and for making us feel welcome. The rooms are well appointed and comfortable, and the location puts you in the right spot for many fine restaurants, great shopping and access to so many of Cape Town’s attractions.

The staff were super attentive and did everything they could to make our stay enjoyable, and memorable. I wished we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil M, Managing Director at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Kerri

Thanks for your raving review of the V&A Hotel. I'm glad that our staff could make your stay a special one!

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Despite requesting a non-smoking room, the room smelt of smoke. This was clearly a room for smokers.
The carpet in the room was not clean.
Location is good, service is excellent, staff are helpful and pleasant.
Admittedly, we booked the cheaper room but expected better value.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil M, Managing Director at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Good day

Thank you for having taken the time to write a review on your stay at the Victoria & Alfred Hotel.

With regards to your request for a non-smoking room - all of our rooms and in fact the entire hotel is a non-smoking area but unfortunately not all guests adhere to these rules, so we apologize that your room smelt of smoke and we understand that this can be very unpleasant.

We hope to welcome you back to the V&A Hotel again in the near future.

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.2 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#23 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 stars 1,087 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 stars 1,052 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#9 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 stars 1,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Queen Victoria Hotel
Queen Victoria Hotel
#18 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 stars 459 reviews
1.3 mi away
Blackheath Lodge
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 stars 1,439 reviews
0.3 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#19 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 stars 896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria & Alfred Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria & Alfred Hotel

Address: On the Waterfront Pierhead, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#19 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#26 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#28 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria & Alfred Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury hotel is perfectly situated in the heart of the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront.Framed by the ocean and Table Mountain, the elegance and luxury of the Victoria & Alfred Hotel is rivaled only by its relaxed atmosphere and warm personal service.With 94 spacious bedrooms - It’s the detail that gives the Victoria & Alfred Hotel its elegance, intimacy, romance and reputation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, South African Hotels, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Otel, EasyToBook and Jetsetter so you can book your Victoria & Alfred Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Alfred Cape Town
Victoria & Alfred Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victoria & Alfred Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.