We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice way to finish the trip!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Townhouse Hotel

Save Saved
You added Townhouse Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Townhouse Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   60 Corporation Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 101 hotels in Cape Town Central
Hong Kong
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice way to finish the trip!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2009

We finished the two week motorbike tour of South Africa here. Room was available after 2pm, clean, modern and tidy. We were able to make use of a lockable area for some of our luggage when waiting for this to be completed. This was appreciated! Was quiet despite the location to the Carnival for New Years. The staff were very responsive and friendly, especially the porters. Made use of their early morning breakfast option as we had an early departure flight - arrived on time and necessary options still hot! Many thanks to all the staff for making this a great stay.

  • Liked — Modern, clean, safe, food selection,
  • Disliked — Need to offer wireless internet, rather than relying on one cord that is seemed to be shared by others with thier personal laptops, or else use the business centre (although this isn't as convienient).
  • Stayed January 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    104
    31
    6
    1
See reviews for
11
71
35
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
125 hotel reviews
Reviews in 129 cities Reviews in 129 cities
433 helpful votes 433 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2008

We booked the Townhouse after reading other favourable reviews on Tripadvisor and because we got a very reasonable rate for our 6-night stay on the hotel's website. We were a bit concerned when we arrived to see lots of refurbishment work in the hotel reception area, but this seemsed to be progressing very quickly and there was no noise or real inconvenience due to this during our stay.

Our room met our needs perfectly. We had plenty of space for our luggage, a large desk to write our postcards on and read our maps and a comfortable queen bed. We liked the unusual modern decor and were impressed by the upkeep of the room and the quality furnishings (especially the multi-coloured light above the bed). The loo was a bit strange, with a semi-transparent sliding door that didn't afford much privacy, if you get my drift.

We picked up a hire car midway during our stay, and there was absolutely no problem using the multi-story car park next to the hotel, there was even an interconnecting door on the 7th floor that made it easy to come and go. Daily parking charge was not expensive by UK standards (about R50 I think).

We loved the breakfasts in the hotel every morning, although these were not included in our rate, the price was very reasonable considering the selection available and the friendly attentive service. Look out for the Nelson Mandela pictures just outside the restaurant.

We loved Cape Town and the surrounding areas and will definitley return to the Townhouse one day.

  • Liked — Style and comfort of the room
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2008

Stayed at The Townhouse for 6 nights in July 08. Had got a really great deal via ebookers and was therefore not really expecting that much. What a nice surprise - the hotel is clean, staff are courteous and helpful, rooms are modern , the breakfast was amazing and the service exemplory. I also need to mention the shower - this was fabulous and believe me I have showered in lots of hotels and this is definitely one of the best - just what you need after a hard day's sightseeing !!
We did not have a car while in Cape Town and The Townhouse is in a great location.We tended to base ourselves at The Waterfront and a taxi was only £3.50 app.
All in all The Townhouse was a great choice and we will definitely stay here in 09 when we return to Cape Town.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2008

Stayed here for 5 nights with my partner and spent quite a lot of time inside as it rained for our entire visit, well until the last morning of course. The rooms were comfortable and tastefully decorated, staff were friendly and helpful, if not a little obsessed with making sure everybody gets their daily packet of homemade biscuits. 'Business centre' had reasonably fast internet although you do have to pay for it, 30 rand for half an hour i think. its reasonably close to greenmarket square and Long street where we spent most of our time, though it does seem a bit far when its throwing it down with rain. We got taxis to the waterfront and table mountain, which were convenient but relatively expensive. Transfer to the airport is also expensive by taxi you should try and find a cheaper way, backpacker bus or something.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ, USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2008

Stayed at Townhouse Hotel for four nights (April 17-20) as part of a tour booked through Friendly Planet. The third floor room in which I stayed was fairly large, very clean, and had a good view. The staff was very friendly and helpful.
The hotel is an excellent base from which to explore Cape Town. It is within a 25 minute walk to the V&A Waterfront (where you can book tickets to Robben Island--near the red clocktower), a few blocks from the Parliament buildings, Castle of Good Hope and the Grand Parade. There are a number of museums and churches in the area.
A couple of things to note: while the hotel may have the 3 round prong plug adaptors to loan for use in charging your camera batteries, you might want to purchase one at a local pharmacy (there is a pharmacy open until 11:00 PM about 4 blocks away on Darling Street) as you will be able to use it thoughout you travels in South Africa. Also, for late night fast food there is a Chicken Licken store on the corner of Corporation and Darling Street (3 blocks) open until 11:00 PM. At the Grand Parade, there are a number of stands that are open late where you can get a snack or soft drinks which can save on the room service prices.
On any future visit to Cape Town, I would definitely stay at the Twonhouse Hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2008

We wanted to see Cape Town but not spend a fortune on a hotel but at the same time to have home comforts and good food. The Townhouse Hotel certainly gave us that. The staff were all friendly, welcoming, professional and more than willing to be of assistance with requests. The service couldn't have been better.The breakfasts were substantial and food was good. The room was cleaned well daily and the sheets crisp and white. We used the laundry service for our clothes and they returned clean, well ironed and either neatly folded in a basket or shirts on a hanger. Some of the public areas were in some need of updating and unusually the hotel did contact us in response to our feedback questionnaire with suggestions of how they could improve the hotel. They said the main areas are to be refurbished next year. The location is in the centre of Cape Town and in walkable distance of the shopping areas and restaurants of Long street and the town shopping area and cafe bars. It is worth noting that it is a 10 minute taxi ride to the main waterfront area but the taxis are reasonably priced. This is the first time I have written a review and it is because the whole holiday experience was wonderful. L

  • Liked — Friendly staff, cleanliness and value for money
  • Disliked — Public areas in some need of updating
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2008

This hotel was chosen for me by Andrew Weir Shipping as a part of a fly-sail package from London to St Helena via Cape Town. Frankly, I wasn't expecting much, as this was simply a lay-over. I was very pleasantly surprised. The Townhouse has an excellent central location. My room was above average, clean & bright. The restaurant was excellent. The staff treated me like family. When I enquired about their prices (since mine was invisible to me) I was surprised again at how reasonable they were. In hindisight, I wish I had spent much more time at the Townhouse and in Cape Town than I did.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Townhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townhouse Hotel

Address: 60 Corporation Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Townhouse Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of Cape Town, this Premier 106 roomed four star classified hotel offers the best of modern amenities, including a business centre and secure covered parking. All rooms boast Free high speed internet access. The Townhouse Hotel & Conference Centre is a attractive 12 storey hotel and is close to the historic South African Parliament Buildings. Other historical and scenic attractions such as Robben Island, Victoria & Alfred Waterfront and the Table Mountain Cableway are all within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Townhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Townhouse Hotel Cape Town, South Africa
Townhouse Cape Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Townhouse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.