We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel for vacations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Commodore

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Commodore to your Saves list
The Commodore
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Portwood Rd | Portswood Square, V & A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“Nice hotel for vacations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2006

Stayed 4 nights in this hotel on a business trip in April which included a weekend. Great location, quiet, excellent service, excellent breakfast. For me on my own the location was the biggest plus as it is right next to the waterfront. Gym is OK but limited. Room on the small side for the money. Internet access should be free when you pay that much for a hotel in my opinion and they wanted 170 Rand for 6 hours connection which is a lot. Overall, a perfect hotel for vacations, not quite so perfect for a business maybe. Last time I stayed at the Holiday Inn Waterfront which was also excellent and should also be considered.

  • Stayed April 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    281
    75
    25
    12
See reviews for
69
227
41
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Desborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2006

This is the second time we have visited Cape Town and as we liked the Commodore so much the first time we decided to stay there again for our honeymoon. The service and room were again excellent and we were also upgraded and received champagne and oysters about half an hour after we checked in. The service is still excellent and the buffet breakfast one of the best we have had. I am sure that as we were so well looked after we will stay there next time we visit Cape Town.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2006

We are very experienced travelers. We have been to over 30 countries and always stayed at 5 star hotels. Originally we wanted to stay at Table Bay Hotel but it was fully booked. So we decided to try Commodore. We spent 7 days of our honeymoon in Commodore Hotel in March, 2006. We arrived at 9 am. and our room wasn't ready. The concierge promised that she will speed things up and by 11am we had our room, although the check-in time was 2 pm. Because it was our honeymoon we were upgraded from standard room to Cape Town Castle Suite! 15 minutes later we received complimentary oysters and champagne! Every day we found some chocolates in our room. The whole thing made us feel so special! The suite was spacious with ocean views and very clean. Restaurant served really great food and it wasn't expensive at all. Bar had great selection of wine and the barman was ready to make any cocktails we wanted. I asked for a watermelon martini and he went to the restaurant kitchen to get some watermelon. On couple of occasions I asked for some fruits and was not charged for it! People are absolutely fantastic there. When we booked a restaurant in Camps Bay hotel concierge called the restaurant and informed them that we are very special guests of the hotel and that we need the best table and lots of attention. He also organized a special luxury car for us and charged like for a normal taxi. After one week at Commodore I didn't want to leave. The next destination was Western Cape Hotel and Spa. Another great surprise just outside of Hermanus. Now we are back to sunny London and planning to move for good to Cape Town by the end of September. Great Hotel, great people, great country! Can't wait to live there and bring up our child there. Choose this Hotel and enjoy!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterlooville
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2006

I highly rate the Commodore. The levels of service were first class and the people in the hotel so friendly. A first class hotel, probably more of a 4 star than a 5 star, but prices are nothing like some of the 5 star hotels. Excellent location a short 3/4 minute stroll from the Waterfront and its excellent restaurants. Nice quiet pool area but half of it loses the sun by early afternoon - stay by the gym area for maximum penetration!

We stayed for 9 nights which is longer than the average but we'll certainly return again. You'll enjoy it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2006

we stayed with our friend at this hotel last month. Just to mention Michael the head conciege and the all you need to know and do is in this mans hands, his help, knowledge, his smile and friendliness make your stay at the commodore wonderful.
Rooms are good position excellent to see the city.
Thanks for you and you staff again.
Mr Howard

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2006

We spent five nights at The Commodore in Capetown as part of our two week holiday and enjoyed the stay so can certainly recommend this hotel. Very convenient location, just a short walk to the Waterfront. The staff are very attentive, except perhaps those on duty during the breakfast service. The pool was clean and there's a gym, sauna and steam room adjacent to the pool. They should though tighten up on people bagging sun loungers at breakfast time and not occupying them until 4pm, leaving others on cushions laid on the ground! They could do with more sun loungers or chairs but don't really have much space for many more.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2006

The location was great, right around the corner from V&A waterfront with all its restaurants and shops. Our room was a bit small and facing a wall so no views but pretty comfortable. The gym is great and the swimming pool area is lovely, set in a garden. The clientele is definitely older so this isn't the "hippest" place to stay. We were probably the youngest guests there (in our 30's)- it had the feel of a retirement home or country club, especially with the overly done ship theme decore. This is also a favorite for company getaways and tours so the lobby seemed a bit crowded. The tour desk was very helpful is setting up a day trip to the wine country for us.

Stayed February 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Commodore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Commodore

Address: Portwood Rd | Portswood Square, V & A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#39 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#39 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#43 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#46 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Commodore 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the Victoria & Alfred waterfront; panoramic views of Table Mountain & the Atlantic Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your The Commodore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Commodore Hotel Cape Town Central
Commodore Hotel Cape Town
Commodore Cape Town
The Commodore Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Commodore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.