We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb service beyond belief” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Commodore

Save Saved
You added The Commodore to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Commodore
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Portwood Rd | Portswood Square, V & A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 101 hotels in Cape Town Central
A TripAdvisor Member
“superb service beyond belief”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2006

we stayed with our friend at this hotel last month. Just to mention Michael the head conciege and the all you need to know and do is in this mans hands, his help, knowledge, his smile and friendliness make your stay at the commodore wonderful.
Rooms are good position excellent to see the city.
Thanks for you and you staff again.
Mr Howard

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    198
    235
    65
    21
    10
See reviews for
60
190
32
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St Albans
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2006

We spent five nights at The Commodore in Capetown as part of our two week holiday and enjoyed the stay so can certainly recommend this hotel. Very convenient location, just a short walk to the Waterfront. The staff are very attentive, except perhaps those on duty during the breakfast service. The pool was clean and there's a gym, sauna and steam room adjacent to the pool. They should though tighten up on people bagging sun loungers at breakfast time and not occupying them until 4pm, leaving others on cushions laid on the ground! They could do with more sun loungers or chairs but don't really have much space for many more.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2006

The location was great, right around the corner from V&A waterfront with all its restaurants and shops. Our room was a bit small and facing a wall so no views but pretty comfortable. The gym is great and the swimming pool area is lovely, set in a garden. The clientele is definitely older so this isn't the "hippest" place to stay. We were probably the youngest guests there (in our 30's)- it had the feel of a retirement home or country club, especially with the overly done ship theme decore. This is also a favorite for company getaways and tours so the lobby seemed a bit crowded. The tour desk was very helpful is setting up a day trip to the wine country for us.

Stayed February 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2006

My partner and I spent the first 4 days of our trip to SA at The Commodore and the staff there could not have been more helpful. We arrived at the hotel at approximately 8.30am tired and in need of a shower, but long before the official check-in time, and even though I had not pre-arranged an early check-in, we were offered complimentary drinks on the terrace whilst our room was serviced for us. The room was ready for us very soon afterwards and therefore we were able to maximise our first day at the Waterfront, which was less than 5 minutes stroll from the hotel.
The breakfast buffet was consistently good and the bar well priced
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to any visitor to Cape Town ata fraction of the price of some of the other Waterfront hotels.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2006

We had 2 nights here in January and I have to say the service was excellent - something that can't be said for many much more expensive hotels in South Africa. I booked a double and a single, plus a rollaway bed for a small child as this was the cheapest option - however we were allocated a double and adjoining twin which was a good start to the holiday. Rooms are better than i remembered from 4 years ago - spacious and comfy - though the air conditioning in both rooms was woefully inadequate. Location of course is great, couldn't be easier - but the service is what makes it really stand out. All the staff we came across were incredibly friendly and helpful - nothing too much trouble and with real attention to detail. i think at this price and location, plus the service, this hotel is a great choice for a few days in Cape Town.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2006

We stayed at the Commodore Hotel for 2 nights at the end of December 2005. What a great hotel! An excellent location at the Waterfront, friendly and helpful staff, a very nice room and a delicious breakfast out in the courtyard made for a very pleasant stay. We'd definitely stay there again, and recommend it to both business and leisure travellers. A tip - ask for a room on the top (6th) floor with a view to Table Mountain - spectacular!

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Commodore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Commodore

Address: Portwood Rd | Portswood Square, V & A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#35 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#36 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#38 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#39 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Commodore 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the Victoria & Alfred waterfront; panoramic views of Table Mountain & the Atlantic Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Commodore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Commodore Hotel Cape Town Central
Commodore Hotel Cape Town
Commodore Cape Town
The Commodore Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Commodore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.