We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely restaurant with good service :-)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Commodore

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Commodore to your Saves list
The Commodore
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Portwood Rd | Portswood Square, V & A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Strand, South Africa
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant with good service :-)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

My children & I were not sure where we wanted to dine for a christmas lunch and ended up
at the Ports wood Restaurant on short notice, being fully booked the overflow were accommodated and seated at the sister hotel at their Clipper Restaurant.
The ambiance was peaceful and not too crowed or full as the Portswood
The service and friendliness of our waitress was awesome, the food well presented and value for the money we paid.The A'la carte set menu with reasonable portions were filling and served tastefully. Dessert was a welcoming treat. Loved the little trinket I got in my cracker..;-)
A wonderful time we enjoyed and will recommend this restaurant any time.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    281
    75
    25
    12
See reviews for
69
227
41
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

We spent 3 nights at the Commodore and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The rooms were well-appointed and clean, with very comfortable beds. We had an additional person traveling, and they were provided a rollaway bed with all the linens. Breakfast was outstanding, with lots of variety and cooked-to-order eggs and omelets. The hotel is extremely close to the V&A waterfront and other local attractions. We also got a good deal through legacy lifestyles (free) club membership.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for the first three nights of our South African adventure, December 2-5, 2013.

Check-in at midnight was so quick and efficient, friendly and helpful. We were treated with kindness and patience when trying to figure out how to phone home from the room. Our late night supper with drinks was served in the bar with smiles despite the hour.

The only disappointment was lack of view from our room (the pool) when we had intentionally told our travel agent we wanted spectacular views no matter where we were staying in ZA (not the hotel's fault, we didn't bother to complain or change rooms). The aircon was not as efficient as it could have been, either. Very minor in the big scheme.

But the location cannot be beat for accessing the V & A Waterfront (shopping, dining, views), the hop-on/hop-off red and blue buses, the Aquarium, etc. The breakfast buffets abounded with variety and scrumptiousness! The service we received in this hotel set the benchmark for our entire trip; it was exceptional, from the front desk staff, to the concierge to the wait staff.

We would definitely recommend and will book again when we return next year.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northumberland
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We spent three nights at The Commodore over the Christmas period and could not fault it. The staff were all so friendly and helpful they really made our stay special. It was our first time in South Africa but it will definitely not be the last.
Delicious buffet breakfasts with a huge choice of all manner of delicacies to tempt you! Eggs done to order any which way you wished, luscious fresh fruits, cereals, cheeses, hams and choice of cooked too - these were one of the best breakfasts we tasted during our two week stay.
Comfortable lounge bar and delightful outside eating area below the pool.
Our room was reasonably large with everything you could possibly need, as was the bathroom complete with high quality toiletries - perfect.
We had a room on the third floor at the back of the hotel overlooking Table Mountain. Next time we would ask to be on the fourth floor as those room had balconies.
Great location for the V&A Waterfront - five minutes walk and you were in the midst of all the bars and restaurants of the waterfront. Near to the hop on hop off bus stop, the two Oceans Aquarium and all manner of shops, bars, etc.
We never felt threatened or uncomfortable walking around - there are security guards keeping a watchful eye out if necessary but we never saw any trouble at all.
A great place to stay - we would definitely recommend The Commodore and look forward to going back when we return.

Room Tip: Choose a fourth floor or higher for a room with a balcony - at the back for a view of Table Mountain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peachtree City, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

I have stayed 12-14 times at the Commodore Hotel in Cape Town and choose that as it is a nice way to start a trip in South Africa when you don't know what you are getting into. The hotel is in a great location to be at the Cape Town Waterfront in 3 minutes, very easy walk. The hotel is not huge and not 5 star but it is very comfortable and makes travelers feel very safe and comfortable on their first few days in South Africa.

Room Tip: If you have a chance to stay on the executive floor it is great, has awesome views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Again, 2 couples on holiday in South Africa for the first time. This hotel is first class, the close situation to the Waterfront, the staff are very friendly and helpful, no negatives about this hotel, if Prince Harry stayed here on his way back from Antartica, so we were told, well, that says it all.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony overlooking Table Mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kfar Saba, HaMerkaz, Israel
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

It was our second visit to the hotel, and I think it has been showing signs of wear and tear that need to be addressed.

To begin with, with 2 issues this place just can't go wrong: the location is amazing, right next to the Waterfront, and the public areas are superb! The lounge, pool, restaurant are all world-class! And the spa was divine, both in ambiance as in the quality of the message - the best I have EVER had!

The service was amazingly impeccable. We came with some funny demands, all of which were answered and treated at courtesy and a smile, and to our sheer amazement - without a bill!!

The rooms are another story. That they are small we could forgive. That they are across the parking, and that only from the 4th floor up you get a decent view - This we will forgive. But the run-down shower and bathroom, the ugly carpets, and the noisy and VERY OLD air-condition are inexcusable. I am sure that a hotel of that caliber deserves better rooms, as do all the people who are paying top dollars to stay there.

Not too much of an effort, and it is there!

Room Tip: If you come to this hotel, pay the premium, book the upper floors, and insist on staying opposite th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Commodore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Commodore

Address: Portwood Rd | Portswood Square, V & A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#38 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#39 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#43 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#46 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Commodore 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the Victoria & Alfred waterfront; panoramic views of Table Mountain & the Atlantic Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your The Commodore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Commodore Hotel Cape Town Central
Commodore Hotel Cape Town
Commodore Cape Town
The Commodore Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Commodore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.