We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Ritz” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cape Town Ritz Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Cape Town Ritz Hotel to your Saves list
Cape Town Ritz Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Main & Camberwell Roads | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #96 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Dublin
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“The Ritz”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Great location at sea point on bantry bay. Shops located nearby and Irish bar on the corner is a good stop to meet friendly locals.
Hotel staff were great & helped organise some local trips for us. Pool area is nice too and great to enjoy a beer after a day seeing the sights

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    132
    124
    56
    76
See reviews for
57
162
55
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cheam, surrey
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I recently stayed at the Ritz for 2 nights with my husband and 4 daughters. The staff at the hotel tried their best to deal with all our enquiries and needs. They were happy for the girls to all stay in the same room and sorted out the beds appropriately. The beds were comfortable and the linen was clean. The whole hotel felt a little dated but it was fine for the money we paid. The location was OK and just a quick taxi or bus ride to the waterfront. The pool area was a little bare and could do with more sunbeds and perhaps some background music. The breakfast was adequate but some things ran out very quickly. Overall I think the hotel was OK.

Room Tip: The west facing rooms were very hot in February.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We were rudely greeted when arrived from JHB. Our room was dirty. There was blood stains on the shower curtain. We had no towels. Our TV did not work and the hotel didn't seem to care when we informed them of this, they didn't even bother to assist us or fix the TV. Our air con did not work. We checked out early as we could not stay here for longer than 1 night. Do not stay here!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Arrived from Johannesburg by car at 3am and find out there wasn't any room available (made a phone call to say we'd arrive late) and the room was booked 3 weeks in advance. After 10 minutes the night staff told me to go to a room that they found eventually (?!) and when we got to it, no bed and no mattress ! After a while we were told they would put two beds inside the room and 20 minutes later we were given a room on the top floor with two single beds side by side (for the beginning of 'romantic' holidays not ideal..)... The worst part of the whole thing were the small cockroaches (dead and alive). Finding one on your pillow when you're tired at 4am ain't funny... Let's not forget the small towel with brown spots. Disgusting.
To finish it all I'd strongly recommend breakfast at Experanza, the restaurant in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed at the Ritz during a trip to South Africa with my college. Upon entering our room, we were greeted by two cockroaches crawling up the wall. The shower in our bathroom had also fallen off the wall at some point.We requested to be moved to another room on the 13th floor where we had a pleasant stay until the last night where there was another roach spotting. We however were checking out the next morning and just sucked it up. We also had dinner reservations at the revolving restaurant on top of the hotel. While we were a group of 44, they divided us into many separate tables for us to be served. Our reservations were at 8, however we didn't receive our entree until closer to 10. No other restaurant we ate at during our trip struggled this much with meeting our needs. Like the others have said, the view and location are amazing but that's about all this hotel has going for it. You're about a 30R taxi ride from Long Street and the V&A Waterfront, but I'm sure you could find a better place to stay with just as good of a view.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We've been staying at the Ritz for a week as part of our trip in Cape Town.
yes the hotel is a bit old, ... and in the process of being renovated, but given you spend most of your time outside in the city or around the cape, and the price is a third of what you'd pay in the waterfront this hotel is perfect!
The hotel is well located at Sea Point with a wonderful view on the bay.
The center is easily accessible from the hotel 10 min walk - 5 min taxi (50 Rands)
The staff is very nice and available, the tourism office is very helpful.
Overall a good experience

Room Tip: Try to ask for higher floor when booking as the view is spectacular Try the dinner in the revolving...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maun, Botswana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

bad mattress, not changed even after request. noisy long term stay students, breakfast the same everyday. Good location though - easily accessible to tour buses and golden arrow buses. The marketing hook is the revolving restaurant, don't get hooked!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cape Town Ritz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Town Ritz Hotel

Address: Corner Main & Camberwell Roads | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cape Town Ritz Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 222
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Cape Town Ritz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz Hotel Cape Town
Cape Town Ritz Hotel South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape Town Ritz Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.