We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Hotel, But Not on the Waterfront” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Beach Road | Granger Bay, Cape Town Central 8002, South Africa (Formerly Radisson SAS)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 105 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
80 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Comfortable Hotel, But Not on the Waterfront”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

The Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront is a clean and comfortable hotel, great for business travelers. Our room was spotless and comfortable. The staff are great and were very helpful whenever we needed our rental car or had a question. We had room service breakfast our first morning, and it was delicious, reasonably priced for room service, and delivered right at the requested time.

My main quibble with the hotel is the location. It isn't at the V&A Waterfront, which is a long walk away. The shuttle only runs once an hour and wasn't useful for us, since we had 9:00 am tickets to go to Robben Island, and the shuttle doesn't start running until 9:00. We drove our rental car and parked at the Waterfront, which was quite inexpensive compared to parking in most large cities.

Room Tip: There is a lot of construction going on, so ask for a room away from the construction area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IllinoisTravel4Fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra S, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Illinoistravel4fun,


Many thanks for taking time out to review our property.

Firstly my apologies for us not being able to assist you with a transfer to the clock tower precinct Robben Island departure point.
Please be aware that we do offer complimentary have shuttles to/from the V&A Waterfront every hour starting at 9am correct but please do note we could have possibly assisted should you have enquired the day before.

Besides this issue you experienced at the hotel, I am delighted however to read your positive and great feedback with regards to our concierge service, staff and of course delectable breakfast buffet.

Wishing you safe travels and looking forward to welcoming you back to the Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront.


Best regards
Debra Sivertsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We had a lovely night at the hotel. We especially enjoyed the spacious room and sea view we had from our room. The lay out of the room is very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious!!! Staff is very friendly and helpful and make you feel at home!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Jacques M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra S, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Jacques M,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on your recent stay with us.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us at the Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront.

Many thanks for your complimentary remarks regarding the staff , rooms and of course our wonderful breakfast spread.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.


Best regards
Debra Sivertsen
General Manager








Best regards
Debra Sivertsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Our first stop on our trip to South Africa and Botswana, we enjoyed a pleasant stay at the Radisson Blu in Cape Town's waterfront area. The best surprise was the food at the hotel's own restaurant; my husband had one of the best steaks of his life (he claims) and I had a deliciously prepared kingclip (local fish) filet. The breakfast buffet was included in our rate and the food was abundant and well-prepared, and service was good. The staff was always attentive to our needs and helpful with any suggestions. The rooms were very comfortable, and ours in particular at an excellent mountain and ocean view. All in all, it surpassed our expectations and provided a great launch for an amazing African adventure!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the north side with views to both the waterfront and mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flamingo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra S, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Flamingo B,

Thank you for your positive review of the Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront!
Your feedback is appreciated, so thank you very much for taking the time to let us have your comments.

Am so delighted your enjoyed your stay with us and also pleased to know we could be the start to many memories you created whilst in Africa.

Your complimentary remarks to our food and especially staff has been passed on and well received thank you.

We looking forward to welcoming you back when next your travels bring you to South Africa!


Best regards
Debra Sivertsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

I stayed here for 10 days in April 2013. It is a great hotel in a good location they have a spa in the hotel with a large hot tub. Very clean hotel and not a bad walk down to the harbour side where there are loads of nice bars restaurants cinema etc. this is a place I would gladly return to this hotel

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra S, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear David M,

We would welcome you back to the Radisson Blu Hotel anytime!
Many thanks for your wonderful feedback and am so delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

Wishing you many more returns to our wonderful country and especially the Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront where we could again exceed your expectations.


Best regards
Debra Sivertsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

We spent 2 nights here at the end of 10 days on safari, and it didn't disappoint.
Check in was quick and easy (and well handled), and we found all, staff fantastic. Whilst we were out both days on trips, our experience of the rooms and facilities was that they were excellent. We ate in the restaurant each night (good quality food and service), with a drink and had a fabulous breakfast too!
We did have one problem - a storm appeared on the afternoon of our first full day, and whilst our room (344) had a great sea view out to Robben Island, it was very noisy in the wind. A quick call to reception and within minutes we were moved to room 328 (side of the hotel with a view of Table Mountain). Great service and thought. The wifi was also very fast - and free!
We have no complaints at all, and found the staff really helpful, attentive and always eager to check you had all you need. We will be back (weather cancellations to Robben Island and up to Table Mountain) and when we do we will definitely be staying here.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Herefordnomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra S, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Herefordnomads,

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us. Am delighted to hear that the hotel and all staff exceeded your expectations.

We work exceptionally hard to make every guest feel special and pleased we could add to creating special memories for you.

Hope to welcoming you back.


Best regards
Debra Sivertsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
287 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Nice hotel, staff keen to help and whilst there is a courtesy bus to the waterfront it's a bit too far to comfortably walk particularly if it's hot or wet or windy and there is nothing to do in the vicinity without taking the journey

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra S, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Davidh1977,


Many thanks for your feedback of our hotel. Am so delighted you enjoyed your stay with us at the Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront and hope to welcome you back soon.


Best regards
Debra Sivertsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Stayed at the Radisson for 2 weeks on business and can highly recommend it. Great location with amazing staff. I felt very at home. The staff was so friendly and helpful and the views from the deck - beautiful! Hopefully on my next trip I end up there again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Aneen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra S, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Aneen V,

Thank you for this great review of our staff and services. Also thanking you for taking the time to share this feedback and please be assured that I have shared your wonderful feedback with all of the team.

So delighted you could enjoy the facilities on offer as well as the views from across the deck.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.


Best regards
Debra Sivertsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.6 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#24 of 105 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 stars 1,394 reviews
0.6 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#30 of 105 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 stars 1,145 reviews
0.7 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#20 of 105 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 stars 1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 105 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 stars 1,506 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#34 of 105 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 stars 1,224 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Westin Cape Town
The Westin Cape Town
#33 of 105 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 stars 1,708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town

Address: 100 Beach Road | Granger Bay, Cape Town Central 8002, South Africa (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#26 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#31 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely located on the glittering azure waterfront of Cape Town, the hotel has the majesty of the legendary Table Mountain soaring behind it and every shopping and eatery delight beside it. It’s also a heartbeat away from Cape Town’s pulsing business centre, an easy stroll (or complimentary shuttle) to the famous Victoria & Alfred Waterfront with its myriad of world-class shops, restaurants, cinemas and colourful working harbour, or a short hop to Africa’s most beautiful beaches and the call of our lush and ancient winelands beyond. The state-of-the-art Cape Town International Convention Centre is a mere 5 minutes away.The Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront provides the finest service, setting and comfort making your stay always one to remember and certainly one to repeat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Rezidor, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com and Travelocity so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Cape Town
Cape Town Radisson
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing