We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cant help but be happy here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Beach Road | Granger Bay, Cape Town Central 8002, South Africa (Formerly Radisson SAS)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #33 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
London
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Cant help but be happy here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Only an evening but was upgraded to the waterfront side. Woke up to a fabulous Cape Town morning, birds playing by the sea and a great, wide room with all sorts of facilities to help the travelling salesman.

I thought the service was outstanding and the location superb.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear steveojones,

Thank you very much for taking the time to deliver your response and for sharing your experience with us and other viewers.

On behalf of our entire team here at the Radisson Blu Waterfront Cape Town we would like to thank you for your business, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon, when next your travel brings you to Cape Town!

Best Regards,

Michael Rathgeb
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    255
    76
    25
    26
See reviews for
121
335
51
217
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hoylake, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed it this hotel for 4 nights in May 2013. It's in a great position right on the water front and very close to the V&A Waterfront complex. It's got a lovely terrace and a small pool.The staff were very efficient and exceptionally friendly. The breakfast buffet was the best I've ever had in any hotel so congratulations to the chefs and the catering manager.

There's also a free hourly shuttle bus to and from the V&A Waterfront which you don't need to book.

We had a corner room which was lovely and the only reason I haven't given this hotel five stars is that the bedroom furniture wasn't quite up to that standard.

Nevertheless, this is a very good hotel indeed with a very pleasant atmosphere and right at the top end of the four-star category. Recommended.

Room Tip: Go for a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear OtistheBlackCat,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments.

We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to welcoming you back when next your travel brings you to Cape Town!

Best Regards,

Michael Rathgeb
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
133 hotel reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

The Radisson Blu Waterfront is the best hotel I have experienced in the chain. It has a great location, looking out over the sea, although the wind can whistle past the windows in winter if a storm is blowing in from the Atlantic. My room 435 was very spacious and was decorated with a very marine tones, which reminded me of a tasteful beach house with a lot of white, teal and myrtle green. The wifi was free, and there was both a bath and a shower.

The gym is large, but is not open 24 hours. There's a small pool. The hotel has an elegant internal atrium so the corridors have natural light. I found the ambiance airy and stylish. The staff were great, room service was timely and hot, and the hotel driver Tavares drove me to the trailhead to hike up Table Mountain in a silver VW Golf. Breakfast was a massive buffet with six types of yoghurt and even kippers!

My only gripe would be that the television in the room takes ages to scan through channels.

Room Tip: Room 435 is a large corner room looking out over the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear George H,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and for sharing your experience with us and other viewers.

On behalf of our entire team, we would like to thank you for your business and look forward to welcoming you back when next your travel brings you to Cape Town!

Best Regards,

Michael Rathgeb
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We were on a business training course and did not really see much of Cape Town for the whole week. This being a bleak idea in itself, the hotel more than made up for it. Good food, beautiful setting and great hotel. Definitely the place to spend your time if you are not out and about the town.

Room Tip: You need to get a sea facing room, and it doesn't matter which floor, as their is nothing betwee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Emile L,

Thank you for taking the time to deliver your comments and for sharing your experience with us and
other viewers.

On behalf of our entire team at Radisson Blu Waterfront we would like to thank you for your business and look forward to welcoming you back when next your travel brings you to Cape Town!

Best Regards,

Michael Rathgeb
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballito, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We recently hosted a conference at the Radisson as well as booked accommodation for our international delegates. From beginning to end the service was outstanding! Our delegates were very impressed and the event ran smoothly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Tarryn J,

Thank you for taking the time to deliver your comments and for sharing your experience with us and other viewers.

We look forward to welcoming you back, when next your travel brings you to Cape Town!

Best Regards,

Michael Rathgeb
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Radisson – Just as good as I had remembered

My wife and I spent 4 nights at the Radisson last month. (May) We could not have been happier with any aspect of our stay. This was our 2nd time at this hotel having began our honeymoon here back in 2007 and it was nice to see the high standards of this hotel have not dropped since our initial visit.

If your budget allows or even is it doesn’t, try to make sure you book a business class room. I would not normally bother, however the disparity between the standard class and the business class rooms of this particular hotel is so great that honestly, it makes all the difference in the world.

We were originally booked into a business class room but upon check in, the staff and one man in particular went above and beyond. Having recognised our booking as return visitors I was met by Paul, the guest relations manager who subsequently took us upstairs and gave us the pick of the business rooms available that day. How is that for attention to detail and for a quality of service? He also gave me his card and his personal number should either of us want/need anything else during our stay. In all my years of travelling I have never met a friendlier or more professional individual. He was a credit to his employers, it started our trip off on a nice footing and we were both suitably impressed. Incidentally we chose room 204 which I would highly recommend.

As you enter the room, you are faced with a hallway leading to a large living area which in turn leads you to the large sea facing balcony equipped with 2 sun loungers. To the right as you enter leads instead to a large bathroom with bath and separate walk in shower. The bedroom can be separated from the main living space via shutter doors which you can choose to leave open if you prefer a more open plan layout. Bed is large and super comfortable.

The hotel itself is wonderfully positioned overlooking the Ocean quite far removed from the CBD but within 5-10 minutes walking distance of the V&A Waterfront where you will find a multitude of shops, bars and restaurants geared for tourists. If you would rather not walk then the hotel provides a complementary shuttle service to and from the waterfront, from which you can grab a cab at the rank just down fro Mitchell’s pub should you want to go into the city or to Table Mountain.

Breakfast is self service and plentiful and can be taken inside or outside on the deck if the weather permits. The same outside space is very popular among guests and Capetonians in the early evening for sundowners and for cocktails/dinner… No wonder given the beautiful setting and views provided by the hotel’s location.

We love Cape Town and will hopefully be back. Given the quality of our 2 stays at this hotel, if and when we do return to this wonderful city then the choice of which hotel to stay at has already been decided: Radisson Blu Waterfront every time!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Roebov,

What a pleasure it is to receive such a review and what a delight to read!

Thank you very much for your feedback, we appreciate the time you spent reviewing our beautiful hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back when next your travels bring you to Cape Town!
Best Regards,

Michael Rathgeb
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo, Mozambique
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Superb location. Friendly staff.

Had a harbour facing room, with a hint of the Granger bay.
Prime spot location, close to the Waterfront mall.

The staffis very courteous and polite, and really felt me be welcome.
The food is very good, and although not the reason for staying in this property, it sure does an excellent work of complimenting the overall experience.

Good meeting room space, but a bit on the oldish side.
Overall more classical design, in contrast with the new Radisson Blus, but well kept and functional.

A definitely must-stay place, even if only for a cocktail on the putside terrace, with magnificent sea-facing sunset.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear pjso,

Thank you very much for taking the time to deliver such a pleasant review.

We appreciate your feedback, and look forward to welcoming you back soon, when next your travel brings you to Cape Town!

Best Regards,

Michael Rathgeb
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town

Address: 100 Beach Road | Granger Bay, Cape Town Central 8002, South Africa (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#19 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#26 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#32 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely located on the glittering azure waterfront of Cape Town, the hotel has the majesty of the legendary Table Mountain soaring behind it and every shopping and eatery delight beside it. It’s also a heartbeat away from Cape Town’s pulsing business centre, an easy stroll (or complimentary shuttle) to the famous Victoria & Alfred Waterfront with its myriad of world-class shops, restaurants, cinemas and colourful working harbour, or a short hop to Africa’s most beautiful beaches and the call of our lush and ancient winelands beyond. The state-of-the-art Cape Town International Convention Centre is a mere 5 minutes away.The Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront provides the finest service, setting and comfort making your stay always one to remember and certainly one to repeat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Rezidor, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Amex, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Cape Town
Cape Town Radisson
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.