We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location ,excellent bar, moderate luxury” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Beach Road | Granger Bay, Cape Town Central 8002, South Africa (Formerly Radisson SAS)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #33 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location ,excellent bar, moderate luxury”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

I recently spent 10 days at the Radisson Blu Hotel at the waterfront in Cape Town .This was a winter visit so I could not take advantage of the incredible outside patio & pool as it was quite chilly to be outside .However I can see that this is really an amazing spot to be in the summer .The infinity pool although small almost falls into the ocean ,or so it seems .One thing I would warn people is that there is no beach at the hotel ,just some breaking waves onto the rocks . If you go to the beach you will have to drive about 5-6 k to one of the best beaches in the world ,Clifton Beach which truly is one of the wonders of the world .The hotel is walking distance from the renouned waterfront mall where one can shop & eat to the hearts content .About 1k away is my favourite restaurant Theos.The rooms either face the ocean or the mountain behind .Try and get a ocean view ,you wont be sorrry.Like a lot of hotels at the seafront they take a beating from the weather and therefore the rooms could do with somewhat of a makeover .The carpet was a bit grungy and the mattress was a bit hard for my liking ,the bedding was of high standard .Also the bathroom was very clean and well appointed .The lobby was OK but a little cold in the winter ,so wear a jacket ,I hope they have A/C in the summer .I would highly recommend eating breakfast at the hotel,this was truly a delight .All in all a great hotel in an amazing city .Highly recmmended

Room Tip: Ocean view higher floors better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    255
    76
    25
    26
See reviews for
121
335
51
217
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reutlingen, Germany
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

we spent 2 nights at the radisson waterfront.
Very good hotel and great location.10 mins walking distance to V&A Waterfront,
hotel also offers a shuttle service to the V&A Waterfront.
Beautiful furnished and fully equipped room with beautiful view to table mountain and greenpoint stadium(also in walking distance) as well as to the sea.
Very friendly staff and super meals.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S.F., Calif
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

This hotel is across from the new Green Point Soccer Stadium, just minutes from the V&A Waterfront and they offer comp shuttle service to/from the waterfront, however, just a short walk. I have stayed at this property 4 times and have stayed in the the standard (no view), the superior (partial sea-facing) and the spacious, nicely appointed Business Class with a balcony that faces the sea. Definitely the way to go. This property looks like it was plucked from the French Riviera and gently set on the Atlantic Ocean in South Africa. The staff is very attentive, the breakfast buffet bountiful and I enjoyed having breakfast outside on deck overlooking the sea each morning.

Room Tip: Business Class - all have balconies with deck furniture, spacious livingroom, Nespresso coffee mach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeville, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

This hotel did not disappoint me. It was right on the waterfront and had a pier where you could get a good view of table mountain. The included buffet breakfast had the biggest selection I have ever seen. The staff were very friendly. Our room had a good view of the ocean where we saw many whales. We could walk to the waterfront mall, but a free shuttle was available every 30 minutes. We will stay here next time we are in cape town.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gallivare, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

I recently stayed at the Radisson Blu in Cape Town for two nights,fantastic location right on the water and if you are lucky sitting on the deck outside you can view a magnificent sunset.
The rooms are very clean and the service and front deck very good.
Unfortunately I had a room near the entrance and this proved to be rather annoying due to the
amount of noise of vehicles and people but other than that it is a very nice place to stay its location location surf at the back door and wonderful views of the bay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

Only issue was long wait to get coffee order at breakfast in the morning...and good value re special hotels.com site, otherwise not worth their rack rates.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

We were staying on a 'free' weekend, as compensation for a week's dreadful stay at the Radisson in PE. (I picked up on the 100% satisfaction promise which the Radisson promises, and this was the compensation). We have stayed at the Cape Town Radisson many times previously on both business and leisure trips. Now we live in Cape Town and don't strictly have any need to go there now, but this was a very lovely reminder of why we enjoyed our times there previously so much.

Let's be clear. There is not one other hotel in Cape Town which sits as close to the beautiful Atlantic Ocean as this. The outside bar and restaurant area is almost in top of it. No other hotel in Cape Town comes close - it is simply stunning. Location wise, it is perfect if you want to have a real 'away from it all' feeling, whilst still being 5 minutes (by car) to the Waterfront and all the excitment and activities there.

We stayed in a business class suite on the third floor - again, awesome views of the Ocean and a clean and tasteful nautical theme. Classy without being tacky. Everything (unlike our PE experience) worked. It was a true Radisson experience as the brand would like to promote.

The restaurant offers a small-ish but pleasant selection in the evening, and the morning buffet is one of the best in town. It was filled with locals on Sunday morning, coming to enjoy the buffet and ocean views. Some things haven't changed, which is good. I always think that it's a good sign when fussy Capetonians continue to patronise restaurants and hotels. There is a nice mix of tourists and locals, giving a truly international feel to the place. Maybe this is also what sets it apart from its cousin in PE.

The eternity pool is stunning and we have used it before in Summer, but now it's still time for the local sea gulls to make good use of it. But not for long, as Spring is just around the corner. Sitting on the sofas outside on the deck sipping cocktails in the late afternoon was just pefect, with the spray from the ocean almost touching our feet.

Otherwise, the service is very friendly and eager to please, but as ever in SA, lacking in the professional edge of always being efficient. But as we say, this is Africa........ And for all the other plus points of this Radisson, we can overlook this because it's always done with a smile and an apology. Welcome to Cape Town!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town

Address: 100 Beach Road | Granger Bay, Cape Town Central 8002, South Africa (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#26 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#32 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely located on the glittering azure waterfront of Cape Town, the hotel has the majesty of the legendary Table Mountain soaring behind it and every shopping and eatery delight beside it. It’s also a heartbeat away from Cape Town’s pulsing business centre, an easy stroll (or complimentary shuttle) to the famous Victoria & Alfred Waterfront with its myriad of world-class shops, restaurants, cinemas and colourful working harbour, or a short hop to Africa’s most beautiful beaches and the call of our lush and ancient winelands beyond. The state-of-the-art Cape Town International Convention Centre is a mere 5 minutes away.The Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront provides the finest service, setting and comfort making your stay always one to remember and certainly one to repeat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Rezidor, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Amex, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Cape Town
Cape Town Radisson
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.