We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay, but....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of De Waterkant Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added De Waterkant Village to your Saves list
De Waterkant Village
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   137 Waterkant Street | De Waterkant, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Kathmandu
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great place to stay, but....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Great location in an apartment in a converted townhouse. Bed comfortable, and kitchen was well equipped with a full cooker and fridge meaning you can do your own thing. Small things let it down though; we woke up on several occasions to cockroaches making themselves comfortable in the kitchen and bathroom. Cleaning was sub-optimal, the daily cleaner failed to spot a dead cockroach for 48 hours, and we went without toilet paper for over 72 hours, 2 calls to reception resulted in promises that it would be brought but it never appeared, neither did the promised change of bedlinen.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeWaterkantVillage, General Manager at De Waterkant Village, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Asian-Noma,

Thank you for your feedback.

Due to our convenient location close to the CBD, we rarely have cockroaches fly into the apartments. The extreme heat we have been experiencing lately brings them out.

We pride ourselves in providing the highest level of service to all guests. I am sorry to hear we did not meet expectations and I will most certainly look into this.
Bed linen is changed every fourth night unless requested for sooner.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Dewaterkant Village to exceed all expectations and create memories to last a lifetime…

Kind regards
Michelle Pretorius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    47
    23
    10
    7
See reviews for
34
45
18
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oegstgeest, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Spending time in the Waterkantarea was just great again; great location and wonderful and lively atmosphere. Our studio on Loader was spacious, had a nice terrace with harbourview! It's also nice there's enough (secured) carparking. Unfortunality there's no airco in the studio so it became very very hot at night! (In our opinion this is necessary improvement in case of a future rentalperiod.) On the other hand, kitchen is well equipped and execpt on sunday everyday housekeeping. Free Wifi would be nice!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeWaterkantVillage, General Manager at De Waterkant Village, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Eric Z,

Thank you for your review, we glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Although not all apartments have air-con, all bedrooms either have a ceiling fan, standing fan or mist fan to keep our guests cool on those hot summer nights.

Free wifi and a guest computer is available at reception for our guests to make use of.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Dewaterkant Village in the near future.

Kind regards
Michelle Pretorius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

A beautiful 3 storey house , stunning views from the roof terrace, kept clean and tidy , all facilities available , friendly staff , just wonderful...great sized rooms , hot water whenever needed , kitchen and all utilities were kept shining clean...MOST IMPORTANT that is .

Room Tip: Try to ask for unrestricted view of table mountain ( Room 149)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We have just spent three nights in deWaterkant Village. Our agent booked us a room only deal and we were delighted on arrival to discover we had our own little one bed house, with very well equipped kitchen, bathroom with excellent shower and separate bath, a little secure patio and good sized lounge/diner. The bedroom had a 5ft bed and although no air con, we did have a fan and could get a breeze through the house to help at night. The location was excellent, our house was on Loader Street and the only criticism I would have was that it is quite a traffic thoroughfare and it was particularly noticeable on Monday morning. We felt incredibly safe as there were security personnel on almost every street corner and the staff were all very friendly and helpful giving advice on excursions and booking taxis.

Would definitely recommend for location, safety, cleanliness and convenience.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeWaterkantVillage, General Manager at De Waterkant Village, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Surreylady50

Thank you for taking the time to review Dewaterkant Village. We enjoyed having you stay with us and we look forward to your return.

Kind regards

Michelle Pretorius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We locked our rooms securely everyday and housekeepers were the only people who had access. We rented 2 apartments and approximately $2000US worth of Christmas presents were stolen from our rooms. We noticed the theft late at night while packing for our flights home. We contacted the village when we arrived home but they didn't respond.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeWaterkantVillage, General Manager at De Waterkant Village, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Karin M,

Please allow me this opportunity to apologize for the inconveniences your guest experienced during your stay. You willingness to share your thoughts is appreciated.

We take all allegations of theft very serious and have been investigating the incident, which I was made aware of on 13 January 2014. We found that your apartments were not serviced by housekeeping on the 01st of January as it was a Public Holiday. It was last serviced on the 31st of December. I have also spoken to front office who checked the guests out late afternoon before their early morning departure and at the time of check out no complaint regarding theft was reported.

Once the investigation is complete we will revert with feedback

De Waterkant Village is committed to providing our guests with the highest quality services and facilities. Your willingness to share your experience is genuinely appreciated.

Kind regards
Michelle Pretorius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed here for the last night of a two-week trip. Had a private studio apartment with a kitchen and upstairs bedroom. The staff was incredibly helpful (they walked a few blocks to help me carry bags from where I parked). The room was clean and spacious. And amazingly, they let us come back and have a private room for an hour after we had checked out, so that we might shower before our flight. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeWaterkantVillage, General Manager at De Waterkant Village, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Aaron S,

Thank you for your kind review. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to you visiting Dewaterkant Village next time you are in South Africa.

Kind regards

Michelle Pretorius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

The venue kindly bent its 3-night minimum rule for our 2-night stay. The guest house is ideally situated as it is in a quiet part of the area up the hill, with lovely views over the City Bowl. Minutes' walk from De Waterkant nightlife, laid back and hospitable staff, a great breakfast at the neighbouring Village Cafe. Only complaint: maybe it's my English conservatism but a door between the loo and the rest of the room would have been preferable. But overall, a great place to stay, recommended without reservation.

Room Tip: Delux rooms may have ensuite rather than in-room bathroom facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to De Waterkant Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Waterkant Village

Address: 137 Waterkant Street | De Waterkant, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#49 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — De Waterkant Village 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colourful De Waterkant Village is a unique European influenced village of semi-detached quaint cottages and cobbled streets preserved from the 1760's. Cradled between the city and the V&A Waterfront, De Waterkant Village is avant-garde, a cultural urban refuge highlighted by the abundance of restaurants, art galleries, clubs, salsa clubs, tapas bars and Parisian inspired cafe's. Drawing comparisons from cultural and artistic villages from all over the world, De Waterkant embraces individuality and theatricality, echoed in the architecture and vibrancy of its residents and visitors. From serviced apartments, houses, guest houses and traveller's rooms De Waterkant Village has it all and lodgings at the village are as diverse and eclectic as the place itself. In keeping with the feel of an authentic traveller's village, guests can enjoy services and facilities when staying in apartments or houses, such as a centralised reception, concierge, housekeeping and breakfast at The Village Cafe every morning! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your De Waterkant Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Waterkant Village Hotel Cape Town Central
De Waterkant Village Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Waterkant Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.