We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cape Town Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Cape Town Lodge to your Saves list
Cape Town Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 Buitengracht Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Arrived at the hotel to be greeted by warm and friendly staff. Centrally located within walking distance to the majority of the local attractions including V& A waterfront, the hotel looks like a converted warehouse/factory and has kept that identity on the outside but cosy yet contemporary on the inside. The room was all that we needed and very comfortable. The mini bar was well stocked with prices that were not too far off shop prices.
Breakfast was a joy. Plenty on selection and the staff always on hand to top up your tea or coffee.
We ate at the Butchers grill, the in house restaurant, where the food was pleasantly priced. Both the wife and I had steak, mine being the 350g sirloin, with side of onion rings and two ciders came to £28 for the two of us.
The down sides to the hotel are that the pool is really no bigger than a paddling pool. The picture on the website is the full size of the pool. The internet, though fairly cheap, would be better if it was free to residents. 500mb will cost you just over a tenner which may not be a lot if like me you have not been able to connect to the updates for 3 months.....lots of mb bought!!

Room Tip: The standard room is more than adequate for a good holiday experience. Rooms have own A/C which can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    133
    54
    10
    18
See reviews for
29
126
25
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Alex, the Front Desk Clerk, was absolutely fantastic. We stopped by to see a room as we had to move from our vacation rental to a hotel. Alex took the time to show us a room. We told her that we were getting married on the beach in Llandudno the next day as a result, could we check in earlier. She checked and as able to accomodate the early check in. The next day when we returned to check in, we found that Alex had given us a fantastic Table Mountain View suite, which we had not originally requested. The view was spectacular, the room was large and even had a radio and cds of African music for our listening pleasure. The hotel has daily complimentary breakfast and a great restaurant. We loved our stay and will definately recommend this place to others. Enjoy.

Room Tip: Get the Tablemountain Suite. The view is spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The Cape Town Lodge is such a pleasant spot to stay, as business or leisure stayers, I sell this property to business users and they are always satified and will request a repeat stay. Well run, pleasant staff and well located.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here a total of three nights as part of our honeymoon. It was a very good start to visiting South Africa. The lodge is centrally located two streets up from long street, 25 min walk to the water front. The hotel itself manages to create a calm relaxed atmosphere despite being frequented by your busses. You do not even notice. The staff is friendly and helpful. Breakfast had an enough it's choice of good quality food and the I house restaurant Butchers grill can be highly recommended. Steaks are delicious and so is the sticky toffee pudding. Thumbs up and thank u Cape Town lodge team for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Lovely hotel located in the city centre.
20 minute walk to the waterfront. 2 minutes walk from stop 12 city sightseeing bus red route.
5 minute walk to great street of bars and restaurants (long street)
And all for little over R600 per night....couldn't have asked for more....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I stayed 2 days at the hotel and 2 days at the loft apartments on the 9th floor(absolutely spacious) The service was brilliant and the rooms & the loft apartments is beautiful & clean,good value for money.All the staff was very helpful & friendly. Excellent breakfast. i will rate this hotel thus far thee best hotel from all the hotels that i stayed in Capetown.i must say a very big thank you to 2 staff members that was allways of assistance to me namely Elvicia & Themba(Well done guys).Overall and above excellent hotel,will recommend to anyone.Very close to the V&A Waterfront.

Room Tip: Corner suites large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We found the staff to be very helpful and friendly, rooms spacious, clean and comfortable. Excellent in-hotel restaurant. First class breakfast. Conference staff went out of their way to make sure all needs were satisfied. Central location close to shopping area. Good value for money

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cape Town Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Town Lodge

Address: 101 Buitengracht Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#50 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#52 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cape Town Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Cape Town Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Cape Town Lodge South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape Town Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.