We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cape Town Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Cape Town Lodge to your Saves list
Cape Town Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 Buitengracht Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Europe
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2008

Good hotel with a nice room. No complaints at all.

Cars organised by the hotel offer a fixed cost, and leather seats. Perfect if you expect to be jammed in traffic going up to Table Mountain in summer, as it works out cheaper than a metered taxi.

Too far to walk to the V&A Harbour - would have been about 30 mins, and we did not deem it to be quite safe enough.

Breakfast was very good.

We ordered a room service dinner and found it to be cheaper than V&A harbour and absolutely brilliant. So we had the same dinner the next night!

There is a bottle store on the corner that you can buy alcohol, water, and nibbles from. Would recommend bringing them inot the hotel in a bag tho - just in case

  • Liked — Clean, great food
  • Disliked — Need to get a taxi to V&A Harbour
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    159
    61
    13
    19
See reviews for
33
154
29
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
bournemouth
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2008

We just loved this hotel the moment the taxi dropped us off outside after a long flight. The staff at the reception were polite and efficient and made us feel very welcome. They even arrange day trips for you if required, Breakfast was a very good selection and plentifull.
Our room was available for us well before the expected time of 2pm. The room was lovely and the beds very comfortable just like the Hilton Chain.
Evenings we spent in the hotel restaurant and bar with great music by a guitarist called David. The steaks are also famous in the Butchers Grill Restaurant and try Dorado (line fish) if available.
To sum it all up we will be going back again this year we have found a great hotel in the most beautiful place on earth. What more could you ask for!
(A couple from Bournemouth)

  • Liked — Very clean modern and classy
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2007

This was our first hotel of our month long holday and we enjoyed Capetown very much. The hotel ideally placed for the waterfront and the cable car and having read the reviews about it asked for a Table Mountain View Room which we were given and it was a wonderful room. Spacious and airy with the most wonderful view of the mountain. We stayed for a week and ate in the restaurant twice and the food was OK. Good choice and portions. The garage was very handy for the side door and easy to go in and out of. The staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • Liked — Our Spacious Table Mountain View Room
  • Disliked — Expensive internet - only worked in the business suite
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2007

We got a good rate, and with it's convenient location, this hotel seemed like a good choice.

Whilst the beds were comfortable, the shower good and powerful, and the decor interesting, I wouldn't reccomend this to fellow travellers. My problems started at check-in, when the staff just wanted to get rid of us, rather than give us the information we needed [the type of receptionist who has their speech practised so that it only takes 30 seconds, but the guest hasn't heard a word].

Then I made the mistake of purchasing an exhorbitant 24 hour internet voucher - for about 10 times the price of a local internet cafe. However, when I realised that it stopped working at the same time the following day, after just 2 hours of actual use, my problems really started. I tried to get the hotel management to deal with the issue, but after about 5 attempts and no response, I gave up, and vowed never to return.

A hotel with such poor customer service won't be getting my custom again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Poor customer service
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2006

We stayed in this hotel for 9 nights, from the entrance it doesnt look that much but inside is so impressive, VERY clean, tidy and well presented was my first impression and the bell boys on the doors waiting for you is a lovely welcome, there is about 8 floors to this hotel and most of teh rooms are very spacious, and the maids change towels and clean your room every day, the restaurant is very nice, cant fault the food at all and prices good too. Our only downfall was the pool, it is on the roof but enclosed so not much sun gets there so we didnt use it, shame. And although it advises not far away from the beach and waterfront it is a good taxi drive away but best to use local taxis outside as far cheaper. The waterfront is a must for restaurants and shops galore, buskers entertaining all day. Be careful for excursions we went on the safari which cost approx £100 each..not worth the money as not guaranteed to see the big 5..You wont be disapointed at this hotel if you dont mind being a little away from the beaches and harbour...enjoy ! lisa & alan, newcastle.

Stayed November 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2006

This is a good quality hotel . Positioned on the outskirts of the CBD, its handy for the restaurants in Long St and a short walk from the company gardens. However it is a 30 min walk to the waterfront. However, the hotel has a shuttle that can take you for 40 rand each way which is irrespective of the no of people in the car so share if you can. They will also arrange pick up.

Rooms are clean and spacious however ask for a table mountain view when booking or you could end up with an inner courtyard view or a city view of offices and roofs. The swimming pool is nice but no good for sunbathing as it is surrounded by rooms ( but that keeps the wind off it as its on the 9th floor)

The bar is nice and cosy and the breakfast buffet is pretty comprehensive, it can be busy early (7am) as tour groups often stay here.

Also, if you have children, be careful of them flicking thru the TV channels, there are a lot of porn channels that are uncensored for a couple of minutes viewing and are right next to the childrens channel on the TV menu. So you could be in for a shock!

  • Stayed September 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Port Richey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2006

I loved this hotel. Very clean, centrally located. Within walking distance to Long Street (a must for partiers). Go to the top of Table Mountain the first day you have good weather. Beautiful at sunset. The bar is cozy with wonderful service. I was not impressed with the resturant however. I had to send my steak back three times before it was actually cooked. The feather comforters on the bed are fabulous. The views from the room are spectacular!

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cape Town Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Town Lodge

Address: 101 Buitengracht Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#43 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#51 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cape Town Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Cape Town Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Cape Town Lodge South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape Town Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.