We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in wonderful location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cape Town Hollow

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Cape Town Hollow to your Saves list
Cape Town Hollow
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   88 Queen Victoria Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel in wonderful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We enjoyed our 4 night stay very much! Rooms were comfortable, everything was very clean and breakfast was delicious with a great variety of choices. WiFi was also reliable and the staff was very helpful with some business needs that arose during our vacation. Great location, and easy walking distance to many things, including Long Street (without the noise of Long Street), Parliament, and Kloof Street for some great restaurants. Company Gardens across the street are also enjoyable to walk through. Despite easy walking distance, we typically took a cab back to the hotel at night, as the area around the hotel is very dark at night and as female travelers, we did not feel comfortable walking back in the dark. Not a problem at all, as cabs are plentiful and reasonable. We would stay again at Cape Town Hollow Boutique Hotel. Tip: Taxis didn't often know where the hotel is located based on the address, so tell them it's across the street from the Planetarium by the Company Gardens.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeTownHollow, Reservations Manager at Cape Town Hollow, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Wow! What lovely, kind words! Thank you so much for the positive comments, we are so happy that you had a good stay with us and enjoyed what our beautiful city has to offer. We sincerely hope you come back and visit us soon. Keep in touch!

Warm regards, Jess and the Hollow Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    12
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
12
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sharjah, UAE
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

very nice Boutique hotel in a good location near to everything and with a fantastic view of Table Mountain from the front. The rooms were big clean and well appointed. the beds very comfortable and the shower powerful. Staff were very friendly and helpful and the big red bus leaves from across the street! it was very windy when we were there and the wind was blowing into the face of the hotel, I found it odd that there was no double glazing but apparently that is fairly standard in South Africa! breakfast was fine, nothing too special.
The internet was a bit hard to connect to and the parking was paid in another hotel across the street. All in all a good priced hotel in a good location and we would definitely go back!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeTownHollow, Reservations Manager at Cape Town Hollow, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hello there!

A big thank you for submitting your review on Tripadvisor. It is always great to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us. We are holding thumbs that we see you again very soon!

Warm regards
Jess and the Hollow Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for 3 nights on our honeymoon and loved it! Located just off Long street and on the hop on & hop off bus route! Great location to see all sites of Cape Town! Hotel breakfast was incredible! There is easily accessible parking across street that was safe and secure.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeTownHollow, Reservations Manager at Cape Town Hollow, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hello Ally!

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so glad that you stay with us was a great one! Congratulations again on your marriage, may the years ahead be filled with love and joy. Here's an idea; come and visit us for your anniversary! We will be sure to do something special for you.

Warm regards
Jess and the Hollow Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My mother and I planned a 5-day trip to Cape Town and were keen to stay near the city centre but wanted a room with a mountain view and didn't want to share a double bed, which appeared to be the only option through the various online booking services. I contacted the hotel by phone and they assured me that I could book a twin room with mountain view, no problem. I was wary that they might just say this and then leave us with a double room or one without a view when we actually turned up but they were true to their word and even quipped in reply to my last-minute confirmation email that they "won't play Cupid this time"!

The friendliness continued when we arrived and the hotel staff were all as pleasant as the first contact had led me to believe. The rooms were clean and neat (although it was a pity the outsides of the windows were dirty, considering what a fabulous view we had) and everything just worked, apart from the wifi - but the 3G was usable so I didn't even bother to mention it to reception. Our only other minor gripe with the room was the shower had a small leak in the corner so the floor needed a towel-down afterwards. I'm sure they've fixed that by now (Room 308, for anyone wondering). The right hand lift was also a little quirky... we often had to press the button three times to get it to stop at our floor and then the floor indicator lights inside didn't work so we were never sure whether we'd reached the right floor to get out! But it wasn't really a problem - the lifts were never out of order - and just underlined that this was a boutique hotel rather than a clinical, anonymous chain hotel.

The buffet breakfasts were surprisingly good - I've never before encountered good scrambled eggs from a buffet - and the dinner menu was so good that we didn't mind at all when we were too tired to go out for the evening, although the menu was very short so you wouldn't want to stay in for a full week. (But then why would you anyway when you're in Cape Town? There are so many eateries to choose from.)

The location is perfect for exploring the city on foot and is close to the MyCiti bus routes so you can explore further afield quite easily too. The hotel surroundings are a little noisy at times, as you would expect in a big city, but quieter than being on Long Street or similar as there isn't much going on down Queen Victoria Street and you're overlooking Company's Gardens. But if you're a very light sleeper, you might be disturbed by people shouting late at night or the coach starting its engine across the road early in the morning. I wasn't woken at all but I noticed these things when I was already awake.

All in all, we would definitely go back there and have recommended it to people who have asked what we thought.

Room Tip: Third floor has great mountain views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeTownHollow, Reservations Manager at Cape Town Hollow, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hello there!

A huge thanks for your heartwarming review! We are so glad that we exceeded your expectations and that we have left such a good impression on you. While we would not have minded playing cupid, we are glad that you were able to book the room you needed to make your stay comfortable :) Thank you also for the constructive feedback, we are currently in the process of acting on them. Please come and visit us again soon?

Warm regards, Jess and the Hollow Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cramlington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife & I stayed at this wonderful hotel for the first night of our South African vacation & what a fantastic welcome they gave us.

All the staff were truly friendly, helpful & made us feel more like family than paying quests, really putting themselves out to answer our many questions & making everything easy for us, even though both of us have disabilities & have some problems getting around.

This was my wife's first visit to South Africa & the welcome we received along with the great, friendly treatment we experienced during our short stay proved to her all the tales I had told her about the people of South Africa ha been accurate & allowed her to relax.

If this review isn't good enough to make someone reading it to consider staying at the Cape Town Hollow I will add one more fact, that being that we have booked to stay there again, this time for longer.

Room Tip: Go for the "Mountain View" option to get a fantastic view of the famous Table Mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeTownHollow, Reservations Manager at Cape Town Hollow, responded to this review, 1 week ago
What a fantastic review!!! Thank you so much! We are so glad that we got to spend some time with you and assist you during your stay. It was truly such a pleasure and we hope that we can offer it again to you in the near future. Best of luck and keep well, Warm regards
Jess and the Hollow Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for 5 nights. The location is excellent, very close to the top end of Long Street which has some good bars, diners and also close to the excellent Societe Bistro. We walked to both areas in night and felt relatively safe.

The reception staff were great, helping us plan various things and were always friendly.

The room was spacious but the bed size is quite short for anyone over 6ft. The Wifi is annoying only because you have a limit and need to log off, if you don't your limit goes pretty quick.

The breakfast was pretty good but for a "boutique" hotel I think there should be a choice of coffee (we were only offered filter) and also it would be better to have fresh eggs cooked to your liking (there was only scrambled in the buffet).


All in all, a good value option at a great location.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeTownHollow, Reservations Manager at Cape Town Hollow, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hello there!

We are so grateful that you took the time to review our property. By the sounds of it, you had a great time and we couldn't be happier! In case you visit next time, you are able to order eggs to your liking (we make them fresh for those who do not prefer scrambled eggs). There are specialty coffees available to order as well - it sounds as though the waiter did not mention this to you though, so please accept our apologies!

Thanks again, and hopefully see you again soon!
Warm regards, Jess and the Hollow Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

We booked the mountain view room and got a room on the 2nd floor. You could hardly see the mountain. Also the windows need to be replaced, as there is a bus parking right in front of the hotel and this sucks in the mornings when you want to sleep and a group of 50 people checks out at 5:30AM. The only good thing was the shower, but then the bathroom had no window and ventilation system. Beds where also way to small for two people and the WiFi quality sucked! We could not even check in to our flights. Not again.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeTownHollow, Reservations Manager at Cape Town Hollow, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Alsina1922

We are so terribly sad to hear that we did not live up to your expectations. Thank you for voicing your thoughts and criticism, we have taken them seriously and will look at way to improve.

Keep well and best of luck, Jess and the Hollow Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cape Town Hollow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Town Hollow

Address: 88 Queen Victoria Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#51 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cape Town Hollow 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Hotel offers stylish, serene accommodation with spectacular views over the Dutch East India Company Gardens, Table Mountain and Lion's Head. Enjoy relaxed dining at our on-site Restaurant, Eighty-Ate, with a street cafe flair. Relax next to the swimming pool or chat to loved ones via our internet in our informal lounge. The ideal position of Cape Town Hollow entices guests to explore a myriad of attractions in the city and surrounds - from the vibrant nightlife and trendy downtown restaurants and bars; to the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, the breathtaking Peninsula and legendary Cape winelands. Our accomplished in-house concierge is poised to assist with advice, directions and excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Cape Town Hollow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Town Hollow Hotel Cape Town Central
Hollow Hotel Cape Town
Cape Town Hollow South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape Town Hollow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.