We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay at the Peninsula Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Peninsula All-Suite Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Peninsula All-Suite Hotel to your Saves list
The Peninsula All-Suite Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   313 Beach Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8060, South Africa (Formerly Three Cities The Peninsula All-Suite Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Austin, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Stay at the Peninsula Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We love the Peninsula Hotel! This is an outstanding property that goes far beyond what you would expect from a suites hotel. The rooms are large, furnished nicely with all that you could need and then some. They are well maintained, leaving you wanting for nothing. Location is great, across from the beach, at the base of the mountain, in the center of town. Wifi was free in the lobby as was transportation to different well visited sites. There was a small charge for wifi if you wanted it in your room. Go for the 5 day wifi plan, well worth it.

Grocery store and laundry just around the corner. Laundry mat will deliver your items back to the hotel when through. They are very very reasonable and do a great job.

The staff at the Peninsula is outstanding! This is the best staff I have ever encountered and I work for a 5 star hotel in the US. Available 24 hours a day, they are always helpful and then some. While staying there, my daughter had an emergency come up at home and needed to fax an item...no problem, no charge, what else may we do for you, was their reply. On another occasion, I was having trouble getting a phone call to my husband in Johannesburg. The front desk staff took it upon themselves to ensure that he was located, then put the call through to our room. Always smiling, greeting us by name, it was wonderful to come home to them at the end of our adventurous day. They proudly shared information on their city, guiding us to some wonderful local restaurants, signed us up for great tours at the last moment, and made sure that every aspect of our stay exceeded all expectations.

Bottom line...The Peninsula All Suite Hotel is more than a hotel, it is a place to be treated as family and close friends. One of the most outstanding hotel stays I have ever had! Thank you to all for making this such a memorable stay. We look very much forward to our return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    93
    25
    8
    5
See reviews for
74
77
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

was not too impressed with the decor in the lobby and dining areas. i felt that the dining area specifically is a bit out dated and possibly gloomy - could do with a revamp/new decor.

the service however - was impressive

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, South Africa
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Tucked away in a quite area of Cape Town's Sea Point, this hotel offers self catering accomodation of very high standard. The best part is the jacuzzi that is a stadard in all the rooms. All rooms have an ocean view with Robben Island on the horizon. Safe off street parking with a bus stop infront of the hotel that shuttels to the V&A Waterfront every 30 minutes. The hotel also offers their own shuttle service to the Waterfront if you do not want to wait for the bus - at no cost.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Once again, the RCI Award for the best Hotel 2012 is none other than the Cape Peninsula. Not surprising, as a guest I verify and corroborate this finding. This place epitomizes ultimate relaxation and an escape from the ratrace. During mid Winter I spent an entire week swimming cajoled by a heated pool, private jacuzzi and spa bath as well as a sauna to warm the cockles of the heart. I was fortunate to have a penthouse suite that has a split level catering for braais and frolicking in a jacuzzi whilst savouring the final moments of the day as the sun slips away before you hastening the night sky abound with stars and the incoming tide with deafening roars as the waves break on the rocks. Accessibility to the City is no hurdle as a shuttle is at your beck and call. A fully fitted kitchen beckons your culinary skills, failing which a stroll along the coastline will lure you to seafood delights.

Room Tip: The penthouse suites are the ultimate luxury and opulence.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

Perfect location.  Clean and well kept.  Kitchens in suites are well equiped.  Views are unbeatable.  Large patio with four-seat round table. Air condition and  heat in each room.

Problems: 

 in a 2 bedroom suite, the 2nd room isnt a fully enclosed room.  It has a large open window interleeding to the kitchen that closes with slatted shutters which allows both light and sound through.  It also has an 18 inch gap above the one wall which connects with the hallway, also allowing sound and light through.  The sliding door doesnt fully close either.  I dont know why this is that way...

I had two occasions where I placed an order from the wait staff and my order was simply ignored.  The first was a breakfast and the send was a drink order at the lounge.  

I highly recommend paying for the fee-based internet.  The free access in the loby is slower than molases. The Fee Paid is the same service we found at the Johanesberg International Airport as well as the Genesis Hotel in Johansberg - so we got our monies worth by continuing to use the same login throughout our trip. 

Bottom line, perfect location and great family-friendly place.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

This was my second stay at the Peninsula Hotel. Both times the suites were a great size all of them having kitchenettes.

The hotel offers a free shuttle into Cape Town with several drop off points; central Cape Town, the V & A Waterfront and free shuttle to table mountain.

The hotel is situated on Beach Road so you have a great view of the ocean. There is a great walk up Beach road so take advantage of the great scenery.

Cape Town is quite safe in comparison to Johannesburg so get out and enjoy. The Peninsula is a great place to stay where you are close to activities and also get to enjoy some nature outside your door.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights in the beginning and 1 night at the end of the trip. The staff were nice and helpful. Breakfast had plenty to choose from. Wireless internet at the lobby was free, but only a limited number of guests could connect at a given time. The hotel has a complimentary shuttle service that goes to various places, but we weren't very lucky we didn't get to take it at all - either it was full or it wasn't going to the place we wanted at the time. We stayed on the 2nd floor the first time and the 8th floor the second time. The room on the 8th floor was much bigger, could fit a family of four, with 2 bathrooms and there was a staircase to go upstairs from the patio. I think my husband said he saw a jacuzzi up there. Both of the rooms we stayed in face the ocean. The hotel is just minutes away from Table Mountain. Overall the stay was fine. The only thing I wanted to point out is, the bathroom and floor tiles need some up keeping.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Peninsula All-Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula All-Suite Hotel

Address: 313 Beach Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8060, South Africa (Formerly Three Cities The Peninsula All-Suite Hotel)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#46 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#46 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#48 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Peninsula All-Suite Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Peninsula All-Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula All Hotel Cape Town Central
Peninsula Cape Town
Peninsula All Suite Hotel
Cape Town Peninsula
Peninsula Hotel Cape Town
The Peninsula All-Suite Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Peninsula All-Suite Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.