We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent views and executive lounge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Cape Town

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Cape Town to your Saves list
The Westin Cape Town
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lower Long Street | Convention Square, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa (Formerly Arabella Sheraton Grand Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Enjoy breakfast & more
Ranked #34 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Magnificent views and executive lounge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I spent 5 marvelous days at this hotel in November and it was a wonderful experience. The rooms offer incredible views of the city and it is a true 5 star hotel with turn down service in the evening. But the most amazing part was the delicious breakfast served free-- with executive lounge privileges-- that is worth every penny of the extra cost. There is also free hours d'oeuvres and wine in the evening in the lounge. The location is excellent within walking distance to Artscape, which is where I was headed during my stay, along with the obligatory sightseeing.

Room Tip: They are all good but pay extra and get on the executive level with executive lounge privileges.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    752
    422
    100
    33
    24
See reviews for
141
462
98
440
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I spent 7 nights at this hotel and had a wonderful experience. The cleanliness of the rooms and hotel in general should be noted as well as the service and the employees’ good attitude they are very polite, always smiling and asking what can they do for you.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire,UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed at The Westin for a week in November while attending a conference. The hotel is great. The room was spacious, with lots of light, nice coffee making facilities and mini bar. The bathroom area is fantastic, with a separate shower and separate toilet and a big bath. The wifi worked very well. The breakfast buffet is one of the best I have encountered, I especially liked the variety of fresh juices, very unusual combinations, but very tasty. I can highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I spent five days at this hotel and had a very disappointing experience overall. The staff in the restaurants and the Executive Lounge were friendly and helpful. The spa was also excellent.

But what was happening at the front desk, concierge and travel desk? I have no idea but it was not good. The front desk staff was surly and never smiled. I phoned down to the concierge asked them to make us a dinner reservation. No less than three different staff over the next 15 minutes phoned back to ask me again about the basic info of restaurant name, time, number in the party. And add that to the fact that I had phoned the hotel several weeks before I checked in and talked to the concierge and asked her to recommend a tour company for when we were there. She promised to email the info shortly. Never heard from her again.

And then the travel desk. I asked for directions out of the city to the Garden Route. One of the staff (wish I had gotten her name.) told me I did not need directions, just follow the signs. I told her I would feel more comfortable with printed directions, she told me to use my GPS. I insisted on printed directions. One of her colleagues grudgingly printed out the travel directions. When I got into the car, I discovered they had printed directions out of the city to the Cape of Good Hope, not the Garden Route. In my 30 years of business travel and hotels stays, I have never experienced such a unfriendly and even hostile travel desk. What is going on with this hotel? Something is rotten and needs to be fixed!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I stayed here for a single night.

I found the parking situation very confusing. I was told to park at the convention centre until I clarified that I was actually attempting to check into the hotel. The staff at reception were good. The room was as expected and clean....not as fancy or modern as at other 4 or 5 star hotels I have been to but perfectly acceptable. Our bathroom was not fully stocked with the 'complimentary toiletries' but I didn't make a fuss. The TV is complicated and slow to operate.

The shuttle service to the waterfront is very useful.

Breakfast was very nice but the hot food was more lukewarm than hot. The service was great though and everything delicious.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North potomac, MD
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My wife and I stayed at the Westin for 3 nights in December and we could not have asked for a better stay. Our room was spacious and comfortable, and as is the case with other Westins, the bed made for a perfect night's sleep. Our room had a great view of the city and table mountain, and the concierge recommended a great restaurant. We took advantage of the hotel's free shuttle to the waterfront mall area for dinner 2 times, which i highly recommend. The front desk staff was also very friendly and helpful. Even with the convention center across the street, the hotel never seemed overly busy or crowded. If I had one thing to complain about, if would be the service in the restaurant for dinner the one night we did not go to the waterfront. The service was not bad, but it was not what I would call prompt, either. Having said that, I think a part of this is the difference in restaurant service standards between the US and South Africa. I noticed after 2 weeks in SA, that restaurant service in general is not nearly as prompt as we have come to expect in the US. So it might just be that I am mentioning this for nothing, Still had a great stay and will definitely stay there again if I am ever back in Cape Town.

Room Tip: most rooms either have a view of table mountain or the waterfront, so cant really go wrong. But I wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Matt F

Thank you for the amazing review of The Westin Cape Town. Our innovative programmes and instinctive service transform every aspect of your stay into a revitalizing experience and we are dedicated to provide an experience that leaves you feeling better than when you arrived.

Your positive comments inspire us to create an even better experience for our guests, as each of our signature offerings has been designed with a better you in mind. We hope to welcome you back to our wonderful city soon!

Be well, be Westin

Rob Kucera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jakarta
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Alround very very good. Staff were so helpfull. The rooms are very nice and with a good view. The location is good and you can walk around pretty easily from there.

If i had to pick one issue it would be the bar area. Not very enticing......

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear jpjakarta

Thank you for the amazing review of The Westin Cape Town. Our innovative programmes and instinctive service transform every aspect of your stay into a revitalizing experience and we are dedicated to provide an experience that leaves you feeling better than when you arrived.

Your positive comments inspire us to create an even better experience for our guests, as each of our signature offerings has been designed with a better you in mind. We hope to welcome you back to our wonderful city soon!

Be well, be Westin

Rob Kucera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Cape Town

Address: Lower Long Street | Convention Square, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa (Formerly Arabella Sheraton Grand Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#14 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#23 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#33 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in one of the most popular destinations in the world, at the gateway to the historic V&A Waterfront, The Westin Grand Cape Town Arabella Quays is only minutes away from excellent shopping, vibrant city night life, historical monuments and museums, iconic Table Mountain, and the pristine beaches of Clifton and Camps Bay. The hotel offers unlimited complimentary shuttle transfers to the V&A Waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Starwood EMEA, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your The Westin Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Westin Cape Town
Cape Town Westin
The Westin Cape Town South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Cape Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.