We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Cape Town

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Cape Town to your Saves list
The Westin Cape Town
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lower Long Street | Convention Square, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa (Formerly Arabella Sheraton Grand Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Enjoy breakfast & more
Ranked #33 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Outstanding hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Spent three nights here and could not fault the hotel. Outstanding.

Small tip to hotel: please do screen the taxi drivers in the lobby; while most were fine one or two obviously overcharged us which is not the end of the world but I would expect the hotel to try to inflect their policy on taxis waiting outside.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear mistergreen58

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel. We are happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Westin. We do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get. We hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Cape Town

Be well, be Westin

Rob Kucera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    753
    423
    100
    33
    24
See reviews for
141
463
98
441
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

I usually don't like to write this kind of comment but I am outrageous about my experience in this particular hotel - so I have to write about it, especially since I always liked Westin hotels in the past, and I am also a member.

I am on a business trip and is staying on the Westin Cape Town Executive floor for five days. The room is really just mediocre. The first day I have already found 2 sets of different hair in my bath tub. I tried to ignore it, was too tired and thinking it is a isolated incident. So I slept and worked the next day, coming just to find out that a lot of equipment are faulty - the safe, and lamp and the shower all got problem. So I called the service people tried to change my room, and the person who came was really rude and claimed the safe is fine (But there were two other staff who tested the safe and found it wasn't working as well), and wasn't even bother to inspect the other equipment before acting smart.

So I changed my room at the end but guess what - the shower there is also leaking and what's more, I found pubic hair(that obviously isn't mine) in the bath tub in the next day!

I am absolutely outrage about my experience here, given that Cape Town is such a beautiful city, although not so safe, I would still say my worst experience here would be this hotel!

I only have one night left so not a good idea to change hotel now, but I would not advise anyone to stay here, it just doesn't worth the price!

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Keee

Thank you for your comments as per you meeting with senior management , we have provided the necassary compensation as per your request.

Be well, be Westin

Rob Kucera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

This hotel is very convenient for a visit to Cape Town. It is situated on main bus routes including two lines of the "Hop on Hop off" buses. There is also a free shuttle to the excellent V & A waterfront.

The hotel is modern and the breakfasts are excellent. The room was excellent. There is a spectacular indoor pool on the top floor with dramatic views

I would certainly return.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear DPALTON

Thank you for the postive review of our hotel. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Westin and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Cape Town

Be well, be Westin

Rob Kucera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

I have been treating a friend to a day at Arabella spa every December as i live abroad. We have always enjoyed our experience. This December (2013) was a terrible disappointment.

I left a message for the spa manager to call me as I was bringing a friend and wanted to organise some treats for her. She never called me back. When we arrived- the receptionist was rude and had clearly returned from a smoke break as she smelled of smoke ( I cannot remember her name - it was unusual and started with an L) I asked again to please speak to the spa manager but was told she wasn't there. No further explanation of when she would return. We were seated in the lounge chatting when a therapist walked up and interrupted us rudely by saying "Which one of you is mine?" A bit taken aback, we introduced ourselves and she then said, "Well we need to start now." I replied that we in fact had another ten minutes to go before our treatments started and would like to continue chatting. She walked off muttering something. I had booked the massage that specifically focuses on the head, neck and shoulders and feet. It was the worst massage I've ever had and my friend's was not much better. My therapist kept leaning right over me so that her entire upper body was touching me and she kept knocking the table. The worst part was the actual massage: zero pressure, and it felt as if she was just playing with my hair. Complete waste of money. My friend who was in a separate room went in after me but I came out first - the massage definitely wasn't the full time. I asked again to speak to the spa manager on my way out but she, "Wasn't there." I left my name and number but needless to say she never called back. I cannot believe the change in a year. The spa has gone downhill and the atmosphere is completely different. Please do not waste your time or money.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Tamsyn_Smith7

As a management team, we take all comments seriously and share them with our staff, so we may resolve any and all issues. Again, thank you for the comments, which will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our services. We do sincerely hope you will permit us an early opportunity to regain your confidence in our services.

Be well, be Westin

Rob Kucera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We had a large business function at the Westin tonight, and everything was perfect.

From the parking to check-in, it could not have gone better. Quite unbelievable to be greeted by the front desk manager Joseph Mdashe on my name (I stayed here a few months ago) in Afrikaans! Great guy, a true asset.

The gym and spa are still world-class, and the food at our function was fantastic!

The location is perfect for first-time visitors to Cape Town.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the V&A Waterfront and World Cup stadium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Gerhard13071964

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Westin and we hope to see you again very soon for you next stay in Cape Town

Be well, be Westin

Rob Kucera

SuperFoodsRx® menu
SuperFoods dishes powerfully pair whole foods to boost their flavors and their benefits. SuperFoods include fruits, vegetables, grains and proteins that are known to improve well-being and longevity. Antioxidant-rich and naturally low in calories, these tempting selections make healthful meals impossible to resist. Westin is the first hotel to embrace the SuperFoods concept and introduce these delectable, good-for-you choices to breakfast and in-room dining menus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Came for 1 night in this hotel, it was bulk reservation from my company to attend conference with our distributors, so around 80 people...
First I got smoking room and when I asked to change they said there are no rooms available (non-smoking) and they gave me room for handicaped people with bathroom arranged for disabled people...
Even in the room lot of things are missing for a 5* hotel: only 1 bottle of water, no slippers, lack of plugs in the room
The variety of food for breakfast and lunch was poor.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Amine T

As a management team, we take all comments seriously and share them with our staff, so we may resolve any and all issues. Again, thank you for the comments, which will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our service.

Be well, be Westin

Rob Kucera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmopan, Belize
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

I stayed there for about a week in November of 2013. The views are beautiful, great executive lounge with wonderful and delicious foods and drinks. Service was beyond excellent, friendly and did their best to accomodate everything they could. The spa is great, had facials and a massage, both well worth the prices. Room service meals are excellent with great variety, and the tour booked from the hotel was very well thought out, informative and fun.

If I ever go back to Cape Town I hope to stay there once again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear menoa_minnoan

Thank you for the positive review of our hotel. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Westin and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Cape Town

Be well, be Westin

Rob Kucera

In-Room Spa Services
Restore energy and relieve stress with a menu of custom treatments developed especially for Westin In-Room Spa services. Guests can indulge in the experience of a soothing spa getaway in the privacy of their own room. Many resort locations also offer peaceful healing in beautifully designed on-site spas where innovative therapies help guests get back to their best selves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Cape Town

Address: Lower Long Street | Convention Square, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa (Formerly Arabella Sheraton Grand Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#14 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#23 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#32 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in one of the most popular destinations in the world, at the gateway to the historic V&A Waterfront, The Westin Grand Cape Town Arabella Quays is only minutes away from excellent shopping, vibrant city night life, historical monuments and museums, iconic Table Mountain, and the pristine beaches of Clifton and Camps Bay. The hotel offers unlimited complimentary shuttle transfers to the V&A Waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Starwood EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your The Westin Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Westin Cape Town
Cape Town Westin
The Westin Cape Town South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Cape Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.