We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Practically Perfect in Every way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Cape Town

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Cape Town to your Saves list
The Westin Cape Town
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lower Long Street | Convention Square, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa (Formerly Arabella Sheraton Grand Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Enjoy breakfast & more
Ranked #29 of 104 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Belmopan, Belize
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Practically Perfect in Every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

I stayed there for about a week in November of 2013. The views are beautiful, great executive lounge with wonderful and delicious foods and drinks. Service was beyond excellent, friendly and did their best to accomodate everything they could. The spa is great, had facials and a massage, both well worth the prices. Room service meals are excellent with great variety, and the tour booked from the hotel was very well thought out, informative and fun.

If I ever go back to Cape Town I hope to stay there once again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear menoa_minnoan

Thank you for the positive review of our hotel. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Westin and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Cape Town

Be well, be Westin

Rob Kucera

In-Room Spa Services
Restore energy and relieve stress with a menu of custom treatments developed especially for Westin In-Room Spa services. Guests can indulge in the experience of a soothing spa getaway in the privacy of their own room. Many resort locations also offer peaceful healing in beautifully designed on-site spas where innovative therapies help guests get back to their best selves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    828
    463
    103
    36
    25
See reviews for
155
502
105
483
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

I had an amazing time at Westin Cape Town..

This hotel is perfectly situated and you will have an amazing view from your room, make sure not to miss the swimming pool and spa facilities.

Great service from all staff at Westin but not very impressed with service at lobby restaurant (host team) as they were not friendly and never made you feel welcome.

In general highly recommended and one of the best,

Thanks
Roy

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Espress080

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We are please to hear that you have enjoyed your room /views and breakfast. We do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get. I do apologize for the Hosting staff in our restaurant as this is not our normal standard. We hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Cape Town

Be well, be Westin

Rob Kucera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

I'm a frequent business traveler and was staying at the Westin while attending a conference at the nearby convention center.

I arrived late at night after a 24 hour flight. The staff met me at my cab and check-in was a breeze. I had reserved an executive room, non-smoking, and was quickly escorted upstairs.

The room was unusually pleasant for a "convention" hotel. The size was generous with a floor to ceiling view of the waterfront (the other side of the hotel looks towards Lion's Head and Table Mountain -- you can't go wrong with either view). There was plentiful storage and I was able to quickly unpack. The hotel had placed a welcome snack in the room.

Sleeping was not difficult. The beds are comfortable, the rooms quiet and temperature control was easy with the snappy air conditioner. The decor is modern, but highly functional and not too "funky."

The bathroom was well appointed with heated tile floors and the shower was more than adequate.

Breakfast for the executive suites is on an upper floor overlooking Lion's Head and Table Mountain. The food was an exceptional selection of continental fare. There were a myriad of fruits, vegetables, cheeses and meats. Additionally, the staff would whip up smoothies and coffees on request. The room is a bit small, however, and if we arrived after 8am, we had to wait.

The location is very convenient and within walking distance to the V&A Waterfront. Taxis are plentiful and the hotel was happy to help us arrange transportation when required.

Overall, the hotel is comfortable, convenient with a heaping serving of luxury and service. It is a bit on the expensive side (I paid about $270 per night), but this includes breakfast. However, the next time I attend a convention, I'll stay at the Westin.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor -- go ahead and splurge on the Executive rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear kkingmd

Thank you for your positve review of our hotel. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Westin and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Cape Town.

Be well, be Westin

Rob Kucera

Unwind – A Westin Evening Ritual SM

Continuing to find ways to make a stay more enjoyable, Westin encourages travelers to share an inviting transition from day to night with friends, family and fellow guests. As nightfall approaches, the lobby transforms into a relaxing social space with food, drink and entertainment infused with the style and culture of the location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We stayed here again for 4 nights September 2013. The room was wonderful again and service exceptional. We cannot fault the Executive lounge breakfast and the amazing views. We have to come through Cape Town at least twice a year and have stayed here four times, each time swearing we will not be staying anywhere else in Cape Town as value for money cannot be beaten. However, on looking to book our hotel for September for 5 nights, I was shocked to see that prices have doubled. Rooms and hotel have not been renovated so at a bit of a loss at the extreme hike in prices. Especially considering the weakness of the rand against the pound, surely prices should have decreased. The new price does not reflect value for money and unfortunately, I think we will be looking to stay somewhere else this year. For less money we can stay right on the V and A waterfront.
Would be delighted to know the reason for these increases and have a reason to stay at this wonderful hotel again but unfortunately they might have lost our custom...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear helenwallis79

Thank you for your comments , with regards to the rates, Cape Town is enjoying some fantastic demand in 2014, but due to you being repeat guests, please feel free to contact shameela.abdullah@westin.com, Reservations Manager directly and see what we can do for you in September 2014.

Be well, be Westin

Rob Kucera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Zenone degli Ezzelini, Italy
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

As worldwide frequent traveller I pay very much attention on my accomodation and to the hotel quality.
This is a perfect modern hotel for me.
Very clean with superb modern style decoration.
I love the new smart modern style hotel. and this is the right example.
I enjoyed a great breakfast view on the 19th floor Lounge on top of the City.
Free Wi-Fi, Great soft bed, as usual at Westin, large bathroom with wide shower room..
The location is perfect for business in Cape Town,

I suggest to everybody for business.

Room Tip: Enjoy the Lounge at 19th floor !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear gmz63

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Westin Cape Town. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you very soon for your next stay in Cape Town

Be well, be Westin

Rob Kucera

Breathe Westin®
Guests can take a refreshing, deep breath and enjoy a clean-air environment. Becoming the first major hotel brand to go smoke-free in North America — with an expansion to more than 115 hotels — illustrates the Westin commitment of ensuring a healthful stay for all our guests. An overwhelming preference for fresh, smokeless air has extended the program’s reach to the Cayman Islands, Mexico, St. Maarten, Ireland, Spain, Australia, Fiji and New Zealand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skien
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We stayed in this hotel because it was an option after travelling with the fantastic Blue Train from Pretoria. The driver picked us up from the train station upon arrival, and he was attentive and polite. Checking in was a lengthy affair, but we finally got to our room 1230. The room was nice, but we wanted to go for a swim and some sun. The hotel offers a nice spa with indoor pool, but no sundeck. If you plan to get a tan, you should opt for another hotel, as we are going to after one night at the Westin.
We had some room service, which was nice food and good value. The tray, however, was on the floor outside our room for hours, even though we called three times to have it removed. It was only picked up after talking to the Duty Manager.
The hotel offers a free shuttle to the V&A Waterfront. We wanted to return with the shuttle at 21:45, and was at the pick up point at 21:40. No bus. We called the hotel at 21:55 asking about it, and the bus was in front of the hotel. It left early as it was full. Many thanks for letting us know, it is only SAR 50 by taxi.
The TV system in our room wasn´t working either and talking to the manager isn´t very pleasant. Complaints are just not welcome in this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the executive floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear DonPedroSkien

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. As a management team, we take all comments seriously and share them with our staff, so we may resolve any and all issues. Again, thank you for the comments, which will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our service.

Be well, be Westin

Rob Kucera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Stayed here for a week on a business trip in an Executive Suite. Overall it was a good stay and I would recommend it.

Overall atmosphere: Clean, modern, simple, and elegant describes this hotel. There really isn't a wow factor but I had no issues with anything in the hotel. Everything was comfortable, worked, and fairly efficient.

Rooms: Comfortable room, good bed, nice views. Had all the amenities that one would expect from a 5 star hotel.

Spa/Gym: The gym area, spa, and pool are located on the top floor of the hotel. It has amazing views of the city and waterfront. The pool is an indoor pool, which is nice to have a swim in the Cape Town winter, but a shame there is not an outdoor pool area to relax at during the summer months.

Lounge: Used the executive club lounge every day. Staff were friendly. Breakfast offering was great and nothing to fault here. Also had the canapes and drinks during the happy hour from 5-7 daily which was nice. Would be nice if the lounge was slightly larger as it doubles as a restaurant as well, so there is not that much actual "lounge" space.

Location: This hotel is located at the convention center. Unfortunately, it is neither at the waterfront nor in the center of town. I would rate the location as average for tourists, only because you would need to walk at least 15-20 minutes to get anywhere (in the city or to the waterfront) or have a rental car. If you are here on business, it is a great location.

Overall I would recommend this hotel. Seems to cater more to business travelers instead of tourists, but if you are a SPG member, as I am, it makes sense to stay here. Definitely one of the better hotels in Cape Town, not the best though. I still think the best are the One&Only and the Cape Grace. (Have stayed at both).

Room Tip: Ask for a room as high up as possible for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear nep1984

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Westin and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Cape Town.

Be well, be Westin

Rob Kucera

SuperFoodsRx® menu
SuperFoods dishes powerfully pair whole foods to boost their flavors and their benefits. SuperFoods include fruits, vegetables, grains and proteins that are known to improve well-being and longevity. Antioxidant-rich and naturally low in calories, these tempting selections make healthful meals impossible to resist. Westin is the first hotel to embrace the SuperFoods concept and introduce these delectable, good-for-you choices to breakfast and in-room dining menus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Cape Town

Address: Lower Long Street | Convention Square, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa (Formerly Arabella Sheraton Grand Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#21 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#24 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#28 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in one of the most popular destinations in the world, at the gateway to the historic V&A Waterfront, The Westin Grand Cape Town Arabella Quays is only minutes away from excellent shopping, vibrant city night life, historical monuments and museums, iconic Table Mountain, and the pristine beaches of Clifton and Camps Bay. The hotel offers unlimited complimentary shuttle transfers to the V&A Waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Agoda, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your The Westin Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Westin Cape Town
Cape Town Westin
The Westin Cape Town South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Cape Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.