We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Cape Town

Save Saved
You added The Westin Cape Town to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Westin Cape Town
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lower Long Street | Convention Square, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa (Formerly Arabella Sheraton Grand Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 120 hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Was only for 2 days there unfortunately (weekend), but enjoyed every moment
Staff was very friendly and also helpful, breakfast very variated (champagne too :) ), rooms spacious and bed very comfortable
Shuttle to Waterfront, free wifi are also a plus
Gym and spa looked nice, but did not have time to enjoy them
Would definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Kelu12

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Westin Cape Town. It was nice to hear that our staff exceeded your expectation. They work very hard to make every guest feel special.

We hope to welcome you again when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

• Fuel your body with delicious SuperFoodsRx™ dishes packed with nutrients and energy. Antioxidant rich and naturally low in calories, our tempting selections – from whole-wheat blueberry pancakes to all-natural roasted turkey wraps and black bean hummus – make healthy meals impossible to resist.Created together with doctors and nutritionists, our SuperFoodsRx™ menu cultivates “food synergy,” the pairing of certain foods to increase their nutritional value, to give you the focused energy you need to meet the challenges of your day.

be well
Rob Kucera
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,133 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    656
    344
    85
    29
    19
See reviews for
122
401
89
345
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We spent 5 nights at the Westin, Very friendly efficient staff, large room and up to date facilities as one would expect.
Lovely Spa and hair salon. Bus shuttle available to the Waterfront (free) as well as canal boat ride every thirty minutes (R30) which is a nice alternative. Our room was large and faced the harbour and side of Table Mountain Very good breakfast with much variety for every taste.
What we didn't enjoy was the dinner at the Hotel dining room, (Thirty 7). The menu offers a good choice but the food is not appetizing.
I tried the 19th floor fine dining venue (Executive Club) and even though the dinner was good and well prepared, it was very expensive for what it was. Also the waitress was hovering and far too concerned if every mouthful was to my satisfaction!! The views though is breathtaking!

Room Tip: I would specifically ask for a harbour view room, the other side has glare from a lower roof, but it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear DaresSalaamMariuccia

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments.

We are happy to hear you enjoyed yours tay with us at the Westin Cape Town, i have also reviewed your feedback with regards to service received in both our restaurats and have passed your comments on to the Manager in charge of Food & Beverage.

As tastes vary we have to gauge which types of meals are popular on any given occasion. We do pride ourselves on being able to accommodate our guests requirements. I am very sorry we did not meet your expectations on this occasion.

• Because good sleep is critical for both mental and physical health, Westin has designed every detail of the Heavenly Bed to promote superior slumber. Sleep well, and meet the challenges of the day head-on.

we hope to welcome you again when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

be well
Rob Kucera
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menasha, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Truth be told you will not find anything better than here. The staff is well trained and there for you every minute of the day. They operate in the highest class.

upin check in I was upgraded to the executive floor. The room and everywhere in the hotel is spotless. The lounge on 19th floor is amazing with an elite staff that truly cares.

The gym is actually pretty decent size for hotel and all equipment is new. Also well maintained which for someone like myself annoying when things do not work. The jacuzzi and hot spa are very nice. All free to use. The gym gets greatwifi.

Actually whole hotel the wifi is excellent. Food on 19th floor is impeccable. Such great details go into the meals and it shows.

the cleaning crew actually cleans. front door people always smiling welcoming you back. The front desk people are unbelievable and so pleasant. I have not even left yet and I am already writing this review. I have been here almost two weeks now and such a great place. I even talked to Mr. Scott the manager last night to tell him about my experience. He was very humble and was honored to hear about his staff.

location is great. It is in between va waterfront and long street bars. Depending on you it is pretty split.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear BlutoDave

Thank you for the positive review of our hotel.

We are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Westin Cape Town and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Cape Town.

• To help you pack light and stay fit, we now offer New Balance® shoes and clothing for you to use during your stay for only R50. Simply dial Service Express® and request your shoe and clothing size and they will be conveniently delivered to your guest room. Shoes come with socks that are brand new and yours to keep, and the clothing is provided fresh and clean. Upon departure, simply leave the items in your room in their mesh bag.

be well
Rob Kucera
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

The location is good, right next to the convention centre, on the edge of the CBD. Not quite as scenic as hotels in the V&A waterfront nearby, but still a pleasant setting. Crisp, modern and high tech throughout. comfortable rooms (although lighting not always straightforward). A shame that the service does not match up to the other aspects - not that I had any particularly bad experiences, just that on this occasion (as for every time I have been to this hotel before) it did not feel as if a 5 star effort was being made - many Cape Town hotels, big and small, do better.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear JonB_SA

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We are pleased to hear that your stay at the Westin Cape Town was pleasant.

However, I did take note of your comments made as to training our staff in service efficiency. We do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get. I do apologize for any inconvenience caused and should you wish to elaborate on the service deficiencies you experienced, ask you to please contact my PA Angelika Hammel (angelika.hammel@westin.com).

We train all our staff to be helpful and courteous and I regret that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion.

WESTIN HEAVENLY BED
Because good sleep is critical for both mental and physical health, Westin has designed every detail of the Heavenly Bed to promote superior slumber. Sleep well, and meet the challenges of the day head-on.

be well
Rob Kucera
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed here in May for 4 nights and enjoyed the whole experience. The executive club service and food were excellent. Each morning the breakfast was fresh, varied and enjoyed in a private style seating. In the evening we tasted various creative snacks with drinks at the executive club. Our room was an executive suite with great views of the mountain and the wharf, it was large and comfortable. The hotel provides a shuttle to the Victoria wharf and this came in handy. We would definately recommend this hotel and stay here again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear estherMaputo

Thank you so much for taking the time and providing us with your feedback with regards to your recent stay at the Westin Cape Town.

We were delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and do hope to welcome you again when next you travel to Cape Town.

Wi-Fi
Stay connected with complimentary internet access throughout the hotel. Conveniently print and fax documents in our Business Center

be well
Rob Kucera
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at the Capetown Westin after a long flight from east coast Australia. We had booked and paid for 5 nights in advance but arrived well before the check in time. The reception staff informed us that as it was so early our room was not yet ready but for an additional cost we could take an upgraded room on the 17th floor. We decided to wait for our room to become available. We must have looked pretty shattered because the staff member then said "you must be tired after your long journey" and enquired if we had been to Capetown before. We were very tired and had not visited Capetown before. On hearing this he fiddled on his computer and said "you know what, seeing this is your first visit to Capetown I think you should really enjoy it " he then offered us a 15th floor upgraded room that included Starwood Preferred Guest Status which included extra services as well as breakfast each morning at the top floor restaurant which was nothing less than magnificent. The sensational views of Table Mountain the city and the waterfront area were outstanding. Not your usual standard buffet breakfast in this Executive Lounge restaurant. The food was ordered from the menu and served by the very accommodating manager Philip and his outstanding staff, always with genuine friendliness and a smile. Our room was large and very comfortable with floor to ceiling glass windows to take in the views. The free shuttle to the waterfront was appreciated and frequent. The hotel has all the trimmings, indoor pool with views, gym, spas, restaurants, bars etc that you expect from a hotel of this level. The location was good within walking distance to most places and next to the Convention Centre. We had a great stay at the Westin and would certainly recommend it while in Capetown.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear MicknRobyn

We were delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us at the Westin Cape Town. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback on good customer service.

We hope you had a great time in South Africa and look forward to welcomeing you again when you travel to South Africa.

Starwood Preferred Guest
Westin is proud to be part of the Starwood Preferred Guest (SPG) program, the premier award-winning hotel loyalty program. Members of the SPG program earn valuable Starpoints® across all Westin hotels and resorts as well as Starwood’s eight other distinctive hotel brands. Members can redeem Starpoints for Free Night Awards with no blackout dates or capacity controls at over 1000 hotels and resorts worldwide. Starpoints can also be redeemed toward Award Flights on over 350 airlines, merchandise, and more. Becoming a member is free at spg.com/join

be well
Rob Kucera
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascoli Piceno, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Perfect location, just opposite the CITCC, the convention centre, wonderful view and excellent facilities. Bathroom with bath tub and shower, comfortable double bed and spacious room. Very clean. Very courteous staff and warm welcoming. Amazing breakfast with EXCELLENT CAPPUCCINO (just like the one I get at home in Italy, frothy, creamy and full of flavour) well suited for all kinds of nationalities. I recommend the "granola" a mix of cerals,nuts and honey to be eaten with fresh yogurt...Yummy!!!!!
The restaurant it was a bit of disappointment though....
over 45 minutes for a grilled fish plate and a meat fillet.
Overall, greatly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear vale160370

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Westin Cape Town and are especially pleased about your positive feedback with regards to the service you received from our staff.

It is always gratifying to know, our staff exceeded your expectations.

Your comments with regards to the delayed wait for your main courses in our restaurant have been noted and passed on to the Food & Beverage Manager for review.

Fuel your body with delicious SuperFoodsRx™ dishes packed with nutrients and energy. Antioxidant rich and naturally low in calories, our tempting selections – from whole-wheat blueberry pancakes to all-natural roasted turkey wraps and black bean hummus – make healthy meals impossible to resist.Created together with doctors and nutritionists, our SuperFoodsRx™ menu cultivates “food synergy,” the pairing of certain foods to increase their nutritional value, to give you the focused energy you need to meet the challenges of your day.

We hope to see you again when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

be well,
Rob Kucera
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Cape Town

Also Known As:
The Westin Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
The Westin Cape Town Hotel
Westin Cape Town
Cape Town Westin
The Westin Cape Town South Africa
Address: Lower Long Street | Convention Square, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa (Formerly Arabella Sheraton Grand Hotel)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#23 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#28 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Cape Town 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in one of the most popular destinations in the world, at the gateway to the historic V&A Waterfront, The Westin Grand Cape Town Arabella Quays is only minutes away from excellent shopping, vibrant city night life, historical monuments and museums, iconic Table Mountain, and the pristine beaches of Clifton and Camps Bay. The hotel offers unlimited complimentary shuttle transfers to the V&A Waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Starwood EMEA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Priceline, Tingo, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Expedia and Venere so you can book your The Westin Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Cape Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.