We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing - could so easily be better if staff were better trained” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Cape Town

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Cape Town to your Saves list
The Westin Cape Town
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lower Long Street | Convention Square, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa (Formerly Arabella Sheraton Grand Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Enjoy breakfast & more
Ranked #30 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Disappointing - could so easily be better if staff were better trained”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

The location is good, right next to the convention centre, on the edge of the CBD. Not quite as scenic as hotels in the V&A waterfront nearby, but still a pleasant setting. Crisp, modern and high tech throughout. comfortable rooms (although lighting not always straightforward). A shame that the service does not match up to the other aspects - not that I had any particularly bad experiences, just that on this occasion (as for every time I have been to this hotel before) it did not feel as if a 5 star effort was being made - many Cape Town hotels, big and small, do better.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear JonB_SA

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We are pleased to hear that your stay at the Westin Cape Town was pleasant.

However, I did take note of your comments made as to training our staff in service efficiency. We do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get. I do apologize for any inconvenience caused and should you wish to elaborate on the service deficiencies you experienced, ask you to please contact my PA Angelika Hammel (angelika.hammel@westin.com).

We train all our staff to be helpful and courteous and I regret that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion.

WESTIN HEAVENLY BED
Because good sleep is critical for both mental and physical health, Westin has designed every detail of the Heavenly Bed to promote superior slumber. Sleep well, and meet the challenges of the day head-on.

be well
Rob Kucera
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    828
    463
    103
    36
    25
See reviews for
155
502
105
483
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maputo
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed here in May for 4 nights and enjoyed the whole experience. The executive club service and food were excellent. Each morning the breakfast was fresh, varied and enjoyed in a private style seating. In the evening we tasted various creative snacks with drinks at the executive club. Our room was an executive suite with great views of the mountain and the wharf, it was large and comfortable. The hotel provides a shuttle to the Victoria wharf and this came in handy. We would definately recommend this hotel and stay here again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear estherMaputo

Thank you so much for taking the time and providing us with your feedback with regards to your recent stay at the Westin Cape Town.

We were delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and do hope to welcome you again when next you travel to Cape Town.

Wi-Fi
Stay connected with complimentary internet access throughout the hotel. Conveniently print and fax documents in our Business Center

be well
Rob Kucera
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at the Capetown Westin after a long flight from east coast Australia. We had booked and paid for 5 nights in advance but arrived well before the check in time. The reception staff informed us that as it was so early our room was not yet ready but for an additional cost we could take an upgraded room on the 17th floor. We decided to wait for our room to become available. We must have looked pretty shattered because the staff member then said "you must be tired after your long journey" and enquired if we had been to Capetown before. We were very tired and had not visited Capetown before. On hearing this he fiddled on his computer and said "you know what, seeing this is your first visit to Capetown I think you should really enjoy it " he then offered us a 15th floor upgraded room that included Starwood Preferred Guest Status which included extra services as well as breakfast each morning at the top floor restaurant which was nothing less than magnificent. The sensational views of Table Mountain the city and the waterfront area were outstanding. Not your usual standard buffet breakfast in this Executive Lounge restaurant. The food was ordered from the menu and served by the very accommodating manager Philip and his outstanding staff, always with genuine friendliness and a smile. Our room was large and very comfortable with floor to ceiling glass windows to take in the views. The free shuttle to the waterfront was appreciated and frequent. The hotel has all the trimmings, indoor pool with views, gym, spas, restaurants, bars etc that you expect from a hotel of this level. The location was good within walking distance to most places and next to the Convention Centre. We had a great stay at the Westin and would certainly recommend it while in Capetown.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear MicknRobyn

We were delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us at the Westin Cape Town. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback on good customer service.

We hope you had a great time in South Africa and look forward to welcomeing you again when you travel to South Africa.

Starwood Preferred Guest
Westin is proud to be part of the Starwood Preferred Guest (SPG) program, the premier award-winning hotel loyalty program. Members of the SPG program earn valuable Starpoints® across all Westin hotels and resorts as well as Starwood’s eight other distinctive hotel brands. Members can redeem Starpoints for Free Night Awards with no blackout dates or capacity controls at over 1000 hotels and resorts worldwide. Starpoints can also be redeemed toward Award Flights on over 350 airlines, merchandise, and more. Becoming a member is free at spg.com/join

be well
Rob Kucera
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascoli Piceno, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Perfect location, just opposite the CITCC, the convention centre, wonderful view and excellent facilities. Bathroom with bath tub and shower, comfortable double bed and spacious room. Very clean. Very courteous staff and warm welcoming. Amazing breakfast with EXCELLENT CAPPUCCINO (just like the one I get at home in Italy, frothy, creamy and full of flavour) well suited for all kinds of nationalities. I recommend the "granola" a mix of cerals,nuts and honey to be eaten with fresh yogurt...Yummy!!!!!
The restaurant it was a bit of disappointment though....
over 45 minutes for a grilled fish plate and a meat fillet.
Overall, greatly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear vale160370

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Westin Cape Town and are especially pleased about your positive feedback with regards to the service you received from our staff.

It is always gratifying to know, our staff exceeded your expectations.

Your comments with regards to the delayed wait for your main courses in our restaurant have been noted and passed on to the Food & Beverage Manager for review.

Fuel your body with delicious SuperFoodsRx™ dishes packed with nutrients and energy. Antioxidant rich and naturally low in calories, our tempting selections – from whole-wheat blueberry pancakes to all-natural roasted turkey wraps and black bean hummus – make healthy meals impossible to resist.Created together with doctors and nutritionists, our SuperFoodsRx™ menu cultivates “food synergy,” the pairing of certain foods to increase their nutritional value, to give you the focused energy you need to meet the challenges of your day.

We hope to see you again when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

be well,
Rob Kucera
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Well this was our 1st stop in South Africa. We stayed here for 4nights 5 days. The hotel is at a very safe location and the 2nd best place 2 stay after Pullman hotel. Hotel provides free shuttle to the waterfront every 15 minutes to & fro. Rooms are very clean and the staff very helpful and always willing to advice. Though while checking out had an issue, which was taken care off. The breakfast served here was really good and upto the standard. They also have good collection of souvenir for sale at there shop. Taxis are easily available from here as its close to the conventional centre and very nice locality.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Saikiran9

Thank you for taking the time to post your positive review of your recent stay with us at the Westin Cape Town.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

The Westin Essense
At Westin, everything we do is designed to help you feel your best. From our world-renowned Heavenly® Bed and our nourishing SuperFoodsRx™ dishes, to our energizing WestinWORKOUT and our revitalizing Heavenly® Spa treatments, every element of your stay is created to leave you feeling better than when you arrived. Westin. For a better you.

We hope to welcome you again when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

be well
Rob Kucera
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I stayed two nights in this hotel on a business trip. I very much loved this hotel. I slept very well, it was very quit. The room was spatious and well equipped. The breakfast was superb, even people on a diet can find plenty of things they enjoy. The location is ok, not to far from the harbor and nearby the chamber of commerce. I did not visit the SPA

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear SooLux

I was very pleased to learn how much you enjoyed your stay with us and I would like to thank you for letting me know.

Thank you very much for choosing the Westin Cape Town and we hope to welcome you again when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

Signature Heavenly® Programs
Guests enjoy an amazingly restful night’s sleep, which revitalizes the body and brain. The world-renowned Westin Heavenly Bed features lush sheets, down cushioning and our patented pillow-top mattress, which cradles and contours to the body for complete comfort. Another industry first, the Heavenly Bath creates an invigorating spa-like experience, enhanced with our Heavenly Shower® Heavenly® Robe and exclusive White Tea Aloe bath amenities.

be well
Rob Kucera
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Great hotel. Totally recommend. Rooms were very nice, clean, spacious. I was really comfortable! Rooms had great views of the city too. Hotel staff was extremely helpful in recommending activities and restaurants in the area. (We didn't eat at the hotel since we were in a good location for walking around.)

Interesting story to show how great the staff was at this hotel: During one of our days exploring Cape Town a cab driver offered to be 'driver' for the day. He said he would wait for us at all the places we wanted to go to (Table Mountain, Botanical Garden, lunch stop). He said he'd give us a total cost at the end of the day.... we thought to ourselves, "this is great" but also a little strange....so we called our hotel and told them the situation. They knew immediately who our cab driver was, told us that they know him well, and that we're in good hands. Needless to say, we had a great day in Cape Town!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Jill_L

Your kind comments are greatly appreciated. We are very happy to hear your trip to Cape Town was a memorable one and appreciate your praises shared with regards to your Cab Driver.

We do hope to welcome you again to the Westin Cape Town when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

Signature Heavenly® Programs
Guests enjoy an amazingly restful night’s sleep, which revitalizes the body and brain. The world-renowned Westin Heavenly Bed features lush sheets, down cushioning and our patented pillow-top mattress, which cradles and contours to the body for complete comfort. Another industry first, the Heavenly Bath creates an invigorating spa-like experience, enhanced with our Heavenly Shower® Heavenly® Robe and exclusive White Tea Aloe bath amenities.

be well
Rob Kucera
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Cape Town

Address: Lower Long Street | Convention Square, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa (Formerly Arabella Sheraton Grand Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#20 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#25 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#29 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in one of the most popular destinations in the world, at the gateway to the historic V&A Waterfront, The Westin Grand Cape Town Arabella Quays is only minutes away from excellent shopping, vibrant city night life, historical monuments and museums, iconic Table Mountain, and the pristine beaches of Clifton and Camps Bay. The hotel offers unlimited complimentary shuttle transfers to the V&A Waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Splendia, Agoda, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your The Westin Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Westin Cape Town
Cape Town Westin
The Westin Cape Town South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Cape Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.