We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Cape Town

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Cape Town to your Saves list
The Westin Cape Town
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lower Long Street | Convention Square, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa (Formerly Arabella Sheraton Grand Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Enjoy breakfast & more
Ranked #29 of 104 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Convenient location, polite staff,clean rooms

Very close to waterfront,comfortable beds,heated tiles in the bathroom...very polite staff especially the concierge..they have shuttle to the waterfront...

Only negative was the fact that the hostess in executive breakfast lounge was very rude..she made us wait fir a long time for a table for 4 when she could easily have joined two tables to seat 4

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Grand, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Pavitra_177

We were delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Westin Cape Town.

I reviewed your comments with regards to the service you received in our restaurant and have passed them on to the Restaurant Manager for review and follow up. I do apologize for the poor service received.

Thank you for stayin with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Westin when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

Westin Kids Club®
Westin welcomes our young guests with a kid-friendly arrival amenity. At resorts and select hotels our Westin Discovery Room offers various supervised activities like local
storytelling and nature walks. Families can also choose from a variety of exciting off-site trips that include amusement parks and zoo outings.

be well,
Rob Kucera
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    828
    463
    103
    36
    25
See reviews for
155
502
105
483
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This is hotel is slightly below the average Westin standard but it's definitely worth considering for a cape town escapade. If you are for business, it gives you all that you need and it is just across ar big conference center. The hotel has a shuttle to the marina, so you can easily reach the shops and restaurants of the bay. The rooms are clean and well cared. Stuff is competent and nice. Worth a try,

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Grand, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear maott

Thank you for the positive review of our hotel.

We are very happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us at the Westin Cape Town and we hope to see you again very soon when next your travels take you to our beautiful shores.

Starwood Preferred Guest
Westin is proud to be part of the Starwood Preferred Guest (SPG) program, the premier award-winning hotel loyalty program. Members of the SPG program earn valuable Starpoints® across all Westin hotels and resorts as well as Starwood’s eight other distinctive hotel brands. Members can redeem Starpoints for Free Night Awards with no blackout dates or capacity controls at over 1000 hotels and resorts worldwide. Starpoints can also be redeemed toward Award Flights on over 350 airlines, merchandise, and more. Becoming a member is free at spg.com/join

be well,
Rob Kucera
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

You'll enjoy your stay here if you don't expect the same level of service you'll usually find at Starwood properties around the world. The hotel is clean and well maintained. This hotel used to have the Sheraton brand and it should probably still be marketed as a mid grade hotel. There is an Executive Club but most of the time it is operated as a restaurant and is not accessible to club floor guests unless they are willing to pay for a meal. When the club is open, from 5pm to 7pm, each guest who can be seated in the club (there are 12 seats in the main area) receives three very nice canapes and a non alcoholic beverage. During my stay guests were frequently diverted to a ground floor restaurant to receive their canapes.

Other reviewers have mentioned Internet connection reliability issues and I also experienced them repeatedly during my stay. I also found restaurant service to be slow and sometimes very inattentive, although food quality was good. Kudos must be given to the excellent housekeeping staff, though. My room was exceptionally clean and housekeepers were very responsive to special requests.

All in all, a decent large note but definitely not up to premium Starwood standards.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Grand, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear unprofitable

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

I reviewed your comments regarding your stay with us at the Westin Cape Town and apologize for the poor internet connection you experienced, however during December we upgraded our internet service provider and are now providing a much faster and more stable connection.

It was nice to hear that our House Keeping staff exceeded your expectations. They work exceptionally hard to make every guest feel special.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Signature Heavenly® Programs
Guests enjoy an amazingly restful night’s sleep, which revitalizes the body and brain. The world-renowned Westin Heavenly Bed features lush sheets, down cushioning and our patented pillow-top mattress, which cradles and contours to the body for complete comfort. Another industry first, the Heavenly Bath creates an invigorating spa-like experience, enhanced with our Heavenly Shower® Heavenly® Robe and exclusive White Tea Aloe bath amenities

be well,
Rob Kucera
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

The service at Westin Cape Town is definitely not up to par with other Westins or even a 5 star hotel, which is why it has some poor reviews.

The hotel and our room were fantastic - comfortable beds, heated tiled floors, and awesome dual shower heads. The hotel is relatively new, so it is in great shape. The room was spacious, comfortable, and clean. The wifi frequently did not work and we would have to call daily for a new password. The business center's computers were slow and useless. Staff response was pretty poor, when we told them the internet was not working they just shrugged. The bed looked like a five-year old made it.

Breakfast at the executive lounge is amazing... fresh and healthy and delicious, with great views of table mountain. the location of the hotel is very good, a 10-15 minute walk from green market square. you can easily obtain a cab, or get the shuttle to the V&A waterfront. the shuttle runs every half hour, and takes about 10-15 minuted to get to the water front. the spa was adequate at best, best to avoid unless you really need an overpriced back rub.

Overall we had a pleasant stay at the Westin, but it's not up to part with other 5-star hotels.

Room Tip: ask for a higher level room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Grand, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear CondorBears

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Westin Cape Town.

I reviewed your comments regarding your stay wuth us at the Westin. We do take all comments seriously and appreciate the feedback you provided. I am truly sorry for the poor internet connectivity during your stay, however in December we changed our internet service provider and are now able to offer our guests a much faster and more reliable system.

I do sincerely hope you will accept that the difficulties you experienced are certainly not reflective of our normal standards. There is a standard procedure to make up beds and I am sorry this was not the case. Your comments have been passed on to the Department head for follow up and action.

In-Room Spa Services
Restore energy and relieve stress with a menu of custom treatments developed especially for Westin In-Room Spa services. Guests can indulge in the experience of a soothing spa getaway in the privacy of their own room. Many resort locations also offer peaceful healing in beautifully designed on-site spas where innovative therapies help guests get back to their best selves.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

be well,
Rob Kucera
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona Del Mar California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights and this was a great place to stay. Clean, modern, safe, centrally located, shuttle to the waterfront, and all around excellent.

The staff is very professional and the concierge went above and beyond to get us reservations at every restaurant we asked for.

The hotel is also very green with LED lighting and dual flush toilets.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the executive level so you have access to the happy hour and infinity pool on the 19th fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Grand, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear LivinInCDM

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel the Westin Cape Town.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Westin when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

SuperFoodsRx® menu
SuperFoods dishes powerfully pair whole foods to boost their flavors and their benefits. SuperFoods include fruits, vegetables, grains and proteins that are known to improve well-being and longevity. Antioxidant-rich and naturally low in calories, these tempting selections make healthful meals impossible to resist. Westin is the first hotel to embrace the SuperFoods concept and introduce these delectable, good-for-you choices to breakfast and in-room dining menus.

be well,
Rob Kucera
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

This hotel is located near the Convention Centre. It is a perfect location!
We checked in and we found out we had been upgraded to the Executive floor. The room was spacious, with ocean view, very functional with a spectacular bathroom.
There is free coffee in the room that you can make yourself using a very nice coffee machine.
We had access to the Executive lounge on the 19th floor. The views are amazing! The service is also amazing. We had breakfast there every day, most days enjoying the view of Table Mountain. From 5 to 7 they served canapes and drinks. You can upgrade to the Executive level for a reasonable price. It is well worth it. Breakfast is fantastic. They have a buffet but some of the food items are prepared for you upon request.
They have a beautiful gym, also on the 19th floor and you can work out while enjoying the view. They have a lot of cardio equipment, weight machines and free weights.
There is a spa, which offers free access to the pool, jacuzzi, steam room and the most amazing sauna I have ever been. It is also on the 19th floor, at the corner of the building with glass walls overlooking the V & A Waterfront and the Ocean.
The hotel provides towels for the beach. Also there is a free shuttle to the Victoria and Alfred Waterfront, which runs every 1/2 hour until 11:30pm at night.
Guest services are very helpful. They offered us advise on safety, provided us with local information, always with a smile.
We enjoyed our stay at the Westin very much. We highly recommend it! You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Pay the extra to upgrade to the executive level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Grand, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Globetrotter_DBA

Thank you for the positive review of our hotel.

We are happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us at the Westin Cape Town and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Cape Town.

WestinWORKOUT
State-of-the-art and well equipped, the WestinWORKOUT gym helps keep fitness routines active while on the road. Guests can energize with a wide choice of treadmills and bikes for heart-pumping cardio, tone up with strength machines and free weights or flex in open areas for stretching or yoga. This first-class facility also keeps guests hydrated and entertained. Select locations offer customized WestinWORKOUT guestrooms with in-room equipment for all performance levels. The RunWESTIN program provides local running maps for every hotel with three- and five- mile routes. Select properties offer a change of pace with guided ‘discovery runs’ led by a running concierge. RunWESTIN welcomes back all runners with a fresh towel and cold bottled water. During the week 1 to 9 November 2012 all Westin Hotels across the globe will be launching the New Balance gear lending programme where guests can have fresh, clean New Balance shoes and clothing delivered to their room during their stay, allowing them to pack light and stay fit.

be well,
Rob Kucera
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoziJETSETTER
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

I treated a foreign friend to Cape Town and booked herefor four nights from 18th-23th December 2012. I always book a room that allows free access to the Executive Club. I felt a total sense of belonging to this brand when she rated this the best Westin in all her travels. The staff as usual, are always accoodating and in particular, the Zimbabwean gent on night call was competent and courteous and treated us like royalty.
The LOCATION was excellent and for the first time did ot hire a car and used the hotel shuttle to access the waterfront. In order to show her Cape Town, I took the 2day 'hop on hop off' from the ICC, which borders the hotel. Our sightseeing was in this way, readily accessible and without any inonvenience. Furtherore, the staff prepared a breakfast box for us on the day we were unable to take breakfast. By the way, the Egg Benerdict with Salmon for breakfast at the Executive Club is the best I have eaten...

Room Tip: Corner rooms have amazing views and choose mountain and waterfront views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Grand, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear JoziJetsetter

We were delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Westin Cape Town.

It was nice to hear that our staff exceeded your expectations, they work exceptionaly hard to make every guest feel special.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Starwood Preferred Guest
Westin is proud to be part of the Starwood Preferred Guest (SPG) program, the premier award-winning hotel loyalty program. Members of the SPG program earn valuable Starpoints® across all Westin hotels and resorts as well as Starwood’s eight other distinctive hotel brands. Members can redeem Starpoints for Free Night Awards with no blackout dates or capacity controls at over 1000 hotels and resorts worldwide. Starpoints can also be redeemed toward Award Flights on over 350 airlines, merchandise, and more. Becoming a member is free at spg.com/join

be well,
Rob Kucera
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Cape Town

Address: Lower Long Street | Convention Square, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa (Formerly Arabella Sheraton Grand Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#21 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#24 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#28 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in one of the most popular destinations in the world, at the gateway to the historic V&A Waterfront, The Westin Grand Cape Town Arabella Quays is only minutes away from excellent shopping, vibrant city night life, historical monuments and museums, iconic Table Mountain, and the pristine beaches of Clifton and Camps Bay. The hotel offers unlimited complimentary shuttle transfers to the V&A Waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Westin Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Westin Cape Town
Cape Town Westin
The Westin Cape Town South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Cape Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.