We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location downtown with nice views, wifi.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Cape Town

Save Saved
You added The Westin Cape Town to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Westin Cape Town
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lower Long Street | Convention Square, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa (Formerly Arabella Sheraton Grand Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 103 hotels in Cape Town Central
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good location downtown with nice views, wifi.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed here for three nights in ordinary rooms. Didn't pay for breakfast or club floors as we intended to eat out.

Its a perfectly fine hotel, close to major sites and also the main roads. Concierge service for our car was in particular very prompt and efficient. They do a shuttle to the V&A Waterfront (frankly the V&A is fairly awful but shuttle is nice). Rooms were spacious and well-maintained. They also offer free wifi, a big plus point to our party. Recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Grand, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Sean M

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at the Westin Cape Town and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Cape Town.

be well,
Rob Kucera
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,180 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    681
    362
    88
    29
    20
See reviews for
129
417
92
362
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I've stayed at the Westin many times for business and also recently came with a partner. No, it's not a luxury hotel. No, they don't have private butlers. Yet I love the place.

Location:
This is, first and foremost, a business hotel. Thus, while I'd prefer to stay on the slopes of Table Mountain, the Westin is well located for business meetings. It's central to pretty much everything.

Service:
Very solid. While people don't go out of their way to help you, they're reasonable friendly and efficient.

Rooms:
Decent size rooms with ridiculously comfortable beds. That said, I hate the toiletries here. They feel cheap.

Breakfast:
Oddly, I find this hotel has by far the best breakfast of anywhere I've stayed, including more upmarket offerings. The food is very good, and the variety is unbelievable.

Overall:
If you are looking for a solid business hotel, this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Grand, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear 152958

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Westin Cape Town and we look forward to welcoming you again to the Westin when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

be well,
Rob Kucera
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

If you are staying at this hotel, you most likely have some business at the convention center just across the street. You really can't beat the location in that case and the area is nice enough although you will need to get a shuttle or taxi to the Waterfront (hotel has free shuttle).

The hotel itself is lovely and the rooms are impeccable, especially the gorgeous bathrooms with heated floors (remember summer is winter there). My room also had a neat recliner seat. For me, check-in was a breeze and the warm, gently lit main lobby is inviting if not super busy at times. Again, this is a hotel catering mostly to the business crowd but tourists and those wanting ultimate comfort would also love it.

Some of my favorite things:

breakfast buffet - has everything for Western and/or Eastern tastes (they know their clients). Staff offer to bring you extra toast and tea.
Top floor spa - amazing lap pool with view of city and jaccuzi plus nice looking spa
Wifi - although not stellar fast, it worked well throughout the complex
Staff - generally speaking, I had pleasant experiences with most of the staff who seemed eager to please if not somewhat uninformed at times.

Overall, superb comfy hotel with top notch business location and close to Waterfront but not ON the Waterfront as the name may imply.

Room Tip: be sure to get breakfast included, it's a feast worth experiencing however, if you dine during t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Grand, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear marcimpala

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel.

We are happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us at the Westin Cape Town and hope to see you very soon when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

be well,
Rob Kucera
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I stayed in this hotel while attending a conference recently. It's perfectly located, close to the Waterfront and other amenities. And the facilities and service were really great. Friendly staff, excellent restaurants, and a spa with the most amazing views of Cape Town. A definite winner.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Grand, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Shaun F

Thank you for the positive review of our hotel.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Westin Cape Town and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Cape Town.

be well,
Rob Kucera
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

excellent hotel with fantastic executive lounge on the 19th floor

Hotel rooms are good and free fast internet connection wifi and broadband

nice reception and lobby
Very nice breakfast on the top floor
great swimming pool on 19th floor overlooking waterfront

but most importantly EXCEPTIONAL employees on the Executive Lounge on 19th floor that made my day every morning - well done

Room Tip: Stay at the Executive Rooms and use the Executive Lounge on 19th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Grand, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear buhalid

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Westin Cape Town.

It was nice to hear that our associates in the Westin Executive Lounge exceeded your expectations. they work exceptionally hard to make every guest feel special.

thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

be well,
Rob Kucera
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This is a very well located hotel, great facilities. I have stayed there more than 10 times, yet when I checked in last week, I was not recognized as a Platinum SPG guest, neither was I offered a Gold or Platnum amenity, as Starwood promises. Service is reallt erratic. Breakfast on the 19th floor is great.

Room Tip: View of soccer stadium, higher up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Grand, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Gerhard13071964

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Westin Cape Town.

I apologize for the failure to recognize your SPG status and have passed your comments on to the Rooms Division Manager for action and follow.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Westin.

be well,
Rob Kucera
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Let me preface this review with the fact that we had our blackberry STOLEN right out of our room. This was certainly not what we needed on a few week trip to Africa from the states. The hotel did "investigate" this but lets be serious - the investigation lasted a few days and they did not start the investigation until the day after we reported it - - by then, the blackberry was long gone. We do appreciate that the hotel did this so called "investigation" but what we did not appreciate was the fact that they made no concessions to us at all - they did not offer to replace it, they did not offer to cover the calls we had to make from the room, they did not even offer a free beverage or breakfast - seriously???

Now, do not be fooled - this is not a one time occurrence at this hotel. What we discovered after the fact was that there are many other reports online of theft at this hotel and apparently the US consultate (back in 2010) restricted US government employees from staying at this hotel because of theft (if you do not believe me, search for yourself online - its there). That being said, this hotel certainly has dishonest people working there and what happened to us was not a one time occurence.

Unfortunately, this completely clouds my review of this hotel and I just cannot add any positives of this hotel due to this. I would avoid this hotel if you can. If you cannot, do not leave anything that you do not want stolen out because it will be gone and the hotel will do nothing to help compensate you for this.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Grand, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear nYcCritic1

Thank you for posting your comments with regards to your recent stay at the Westin Cape Town.

I was sorry to learn of your concerns and on the outset would like to offer my sincere apologies for the dissapointment you have expressed.

As per the email you received from our Security Manager after reporting the loss of your mobile phone, I wish to advise that we investigate all reported theft cases thoroughly in order to ascertain whether there was any evidence of criminal acts or neglicence on the part of the hotel or any of its associates.

We provide a safe in each room, so that our guests can store and lock their valuables when leaving their room.

We do pride ourselves on our exceptionally high standard of service and I do sicnerely hope you will not judge us solely on the basis of this particular experience.

In closing,may I thank you once again for taking the time and postingyour comments. We are grateful for your support and do hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you to the Westin Cape town in the future.

Be well,
Rob Kucera
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Cape Town

Address: Lower Long Street | Convention Square, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa (Formerly Arabella Sheraton Grand Hotel)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#14 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#20 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#30 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Cape Town 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in one of the most popular destinations in the world, at the gateway to the historic V&A Waterfront, The Westin Grand Cape Town Arabella Quays is only minutes away from excellent shopping, vibrant city night life, historical monuments and museums, iconic Table Mountain, and the pristine beaches of Clifton and Camps Bay. The hotel offers unlimited complimentary shuttle transfers to the V&A Waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Starwood EMEA, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Westin Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Westin Cape Town
Cape Town Westin
The Westin Cape Town South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Cape Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.