We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for all needs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Protea Hotel Victoria Junction

Save Saved
You added Protea Hotel Victoria Junction to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Protea Hotel Victoria Junction
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Somerset & Ebenezer Roads, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 103 hotels in Cape Town Central
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great hotel for all needs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Great location, handy for downtown but especially convenient for V&A Waterfront, either by taxi or walking (daytime).
Clean hotel, good welcome, reasonable bar and restaurant, very helpful and friendly staff.
Special treat - the duplex suites are fantastic and represent fab accommodation and great views/penthouse living style.

Room Tip: Go the whole hog and take a duplex suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vj_general_manager, General Manager at Protea Hotel Victoria Junction, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Michael P,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your most recent stay at the Protea Hotel Victoria Junction Waterfront.
We are delighted to receive your compliments and we will certainly congratulate the STAFF you commended for their exemplary service.

We at the Protea Hotel Victoria Junction Waterfront strive for “BEST GUEST SERVICE” and are glad that our STAFF were able to make you feel welcome and hope that we will be given an opportunity in the not too distant future to welcome you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,
Charl van Wyk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    66
    105
    34
    8
    4
See reviews for
18
97
13
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

In a really practical, central location, with parking and generous-sized rooms, this is a good hotel for a short stay in Cape Town or a comfortable, mid-range business stay.
Reception staff were welcoming and efficient. The lobby is not glamorous, more practical than atmospheric. The only bar and restaurant are part of the one, open public space - so not really anywhere to hang out or hold more than the most brief and informal meeting.
BUT...the rooms are really good. Newly and attractively fitted out, the loft rooms on the 5th floor are particularly comfortable, with the bed on a mezzanine, above a proper living area, meaning you can hold those meetings in the comfort and privacy of your own room. A generous bed and smart shower room both make for a comfortable stay. On windy nights, the street-side rooms whistle and take the full brunt of the prevailing winds, but then this is Cape Town.
Breakfast is from a generous buffet. The good value of the establishment does make it a favourite for tour groups, school rugby tours etc, so the relatively small catering can sometimes feel somewhat overwhelmed. I and my colleagues tended to eat out in the evenings, a quick cab ride down to the Waterfront did the trick.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vj_general_manager, General Manager at Protea Hotel Victoria Junction, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear FilmTraveller,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your most recent stay at the Protea Hotel Victoria Junction Waterfront. We review all GUEST feedback as it is vital tool for us use to improve the areas where we are falling short and to ensure we are meeting our GUESTS every expectation.
Thank you for pointing out some of our very unique selling points, we are especially glad you enjoyed staying in our Loft Apartment, and made use of its unique facilities.
We once again thank you for your feedback and hope to welcome you back to the Protea Hotel Victoria Junction Waterfront again in the near future.
Kind Regards
Charl and the VJ TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Another wonderful visit at the VJ, thank you to the staff for making my stay so enjoyable. It’s nice knowing that when you are travelling on business and are away from your loved ones that you still feel very welcome at your hotel of choice. Keep up the great work.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vj_general_manager, General Manager at Protea Hotel Victoria Junction, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Leon,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your most recent stay at the Protea Hotel Victoria Junction Waterfront, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are delighted to receive your compliments and we will certainly congratulate the TEAM you commended for their exemplary service.

Your comments are therefore much appreciated, and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you to Protea Hotel Victoria Junction Waterfront again soon.

Many thanks and kind regards,
Charl van Wyk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bredasdorp, South Africa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Very disappointing stay - Worst breakfast, cold meats and cheese dried out, hot food very oily or dried out and not appetizing at all. Service was very poor, I had to call waiter from where 3 of them was having a chat behind a coffee machine to order tea, no plates was cleared from my table during the 20 min sitting at the table, waiters congregated behind the coffee machine where they were very load in conversation. No supervisor or manager is sight. The was a clipboard with a hand written buffet prep list left on the cold buffet by the chef and it stayed there till I left. The lady frying the eggs also had to be called from behind the coffee machine to assist me. I would rather have a muffin at MvDonalds, better quality and service.
The safe in my room did not have a door  when I mentioned it to the person at the front desk I got no response. Nobody follow up with me regarding this next day. On departure I had to get the attention of a guy sitting in an office to call someone to the front desk to check me out. A contemporary style room and bathroom. Spacious room with King Size bed, desk and only one chair, flat screen TV on the wall, small cupboard. Overall the cleanliness was good – the only good thing I can say about this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vj_general_manager, General Manager at Protea Hotel Victoria Junction, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Quintus S

GUESTS' perceptions of the service they receive whilst staying at Protea Hotel Victoria Junction Waterfront is the only true yardstick we have for measuring whether or not we have met their expectations.

Please be assured that your comments with regard to the breakfast service and restaurant issues have been addressed in detail with the relevant management and STAFF. I should, therefore, like to thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your stay with us, and to assure you that your comments are being used constructively to maintain and improve, where necessary, our service standards and facilities.

I can assure you, should you stay at Protea Hotel Victoria Junction Waterfront again, that every effort will be made to ensure that you enjoy our true hospitality! Please do not hesitate to contact me personally for any assistance you may require from our side in future. It would be my pleasure to assist you with your next reservation and to ensure that you are well taken care of during your next stay with us.

Yours Sincerely,
Charl van Wyk,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Protea Hotel Victoria Junction from 26th April 2013 for 4 nights. Our travel agent had booked for us a twin room instead of a double room which we had requested. The hotel staff kindly changed our room to one with a king-size bed.

The room was nice and clean. Everything worked, including the room safe and the power points. Breakfast was good.

Hotel staff were friendly.

Hotel location was good, only a short taxi ride to Victoria and Alfred Waterfront or to the city centre.

The only blemish was the shuttle bus to the waterfront. It was infrequent and there was no timetable. Even the hotel staff we asked had difficulty in remembering the pickup times. Fortunately taxi fare was only 30 rand each way.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vj_general_manager, General Manager at Protea Hotel Victoria Junction, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear PerryTan,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Protea Hotel Victoria Junction Waterfront.

GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure that we are meeting and exceeding our GUESTS’ expectations.

Please accept our formal apologies with regards to the shuttle bus miscommunication. We assure you that your comments have been addressed with the relevant management and STAFF.
Your comments are therefore much appreciated, and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you to Protea Hotel Victoria Junction Waterfront again soon.
Kind regards,
Charl van Wyk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

The hotel is in a good location with all the usual amenities. The rooms are well appointed and comfortable with a good breakfast. The highlight was the staff who were efficient and friendly and went the extra mile to sort out a few things we needed.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the street but although we were there when a concert was on in the stadium and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vj_general_manager, General Manager at Protea Hotel Victoria Junction, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Jenni44
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your most recent stay at the Protea Hotel Victoria Junction Waterfront. We review all GUEST feedback as it is vital tool for us use to improve the areas where we are falling short and to ensure we are meeting our GUESTS every expectation.
The hotel underwent an extensive reservation in 2011, but was opened in 1996. We especially kept some of the features that we believe make the VJ unique during the renovation – so we are glad you enjoyed it. The pool facing rooms of the hotel are quieter and we will be looking at improving the sound insulation in the road facing rooms.
We once again thank you for your feedback and hope to welcome you back to the Protea Hotel Victoria Junction Waterfront again in the near future.
Kind Regards
Charl and the VJ TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Not the biggest hotel but it is in the best area, you can walk to the Stadium and to the V&A Waterfront, the staff are excellent and helpful and the dinner and breakfast is really worth it, a great hotel with stunning views of Table Mountain.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vj_general_manager, General Manager at Protea Hotel Victoria Junction, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Dawn W
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your most recent stay at the Protea Hotel Victoria Junction Waterfront and for pointing out some our very unique selling points, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
We review all GUEST feedback as it is vital tool for us use to improve the areas where we are falling short and to ensure we are meeting our GUESTS every expectation.
We once again thank you for your feedback and hope to welcome you back to the Protea Hotel Victoria Junction Waterfront again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Charl and the VJ TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Protea Hotel Victoria Junction? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Victoria Junction

Address: Cnr Somerset & Ebenezer Roads, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#35 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#50 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Victoria Junction 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the urban landscape of Greenpoint, one of Cape Town’s trendiest suburbs, The Protea Hotel Victoria Junction’s location offers easy access to major Cape Town tourist attractions as well as the CBD, the Cape Town International Convention Centre and the V&A Waterfront for GUESTS staying on business. Our in house, Connexxion Restaurant is the perfect option for guests on the go. The breakfast buffet remains of international standard with a huge variety of items to choose from and for your convenience – breakfast hours over weekends are extended so you can sleep in! The Hotel provides a new contemporary urban lifestyle where you can live, work and play within a 5 kilometre radius. Walk to the Cape Quarter Lifestyle Centre and the Greenpoint Park or cycle on the new pedestrian and cycle ways. Catch a MyCity bus or the red Cape Town Tourism bus to visit Clifton, Camps Bay beach or as far as Simon’s Town and Constantia! All the bedrooms feature sleek, modern design that offer environmentally friendly lighting, water-saving rain showers and energy efficient entertainment options like the Bravia LCD screens and iPod docking stations. International adapter installations also improve services to our International GUESTS. Protea Hotel Victoria Junction - a contemporary urban lifestyle! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Protea Hotel Victoria Junction reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Cape Town
Victoria Junction
Protea Hotel Victoria Junction Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Protea Hotel Victoria Junction, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.