We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Protea Hotel Victoria Junction Waterfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Protea Hotel Victoria Junction Waterfront to your Saves list
Protea Hotel Victoria Junction Waterfront
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Somerset Road and Ebenezer Road, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
“Home away from Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Thank you once again for a fabulous stay at Protea Hotel Victoria Junction. Superb location for business and vacation ! Beautiful decor. Lovely comfortable rooms and of course a buffet breakfast to die for. Traditional South African dishes for dinner makes it unnecessary to go out for dinner. The hotel staff are always friendly and ready to assist. Even prepared a take-a-way breakfast at four in the morning for us before we left for the Two Oceans Marathon. We will be back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    148
    51
    11
    6
See reviews for
23
130
21
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sandton, South Africa
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

I recently stayed in the Victoria Junction for one night on a business trip. The hotel is centrally located, close to the V&A Waterfront and central business district. The personnel at the reception were very friendly and allocated a quiet room to me upon request. The room was newly refurbished, modern and very clean with an excellent shower. The breakfast was of a good standard (included in the rate). The rate was reasonable compared to similar available hotels and ecellent value for money. I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Request a room on the courtyard side which may not be as noisy as the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vj_general_manager, General Manager at Protea Hotel Victoria Junction Waterfront, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Dear JCE123,

Thank you so much for taking time out of your schedule to review the Protea Hotel Victoria Junction here on tripadvisor! We truly value all the feedback we receive about the Hotel! Thank you for your positive comments about our breakfast and about finding our Hotel great value for money! We loved having you with us and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Sincere regards,
PIETER BUITENDAG
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

I have stayed here and also visited this Hotel for meals and functions in the past. This is my first visit since the refurbishment and I must be honest, I preferred the lobby and restaurant area of the original Hotel - the colour theme just does not work for me, especially the green carpets and it now looks like any chic urban Boutique Hotel, nothing special, before it was rather unique. The rooms however are looking better and more stylish and practical than ever before- awesome big showers and the colours work well. Definitely the design appeals better to those who prefer modern more techno features - The flat screen Tvs, work space and great consideration of those with ipods, mp3 players, laptops etc..The location is best selling point for this Hotel - close to nightlife, all types of city life, awesome restaurants, shopping, the V&A waterfront, the Stadium, Green Point Park and the beaches are close enough too. The location combined with generally very friendly and efficient staff make it well worth the visit and I would stay here again without question. I highly recommend this Hotel - it is a really good standard 4 star, with style (not everybody will like it, but it is stylish nonetheless) and amazing location - probably not best suited to traditional families with much younger children, but for everyone else, no matter what your taste or persuasion is, you'll like it.

Room Tip: Loft rooms are obviously best choice, but if budget does not allow, then ask for corner rooms on eac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vj_general_manager, General Manager at Protea Hotel Victoria Junction Waterfront, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Dear StuartGood,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us your feedback on the Protea Hotel Victoria Junction on Tripadvisor! We truly love to receive the feedback and even positive criticism from our GUESTS. We love that you recommended us to other users and thank you for rating our STAFF so well. I'm sorry that you miss the Moulin Rouge and the other film sets we used to feature but I am sure you will find our new look grow on you on your return visits! To that extent we look forward to seeing you again real soon!

Sincere regards,
PIETER BUITENDAG
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Close enough to V&A Waterfront and city centre to walk around in the daytime, or at night if you are adventurous. Easy access and exit by car and parking under the hotel (at an extra cost). Taxis are outside if needed and hotel also runs 1-way shuttle to the V&A Waterfront if needed (2-way would be better of course). So location was good.

Front of house areas are modern and leaning towards trendy, but not too boutique to be pretentious. Quite relaxing really which is just fine for us.

Front desk, housekeeping, bar/restaurant and porters were all very helpful and friendly, so no problems there. Front desk helped us out with a noisy neighbour by allowing us to move room. Pus they recommended places to eat and provided directions. Generally they were all quite laid back and relaxed, which is the Cape Town style I would say myself.
Breakfast was better earily on in the service time but never too busy to worry the team. Bar was generally quiet and not noisy, so a standard hotel bar which is a shame. Could be more. Funny thing is one guide book said it used to be frequented by musicians and wotnot...didnt see any though :-) and could do with some edgier vibe...maybe the Jazz Fest later in our week would create that.

Rooms are like the lobby, trendy and clean, but not too pretentious. One bare brick wall and other materials were black & white contrasted with a splash of colour here and there. Aircon was effective but a little bit noisy, as most aircon systems are when not built-in units. Windows could be opened instead if needed although the hotel is on a main road so there would be noise from cars.

Free internet in the lobby and free wireless available in the room if you bring your own kit.

All in all it was just fine. No real complaints.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vj_general_manager, General Manager at Protea Hotel Victoria Junction Waterfront, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Dear Brit_in_the_US,
Thank you so much for taking time to review the Protea Hotel Victoria Junction on Tripadvisor. We appreciate it so much! Thank you for being so complimentary of our facilities and services. There may have been a slight miscommunication because we do offer a 2-way shuttle between the Hotel and the waterfront but perhaps you could let me know why your perception is different! We loved having you stay with us and we most certainly hope to be your Hotel of choice when you return. PS: I have taken your comments about the bar to heart and will look at how we can vibe things up a little!
Best regards,
PIETER BUITENDAG
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

The Victoria Junction hotel was clean with satisfactory rooms, good service and excellent breakfast; however, it felt more like a characterless business venue compared to the several elegant venues at which we stayed on our Sth African tour. It does offer a convenient and safe place to stay with easy access to the many attractions of Capetown.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vj_general_manager, General Manager at Protea Hotel Victoria Junction Waterfront, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Dear Andy,
Thank you so much for taking time out to review the Protea Hotel Victoria Junction on Tripadvisor. We really do value your opinion! I am so sorry that we did not exceed your every expectation in relation to the ambience in the Hotel and that you felt it was more of a business venue. Though we are used heavily by Corporate GUESTS - we most certainly also strived towards providing our leisure GUESTS with an amazing experience. We will work harder at achieving that! We hope you will visit us again to experience some of the changed we have made! Thank you for your patronage and again for your feedback!
Sincere regards,
PIETER BUITENDAG
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

I can't quite work out this hotel. Trendy Lobby and rooms. Rooms on the back of the hotel peaceful , on the front very very noisy.
Air conditioning units are loud and don't work well.
Staff in the bar and restaurant are friendly and helpful. Front office alas were generally not.
First time i stayed here I liked the quirky nature of the place. It has now worn off.
In Cape Town there are many hotels with better value and in a better location

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vj_general_manager, General Manager at Protea Hotel Victoria Junction Waterfront, responded to this review, March 31, 2012
Dear GastroNinja,
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on the Protea Hotel Victoria Junction here on Tripadvisor. Please accept our sincere apologies for not having exceeded your expectations during your last stay. We certainly strive towards providing a great facility and great services. Your comments in relation to the rooms facing Somerset Road was noticed in addition to those about the air-conditioners and this will be seen to immediately. Thank you for complementing our restaurant and bar service - we will most certainly strive towards improving our Front office department to garner similar compliments! Thank you again for your feedback. Please do give us another opportunity when next you travel to Cape Town - we loved having you with us and most certainly look forward to welcoming you back to show you some of the improvements we have made!
Sincere regards,
PIETER BUITENDAG
General Manager
Protea Hotel Victoria Junction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

We stayed for 6 nights from 26 Feb 2012 to 3 March 2012 in a loft room and were really impressed. Check in was quick and reception staff were friendly offering us a free cool pineapple drink which was lovely and refreshing after a long journey. The loft room was great - simply decorated in a modern functional style it offered lots of space. A large comfortable bedroom and a fabulous shower room on the mezzanine level and a lounge, dining area, small kitchen (with coffee maker!)and bathroom downstairs. We had a corner room so the double height windows gave us great views -in one direction the stadium and in the other Table Mountain. We found all of the staff at the hotel to be attentive and helpful. We had some problems opening our safe one morning and security came up straight away to help us. The buffet breakfast offered a wide choice of hot and cold food and the staff were friendly quickly offering coffee and tea. We ate in the hotel restaurant on our first night and were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food on offer. Again the restaurant staff were friendly and attentive. The hotel is in a great location - it took us 10 minutes to walk to the Victoria and Alfred Waterfront and it only took 5 minutes max back in a taxi at night. There is a great restaurant Beluga literally two minutes away if you don't want to walk far. Overall a great place to stay for our first time in Cape Town and we would heartily recommend it to others.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vj_general_manager, General Manager at Protea Hotel Victoria Junction Waterfront, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Dear Sunshine 3227,

THANK YOU sooo much for taking the time to write such a wonderfully detailed review about the Protea Hotel Victoria Junction and for recommending us to other users. We really are immensely grateful for your kind words. We are very happy that you enjoyed your time in our beautiful city and our beautiful hotel and personally we cannot wait to welcome you back to either!
Sincere regards,
PIETER BUITENDAG
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Protea Hotel Victoria Junction Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Victoria Junction Waterfront

Address: Corner Somerset Road and Ebenezer Road, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#36 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#52 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Victoria Junction Waterfront 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the urban landscape of Greenpoint, one of Cape Town’s trendiest suburbs, The Protea Hotel Victoria Junction’s location offers easy access to major Cape Town tourist attractions as well as the CBD, the Cape Town International Convention Centre and the V&A Waterfront for GUESTS staying on business. Our in house, Connexxion Restaurant is the perfect option for guests on the go. The breakfast buffet remains of international standard with a huge variety of items to choose from and for your convenience – breakfast hours over weekends are extended so you can sleep in! The Hotel provides a new contemporary urban lifestyle where you can live, work and play within a 5 kilometre radius. Walk to the Cape Quarter Lifestyle Centre and the Greenpoint Park or cycle on the new pedestrian and cycle ways. Catch a MyCity bus or the red Cape Town Tourism bus to visit Clifton, Camps Bay beach or as far as Simon’s Town and Constantia! All the bedrooms feature sleek, modern design that offer environmentally friendly lighting, water-saving rain showers and energy efficient entertainment options like the Bravia LCD screens and iPod docking stations. International adapter installations also improve services to our International GUESTS. Protea Hotel Victoria Junction - a contemporary urban lifestyle! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Marriott, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Protea Hotel Victoria Junction Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Cape Town
Protea Hotel Victoria Junction Waterfront Cape Town, South Africa
Victoria Junction

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Protea Hotel Victoria Junction Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.