We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely guest house, very friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parker Cottage

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Parker Cottage to your Saves list
Parker Cottage
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   3 Carstens Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book direct and save 5%!
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely guest house, very friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in March and really enjoyed ourselves. Diana looked after us very well, always telling great anecdotes and couldn't do enough to make our stay more enjoyable. The honesty bar is great with some really nice wine and port. Breakfasts were lovely and served in a beautiful garden. If you like massive (seriously you could have had 4 or 5 courses if you wanted) breakfasts this is the place for you. To make this place perfect it would have been good to have the wifi code available in the room, and upgrade the toiletries, but these are small points in the grand scheme of things. The guesthouse was lovely, staff were attentive and overall it was a really nice place to stay. Thoroughly recommended!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkerCottage, Owner at Parker Cottage, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Hi Pedro! Many tnanks for taking the time to write us a review. Glad you enjoyed the five course breakfast: the idea is to offer so much of such a high quality that you shouldn't need lunch. :-) Hopefully, we managed that for you!

You mentioned that the wifi-code wasn't available in your room: we do always check with guests when they arrive if they would like the code and we also print it in the guest information file in the rooms. Perhaps it's not as obvious as it could be, though. We'll look into it.

The toiletries in the room, would you believe it, have been so popular that we have been asked by several guests if it would be possible to buy some to take home! They are produced by a local company called Ecoco, to what we would consider a very high standard (Liz chose them herself and uses them herself too on a daily basis). When we have researched five star accommodation in Cape Town, we have found the toiletries much inferior to ours. But we will look at this again and see if improvements can be made.

Diana will be delighted by your mentioning of her by name: she's a star, isn't she? Thanks for choosing to remember and write that.

Phil (owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    708
    39
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
101
466
39
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I can confidently say that our stay at Parker Cottage was phenomenal! Our time in Cape Town exceeded our expectations, and primarily due to the outstanding connections with the people at Parker Cottage. South Africa seemed like a world away from the United States, but we felt welcomed, safe and well cared for during our stay. The initial orientation to Cape Town with Phil on the porch was invaluable, it helped us get our bearings quickly, in order to maximize our time in beautiful Cape Town.

The breakfast each morning was spectacular! One of my the favorite times of the day was the quiet and delightful mornings in the garden patio of Parker Cottage, enjoying a delicious breakfast. From the dining recommendations to the mapped-out walking tour, the time at Parker Cottage was remarkable. Absolutely beautiful B&B with wonderful atmosphere and people. Complimentary wine tasting allowed us to meet other guests also staying at Parker Cottage from around the world. Absolutely would stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We loved our stay at Parker Cottage! The house is gorgeous, rooms very comfortable (we stayed in one of the cheaper rooms as it fitted our budget and it was lovely!) Breakfast is amazing, the best we have ever had. Its as if they have stayed at heaps of places and taken the best from everywhere. Little (and not so little) things like no set time for breakfast, wine tasting nights, being happy to suggest restaurants and even book them. On arrival we were given a glass of wine and chatted about what we wanted to do while in Cape Town and straight away they booked our Table Mountain cable car tickets. Each member of staff were so friendly and attentive. I also appreciate the effort they make in the community- buying local, paying staff higher than minimum wage etc.

We liked the location as well- close enough to walk to pretty much everything we wanted to.

This really is one of the best places I have ever stayed. Love to go back and if we are lucky enough to make it back to Cape Town we will.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkerCottage, Owner at Parker Cottage, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Wow Lisib! Thanks for such a lovely review. We're so pleased that you found our breakfast the best you'd ever had: in some ways, you're right. Liz and i have been to and lived in a lot of places around the world and we reflect this in our 'plats du jour', or daily specials. There's Lebanese food, from Liz's time in Beirut, Italian dishes from Phil's time in Florence and so on. Even better, we change the specials every winter, and this year are going to start offering traditional Russian breakfasts (because of Phil's time in St. Petersburg). We have a saying here at Parker Cottage: 'Breakfast must never stand still', meaning that if we're not offering something new, exciting and delicious every day, it's not good enough.

Thanks also for picking up on the commitment to our staff: we make very sure that our housekeepers, managers and cleaners get a proper take-home wage here (the national minimum wage isn't liveable, in our view.) They are in one case supporting seven people off the salary they get here so it's not just about money: it's about changing people's lives.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Parker Cottage is an outstanding establishment. There is ample parking out front if you rented a car and there is abundant privacy, if that is what you want. The house has the charm of a country home and the rooms are very large in size. In the mornings the staff makes an outstanding breakfast with ample choices and fresh ingredients. If you are an early riser as we were (before 8 am) it will be tough to get a complete breakfast. Cape Town gets up late and goes to bed late, so just relax and take your time, if you want breakfast. The location is perfect and is walking distance to almost all of old town Cape Town and Green Market Square. We rented a car to get around outside of the city. In the city, I would recommend hiring a taxi since it is so difficult to find parking. The taxi's are very cheap and you won't have the headache of traffic. Our one complaint was the Air Con not working for the first two nights. The first night it was very very warm. The second night we were giving a rolling unit that had a hose going out the window. We would've appreciated some compensation, however this place is very affordable for all the luxury's you get.

Room Tip: The Fitzroy room is an outstanding choice. It's not near the front door and is down the hall ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkerCottage, Owner at Parker Cottage, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thanks Alankar for writing us such a nice review! A couple of inaccuracies, though: we do serve breakfast at any time, only we need notice if you'd like to eat before 8 a.m. This is simply due to the fact that our staff leave home around 5 a.m. to here for 6.15 a.m. and it takes a little while to get a five course breakfast ready! Had we known that you would have liked to have eaten earlier, we would of course have provided whatever you would have liked to eat. Liz and I are always here from 6.30 a.m. and will provide you with a breakfast ourselves, if need be.

Secondly, the air conditioning in your room was only not working for one night of your stay (or at least, you only chose to tell us on the second night) and we immediately substituted it with a unit which, in your own words, worked perfectly. We're not therefore quite sure where the need for compensation arises here. By the third afternoon of your stay, the unit was working again (it was impossible to get the engineer to come out after hours at the time the unit's fault was reported). You did also stay with us in the hottest month of the year.

Thanks again for awarding us five stars: hopefully on your next stay we'll do better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

The very cute entrance, front garden and porch of Parker Cottage, where breakfast is served, is hidden from the street by plants and trees. Yet, when we arrived around noon parking a little up the road, Phil came out to greet us and take our luggage. I still don't know how he knew that it was us as we'd never met before.

The Cottage is full of wonderful impressions, cosy rooms, lots of loving detail, unique and antique furniture and above all a very warm and welcoming atmosphere and service, which makes you feel at home at once.

The place is not cheap but the price is fair and we certainly felt it was money well spent. I do hope too many good reviews won't increase the prices - because, the next time we visit Cape Town we would love to stay at Parker Cottage again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkerCottage, Owner at Parker Cottage, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Glad you appreciated the welcome, guys! We have our own way of making sure we know who are guests are before they get here (in fact, we try to make sure they don't even have to ring the doorbell: we're ready and waiting with a glass of wine in hand (for them, of course, not for us :-))

Granted, you can stay in cheaper places in Cape Town. But then you have to ask yourself why they are cheaper. Often, it's because the staff are on minimum wage (which isn't liveable) or because the quality of the things that matter (the mattresses, the breakfast, the linen) isn't five star standard (and it is at Parker Cottage). We pay all our permanent staff at least twice (even three times) the minimum wage for the industry, and our guest see this back in spades in the service they get here.

You might also be interested to know that we are seriously considering becoming the first not-for-profit hotel in Cape Town, meaning that all surplus revenue goes directly to the people that earned it: our staff and their families. Watch this space.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Wonderful accommodation, highly recommended! Everything is just great...rooms are lovely, breakfast unbelieveable, location is perfect, but first and foremost, the staff made us feel so welcome. Phil, Liz and Lexi - you are awesome! I am so coming back to this place!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Parker Cottage
Cape Town, South Africa
info@parkercottage.co.za
www.parkercottage.co.za

In a world known for its need for speed, Parker Cottage provides an oasis of charming beauty as two gracious hosts, Liz Sayigh and Phil Rendel, welcome you to their guest house at the hour that suits your needs.

Not only will you have a comfortable room and bed in which to rest, you’ll also be enamored by the old charm that Liz and Phil have preserved and enhanced. Breakfast is elegance itself either on the front gallery or in the lower gardens full of large hibiscus. This is only the setting for a tempting breakfast featuring a generous menu which they will readily adapt to your personal needs. The special of the day on our last morning consisted of poached eggs on English muffin with smoked salmon on top.

Just a few blocks away, your taste buds for lunch or dinner will be satisfied at a variety of eateries and restaurants that also have distinctive moods.

The strongest feature of Parker Cottage remains the genuine pleasure and graciousness of the Liz, Phil and their devoted staff as they try to make your stay, comfortable and enjoyable.

Their card states:

Parker House
where opulent heritage hospitality doesn’t cost the earth.

They are true to their word.


Bob & Mollie, Canada

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkerCottage, Owner at Parker Cottage, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Bob and Mollie, thank you most sincerely. You've described what we're trying to do at Parker Cottage to a T. The idea here is to keep things slow, relaxed and informal but at the same time, luxurious and affordable. We will leave the hip and flash to the other areas of Cape Town and 'keep it real', 1895-style at Parker!

The challenge of having a heritage building and trying to avoid too many modern trappings in the rooms is that you run the risk of becoming dowdy and irrelevant to the modern traveler. So many people told us before we started 'You must have flat screen TVs in the rooms' or 'You must have iPod docking stations'. Well, we have neither, and so far, their absence has been a major selling point, particularly for people like yourselves who appreciate the finer things in life. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Parker Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parker Cottage

Address: 3 Carstens Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Parker Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Parker Cottage! We’re a little different than the usual hotel or guesthouse experience. Rather than being just a conventional ‘place to sleep’, we offer a very much unplugged, urban retreat right in the creative heart of Cape Town. So although we offer free and fast internet, we don't do minibars, piped music or even reception desks. Think of us like a country house in the middle of the city. We’re the kind of place where you can rediscover the art of conversation, endless breakfasts and total serenity. Parker is a social place too: our legendary free wine evenings occur at least twice a week and there’s no ‘cut off’ time for our gourmet breakfasts either. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Parker Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parker Cottage Hotel Cape Town Central
Parker Cottage Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parker Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.