We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Cape Town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parker Cottage

Save Saved
You added Parker Cottage to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Parker Cottage
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   3 Carstens Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (City Bowl)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book direct and save!
Bath
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Cape Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

From the moment we arrived at Parker Cottage, Phil make us feel at home. The Cottage is beautifully presented, our room was lovely. Phil was the perfect host giving us plenty of information about the area, suggesting good places to eat, introducing all the guests to each other at the wine evening which was immense fun and of course making us laugh! Breakfasts were incredible, we never did manage all 5 courses!! A special thanks to Donovan who never gave up in his quest to find that elusive kettle for me. Everyone at Parker Cottage was so friendly and couldn't do enough for us, it was a fantastic start to our 2 week holiday in South Africa. The only disappointment I had was not meeting the Parker Poodle!! We will most definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    600
    36
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
87
393
31
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Our *wonderful* travel agent, Janine Krook, of Inspired 2 Explore, recommended Parker Cottage for our stay in Cape Town. My husband and I were looking for accommodations that were within convenient and safe walking distance to area restaurants and sights, as we really enjoy walking around the cities we visit.

Parker Cottage was the perfect recommendation for us. The entire staff (including the owners, Phil and Liz, of course) are very welcoming and hospitable. Upon arrival, Phil offered us tea and discussed all of the different activities we could do while in Cape Town. They also have an extensive list of restaurants available that they've personally tried and recommended. Phil and Liz are more than happy to book activities, tours, and restaurant reservations, which I didn't realize before our stay. I would definitely recommend taking advantage of their help with those bookings. Many things can be booked the same day, and the venues will call Parker Cottage to confirm, and you will receive a little note on your door notifying you of the confirmation. Side note - if you really want to go on a Robben Island tour, I believe those do fill up quickly and should be booked well in advance to secure your spot. Also note, though, that inclement weather and technical issues with their boats often lead to cancellations of the Robben Island tours. I wouldn't recommend booking cable car tickets up/down Table Mountain more than a day in advance, either, in case the weather prevents the cable cars from running.

Now, back to our Parker Cottage review! Breakfast each morning was wonderful and filling. Our typical breakfasts at home consist of cereal or yogurt and granola, and Parker Cottage breakfasts are more like an entire brunch. The ladies who cook and serve breakfast are very friendly and really seem to enjoy their work. They are eager to hear what your plans for the day are, and what you enjoyed doing the day before. Again, very hospitable and friendly service. I really believe that employee satisfaction leads to great customer service... It's clear that the entire staff at Parker Cottage ENJOY working for Phil and Liz, and I am certain that this contributes to Parker Cottage's success.

We loved having the option of grabbing a drink from the kitchen and just writing down our name/room number so that we could pay by beverage once we checked out. Tea, coffee, and cookies are all complimentary! Phil and Liz also host a wine tasting party every few days, which we particularly enjoyed. One of our favorite memories of Parker Cottage was meeting and getting to know all of the other guests. We really, truly enjoyed speaking with everyone and hearing about where they were from, where they had visited prior to Cape Town, and where they were heading after. We met guests from the Netherlands, Australia, England, and the United States. Everyone had interesting stories of their travels within Africa! Visiting Africa is really unlike any other place on Earth, and whenever you meet someone who's traveled within Africa, you feel as though you have an immediate connection with them, and everyone staying at Parker Cottage was a perfect example of that.

I wanted to note that Parker Cottage offers laundry service at a very reasonable rate per day (not per item being laundered) - I don't think I knew it was an option prior to our trip.

I honestly have nothing negative to say about our stay at Parker Cottage. The "cozy" room we stayed in was perfect for our needs and very comfortable. Phil and Liz genuinely want to make your stay the best, most comfortable, most convenient, and most enjoyable it can possibly be. We hope to return to Cape Town in the future, and as long as Phil and Liz are still running Parker Cottage, we wouldn't think of staying anywhere else!

Some final Cape Town recommendations/notes: We really enjoyed our hike up Lion's Head with Dominic, The Fynbos Guy (who Janine, our travel agent, recommended). The morning we were to climb Table Mountain with Dominic, he let us know that the weather was going to be pretty awful on the way up (very, very cold and windy), so he offered a few options, one of which was the hike up Lion's Head. It was fabulous and I do recommend going with a guide (Dominic is great!) if you are not an experienced hiker (there are some wrong turns that lead to extremely steep and dangerous paths, which Dominic will be sure to guide you away from, etc.). After our hike that morning, we went for afternoon tea at the Mount Nelson hotel, which was fantastic! It's a true feast and it's a must-do for anyone who enjoys that sort of thing. Finally, our favorite dinner was at a place, within walking distance from Parker Cottage, called The Jackal and Hide. The food was delicious and very interesting/different from your typical restaurant. We really did not have bad food anywhere in Cape Town, but The Jackal and Hide offered the most inventive of all the dishes we enjoyed in the city.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkerCottage, Owner at Parker Cottage, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Hi Christine! Thanks for this veritable essay on Parker Cottage and your Cape Town trip: it's great to know that your expectations in terms of our service were surpassed. It's also particularly nice of you to tell readers of this page how much you enjoyed Babalwa, Thandeka and Olga's service here. We've got a strong social responsibility focus at Parker Cottage, which means that we pay all our permanent staff at least twice the minimum wage for the industry and we guarantee full pay for all 12 months, which in a seasonal location like Cape Town is not something most hotels and B&Bs do.

Also nice to know you enjoyed the wine evenings. These are so popular here, we've even had locals from Cape Town coming to join in!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Everything about Parker Cottage is excellent: well located, a period house by a famous architect, tasteful furnishing, spacious and well-appointed rooms, an outstanding breakfast, impeccable service, and the advice of owner Phil surpasses that of any concierge. Highly recommended without reservation!

Room Tip: Room number ten (as I recall) is the largest, with a small private enclosed patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkerCottage, Owner at Parker Cottage, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Compliments indeed! Particularly head-swelling was the mention of my (Phil's) knowledge of the town being better than that of a concierge. We spend perhaps a little too much time testing, trying out, visiting and generally enjoying Cape Town and we pass on all the hits and all the misses to our guests - that way, their holiday should be perfect! Many thanks for letting us know that you enjoyed yourselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Fantastic accommodation in a brilliant location - can't fault it. It really is a taste of decadence at an affordable price. Phil is a superb host with lots of suggestions for making the most of your time in Cape Town and surrounds. Staff are very friendly - we even learnt a few words of Xhosa in our short stay thanks to Thandeki's perseverance. Food generally in South Africa is brilliant but I have to say the breakfast at Parker's was one of the best we had - particularly liked the option of the special each day. Allow time to enjoy the accommodation it's a very chilled environment to be in. Thank you. Tina & Simon

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkerCottage, Owner at Parker Cottage, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
So pleased you enjoyed Parker, Tina and Simon! Thandeka will not give up on anyone who shows the faintest interest in isiXhosa. It's a beautiful, ancient language which isn't given the attention it deserves, so thanks for making the effort, really. Loved your turn of phrase 'a taste of decadence at an affordable price'. Most generous of you to say so!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We have just spent 3 nights at Parker Cottage and cannot find words to describe the fantastic time we had. Within an hour of arriving, Phil, who cannot do enough for you, knew exactly what we liked and what we wanted to see he advised us how to do it, in the limited time we had, and had our tickets printed for our first stop at Table Mountain. All of the staff are a credit to Phil and Liz, friendly and helpful. The five course breakfasts are out of the world, with no set time to dine, you must try the days special. We were lucky to attend one of Phil's infamous wine evenings where we both tasted excellent wine and chatted to other guests. Phil and Liz have put together a list of recommended restaurants, many within walking distance of the hotel, it was impossible to try them all but those we managed we were not disappointed with, Phil will even book your table and provide you with directions. If you fancy and tea, coffee, glass wine or beer in the evening you help yourself, tea/coffee free and you write down on a piece of paper if you have had alcohol, how many places would trust you to do that, never mind have access to the kitchen. Parker Cottage was recommended to us by an Agency in Port Elizabeth, we are so pleased to have found it, you would strggle to get the service and personal touch we received in a five star hotel. We look forward to returning one day. Thank You Phil and Staff. Barry & Barry

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkerCottage, Owner at Parker Cottage, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thanks so much for this review, Barry and Brenda! Quite a thing to be told that we surpass the service of some five star hotels! The point of staying at Parker Cottage is that the administration of your holiday is taken care of, even if you've already prebooked a lot of things. You're here to enjoy yourselves, not worry about buying tickets, hiring a car, etc. Leave that to us! We'll see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandton, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We are so pleased that we have discovered Parker Cottage - a warm and welcoming home from home in Cape Town. Phil and Liz's beautiful Guest House is very conveniently situated in a quiet neighbourhood with quick and easy access to great restaurants, shops and sightseeing attractions. From the cheery greeting on the blackboard when we arrived, to our early morning departure, Phil and his friendly staff went out of their way to make us feel at home and to meet our every need. This included finding someone to repair a tyre puncture on a Sunday ............over the Heritage Day long weekend! It seems that nothing is too much trouble for Phil and his smily, helpful team at Parker Cottage. Our Nguni room was beautiful and we so enjoyed the warm, comfortable accommodation. Waking up to those delicious breakfasts was also a very special treat and it was fun meeting and chatting to the international guests at breakfast too. Thank you to all at Parker Cottage for a relaxing stay. We hope to see you again soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkerCottage, Owner at Parker Cottage, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Thanks so much Ashley S! Yes, tfinding a place to repair a tyre on a Sunday , over a public holiday weekend, was interesting, wasn't it? The point of staying at Parker Cottage is that even though we're just a B&B, the standard of service is supposed to be beyond what you'd expect of a five star hotel. So when you put us to the test on that one, it looks like we got it right. It was great to see you: don't leave your sons without a visit for too long now!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

My wife and I and another friend spent 4 nights in September 2012 at Parker Cottage. What a fantastic experience. The host Phill and all his staff made us feel at home right from the start. Elegant rooms with all facilities i9n a very quiet location. Safe car parking in the street outside the cottage. Separate lounge rooms with comfortable furniture provide the perfect place for wind down drinks at the end of the day. Phil helped us in so many ways with recommendations for restaurants, things to do in Cape Town and further afield. Organised Airport pickup, tickets for Table Mountain etc. The cottage is a 5 minute walk to numerous restaurants, supermarket, shops and a 15 minute walk to town central. Walk to the end of the street and look right for the most spectacular view of Table Mount.
Breakfast always presented a daily special and was most sumptuous. You get smiles and warm greetings from all the staff. If you feel like eating in you have the run of the dining room and the staff will set up a table.
This is one of the best B&Bs in which we have stayed.

Room Tip: All rooms were lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Parker Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parker Cottage

Address: 3 Carstens Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl , Tamboerskloof
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Parker Cottage 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Parker Cottage! We’re a little different than the usual hotel or guesthouse experience. Rather than being just a conventional ‘place to sleep’, we offer a very much unplugged, urban retreat right in the creative heart of Cape Town. So although we offer free and fast internet, we don't do minibars, piped music or even reception desks. Think of us like a country house in the middle of the city. We’re the kind of place where you can rediscover the art of conversation, endless breakfasts and total serenity. Parker is a social place too: our legendary free wine evenings occur at least twice a week and there’s no ‘cut off’ time for our gourmet breakfasts either. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Parker Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parker Cottage Hotel Cape Town Central
Parker Cottage Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parker Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.