We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The PortsWood

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The PortsWood to your Saves list
The PortsWood
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PortsWood Road, PortsWood Square | V&A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8002, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing location and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The Portswood is perfectly situated in the V&A waterfront, few steps away is the food market, crafts market, Long street, and the office for "hop on hop off bus". The area is vibrant and fun, you wont be disappointed. During our stay the hotel made sure our every needs were met down to providing complimentary wine upon our arrival as we recently got engaged. The interior is very modern and comfortable. Would recommend it to anyone who wishes to spend a few days in Cape Town.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    139
    45
    18
    4
See reviews for
29
130
28
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

This wasn't our original booking but we are so glad our booking was changed to the Portswood. We arrived early morning from UK and were met at the airport by an excellent driver, at additional cost, but well worth it. Arriving at hotel around 9 am we were able to check in offered coffee and before long called to make our way to our room. Our stay end of August 2013 for 5 nights was excellent through out. All the staff were a credit to the company in their welcome, friendly attitude and excellent service with a polite and courteous response to everything. The hotel is but a few minutes walk to the V & A mall and waterfront including city sightseeing hop on and off bus which will take you to all the best sights and more. Thoroughly recommend this hotel we stayed room 410, roomy very comfortable bed very clean and also a view of Table Mountain.

Room Tip: We liked our room 410 view of Table Mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed at the Portswood during the off-season in August. My husband and I love Autumn, so the weather was perfect for us (despite some rainy days). Rainy days on vacation don't bother me!

In terms of the room, we stayed in one of the suites. The furniture was dated and rickety, but we weren't in the room that much, so it didn't really bother us. The shower door in the bathroom is strange in that it doesn't cover the entire span of the space. The glass door stops about halfway. I had a problem with water dripping between the crease in the glass doors, and piling on the floor. Ended up having to hang a towel on the glass door in order to absorb the water so it didn't fall on the floor. Irritating.

The maid also ended up throwing out one of my pill containers, which was quite irritating, as I bought it specifically for the vacation in order to bring my pills with me.

The staff in the restaurant was wonderful! The staff at the front desk (with the exception of the lovely woman who was very pregnant - how on earth does she stand at reception all day?!) were not as welcoming as they could be, and one was downright rude. The doormen were lovely as well.

Overall, there were some aspects that could certainly improve, but we would have stayed longer. The location to V & A was great.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

The hotel is rated as a 4 Star hotel, but I would give it a 3+ as it is a bit dated, but still very good. The reception and restaurant are big enough for the hotel and there is a nice outside area to have your meals near the pool area. Food in the restaurant was good, but you have so many choices just 2 minutes walk away that this shouldn't be a factor to choose this hotel.
Obviously the big advantage of the hotel is that it's right at the V&A waterfront and you don't have to drive anywhere at night to find good restaurants. The V&A caters for all budgets and there are no problems to find some good, but inexpensive meals. It's also nice to do some shopping there, have lunch and do the activities that are on offer there. You can easily spend a whole day there to entertain yourself, but still use it as a great base to explore Cape Town.

The rooms are a nice size, well equipped and spacious enough to have a baby cot in the room without the room being cramped. The rooms don't have much of a view, but but then again you won't spend much time there in any case.
The staff were brilliant and very, very helpful! We were there with a 4 month old child and my parents. My father is in a wheel chair at the moment and the staff went out of their way to help us in any way they could. The baby cot they put in the room for us even got turn down service, which was a nice touch. The rooms were clean and absolutely no complaints about this.
The bathrooms are a bit smaller and not so much to my liking. They are typical Legacy Hotel bathrooms, which they use is lots of their hotels in SA and Namibia. They work, but could be better.
Overall the hotel is a good choice if you want to be central in Cape Town and near the waterfront.
parking is also not a problem as they have dedicated parking spaces in the parking garage under the hotel. Sadly the parking isn't free and costs R75.00 per day, which isn't cheap.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neuf-Brisach, France
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
134 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed from 1 to 4 Aug 2013 again for three nights in this nice hotel. Reservation simple and working out perfect referring to my special requirements... Check-in friendly and fast, meeting all my special needs. The room (401) spacious, clean, well maintained and with bright view to the sea/harbour and Table Mountain as well. The breakfast offers big choice on high level quality, the service there as everywhere (Joseph!) very friendly. The location of the hotel is perfect - just crossing a smaller road to enter the waterfront with all the shops, restaurants etc. Will got to this place again as soon as possible. Thank you very much to all of the staff and management!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

It's strategically located and walking distance to Victoria & Alfred Waterfront. Also near to the starting point for the hop on hop off bus ride. Stayed in room 415 decent size room with double bed. Breakfast is not great as the cafe don't have toast bread or omelette as basic breakfast deal that comes with the room instead it's chargeable. Front desk staff was helpful.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zamboanga City, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Pros
- Location is great with the shopping area is just 3 min, away.
- Good Service.
- Good quality breakfast.
- Free wifi speed is good (300 mb free)
- Clean Rooms.

Cons (needs to upgrade room)
- Room has only two outlet and a bit loose you can request for a adapter.
- Bathroom is small and shower temp is a bit hard to operate. (shower area was leaking in our case)
- They don't provide you complimentary dental kits.
- Breakfast menu doesn't change except for 1 or 2 dishes.
Verdict: If you are only looking for a nice place to stay then this is great otherwise if you are going to spend a lot of time in the Hotel then this is not good as it is small and doesn't have a great view unlike the other hotels nearby which is fronting the port.

Room Tip: -You can leave a note in your room and they usually comply upon room service. -Request for a room t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The PortsWood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The PortsWood

Address: PortsWood Road, PortsWood Square | V&A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8002, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#53 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#53 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The PortsWood 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your The PortsWood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Portswood Hotel Cape Town Central
Portswood Hotel Cape Town
Portswood Cape Town
The PortsWood Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The PortsWood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.