We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and not up to standard” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cape Milner

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Cape Milner to your Saves list
Cape Milner
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2a Milner Road | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Overpriced and not up to standard”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

I used to stay in the Cape Milner hotel every year on trips to Cape Town. Every year it gets more and more expensive and the hotel itself it getting more and more run down. I asked in advance for the room I normally stay in only to arrive and be told it's not available. Had I known this I would have chosen another hotel. The bathroom was dirty the hanging lamps were brown with dust and the towel rung was broken off the wall. For €150 per night I could find a beautiful hotel in Europe for the same price. Ciao and goodbye Cape Milner

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    49
    16
    10
    2
See reviews for
13
41
14
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Read review "Worst Travel experience of my life" dated November 15th, 2012. We where there in January of 2012 and was robbed as well! Management said that they would review their tapes off their "state of the art security camera systems" but came back an hour later and said that the tapes were to dark to see anyone. Cops were worthless as well. No question in my mind that it was someone on staff. Being from Las Vegas I accepted that robbery as something that happens. I was told by the General Manager to send him the receipts etc. of the things that were stolen and his insurance would cover it. Sent numerous e-mails and no response. Never received a dime. s far as I am concerned, if Management are theives than the staff must be as well!

By the way....the pool is not very big, and they let locals use it until a certain time as long as they drink or eat. It is up to you after the time limit, to ask for the few chairs available. You won't find that on their website!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Friendly staff and good location for exploring Cape Town, especially for getting to Camps Bay by car. However, the service at breakfast left a lot to be desired, one had to ask for cutlery, tea, coffee etc. Our room was spacious with great views of Table Mountain.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed in the Cape Milner a good while back in 2009 so we are a little late with our review but better late than never!! From start to finish we could not fault this gem of a hotel. The view of Table Mountain is breathtaking! The staff were so nice and very helpful. We arrived about 9.30am in the morning which was well before check in and our room was ready and after nearly 24 hours travelling that was music to our ears. As it was a fine clear day we were advised to visit table mountain as soon as we could as the weather forecast wasn't great for the rest of our stay. The hotel concierge Papa G brought us up and collected us after so we didn't have to use a taxi. I am not sure if he is still there but I really have to commend Papa G, as he was so helpful to us during our stay as were all the other staff at the Cape Milner.
If we are ever lucky enough to return to Capetown, we will be staying in the Cape Milner again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed for one evening and enjoyed the view on Table Mountain. The room was good, did not enjoy the vacuum cleaning in the Foyer before 8 on a Sunday morning. The staff was great and very friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I would have given 5 stars but I had to ask 3 times for the air con to be fixed. Apart form this the hotel is great. Good bar/pool area, lovely new rooms, good breakfast and great staff. Would defiantly use again.

Room Tip: Book a superior room as they are at the back of the hotel and are very new.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langebaan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We were able to check in a little earlier than usual and met with a warm welcoming smile from Receptionist... then introduced to the GM who even walked us up to the Executive Suite... what luxury! Beautiful open plan large room with clever divider in the form of a swiveling TV . Stunning bathroom with a huge bath which looked very inviting after a long trip. Views of Table Mountain were exquisite and it was great being able to watch the locals go about their daily business from the balcony. Great Magic in the Air which Cape Town is famous for. Staff were courteous and went out of their way to help... Karen, Food and Bev Manager even printed a map of a couple of places we inquired about which saved us a lot of time. One night was all we had time for, but it was most enjoyable and would def recommend this hotel for families as well as business stay. Tracey I

Room Tip: balcony overlooking Table Mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cape Milner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Milner

Address: 2a Milner Road | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#45 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cape Milner 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cradled beneath the majestic Table Mountain in Cape Town's trendy suburb of Tamboerskloof lies the Cape Milner. Extensively refurbished, this exquisite hotel offers a sophisticated and contemporary ambience with the highest standards in style and luxury. All rooms have air-conditioning, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities, television (selected satellite programs), direct dial telephones, mini bar fridge - stocked on request only, safes and hairdryers. Children 0-11 years stay complimentary - room only - when sharing with a minimum of one full paying adult. A maximum of one child can be accommodated with two parents in a Luxury room only. Cots are available on request. The Hotel is ideally situated from which to explore the centre of Cape Town and is a 5 minute walk to an array of restaurants and entertainment. Transfers from the airport can be arranged upon request and charged to your account. Complimentary shuttle within an 8km radius of the Hotel on request includes the V&A Waterfront, Table Mountain, Cape Town CBD and a large amount of local attractions including museums and places of interest. Shuttle available during week days only from 08h00 and 17h00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Cape Milner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Milner Hotel Cape Town Central
Cape Town Milner
Hotel Cape Town
Cape Milner Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape Milner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.