We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Functional at good location ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront to your Saves list
City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Dock and Alfred Roads | P O Box 6025, Roggebaa, Cape Town Central 8012, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Linkoping, Sweden
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Functional at good location ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Within walking distance from the waterfront the hotel has a pretty good location. It is in good condition with good service and a great breakfast.

It's one of those places that just delivers what you expect, not more or less, so it is hard to write tripit 's required 200 words about it. ;-)

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thanks for your comments - we hope to welcome you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    133
    56
    6
    6
See reviews for
36
66
21
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

It's a City Lodge, and as City Lodges go this one is pretty decent. You don't book City Lodge hotels for their elegance, as they tend to be convenience hotels, so on a convenience score card it hits the top star. For short stays in Cape Town the V&A is a short walk from the hotel, and CBD is equally close. If you are attending an event at the ICC this property will certainly be a cheaper alternative to the Southern Suns / Westin at the ICC. The rooms have everything that you need, and the restaurant serves a decent meal. This hotel does exactly what it's meant to though. It gives you a place to sleep for an overnight stay in Cape Town. I wouldn't necessarily opt for it when going on holiday, but for a quick Rugby weekend, or a business stay over it is perfect.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
We're so glad you found our hotel affordable and convenient - we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales, U.K.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This was our first hotel of a two week visit to South Africa and it was a great base to start from. The check-in was swift and uncomplicated. We had a third floor loft room on a 2 for 3 deal. Great room and very spacious. Everything you would expect of a 4* with a huge comfy bed. We were on a B&B basis, and their breakfast was superb, hats off really great, and a fantastic view of Table Mountain whilst you enjoy it. As can be seen from the title, the location is spot on, we were where you need to be. There are plenty of restaurant's right on the doorstep. The area is very safe at night, a big plus. We had a car delivered here and the parking was taken care of at no charge. Great staff and did I mention the location, highly recommend.

Room Tip: Don't be put off by the loft rooms on the 3rd floor they are very good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
We're chuffed you enjoyed your stay and our great location - hope to welcome you again in the not too distant future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

The service at this conveniently located hotel was better than several 5 star hotels that I have stayed in on the Waterfront. The rooms were extremely clean and a good size and the bed was comfortable. I had to leave two days earlier due to an emergency and Roxanne dealt very professionally with my query on cancelling at short notice. I received my refund a few days after check-out and was not charged for canceled days. I also received a good discount when I booked online using a local store loyalty card ("Clicks"). Management is definitely doing something right. No prizes for guessing where I'll be staying on future trips. This is one of those gems that you don't want to share for fear that it will be full when you book. :>) Keep up the good service also the baggage handler. BTW, I found that the short walk between the Waterfront proper and the hotel was safe at all hours.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thanks so much for your kind comments - we're chuffed you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Location of this hotel is perfect. Value for money and great service standards

All the City Lodge group hotels are good value for money, great locations and great staff.

Their website is easy to use and they got great specials

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

This is a nice hotel in one of the pretty areas of Cape Town (as I understood it from my local guide). I got a room with a great view of Table Mountain (which unfortunately was under the clouds for most of my stay) as well as the boats harbored in the quay. The room was luxurious and very quiet despite being near a dock where a large ship was being repaired with all the accompanying noise. It's also a short walk away from a mall with lots of shopping and a variety of restaurants as well as a few markets and also the aquarium. The historical area of Cape Town is also short taxi-ride away. I felt absolutely safe walking around the area with plenty of people milling about even late at night. The included breakfast was sumptuous and the staff very courteous and responsive. All in all, I had a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of Table Mountain which also faces away from the busy front of the small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thanks for your review - we're glad you enjoyed your stay, sorry that there was cloud over the mountain, but that's one of the few things we can't arrange for our guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Hotel itself is ok - good size rooms and comfortable and ok value for money. The service however is excellent and the food in the restaurant is fabulous. The steak was so good I have never tasted anything better anywhere, Its was melt in your mouth fabulous. The location is great and close to everything.

We will be back in December its a great little hotel but Im going just for the steak :-)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront

Address: Cnr Dock and Alfred Roads | P O Box 6025, Roggebaa, Cape Town Central 8012, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A centrally located hotel at the gateway to the vibrant and dynamic V and A Waterfront, within walking distance of Cape Town’s CBD, close to the N2 motorway and 15 minutes from the international airport. A nautical theme runs through the hotel and a spa-pool is available for guests to relax in the warm Cape weather. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Lodge v And a Waterfront
City Lodge v&a Waterfront Hotel Cape Town Central
City Hotel Cape Town
City Hotel v a Waterfront
City Lodge Waterfront Cape Town
City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.