We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay in Cape Town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brenwin Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Brenwin Guest House to your Saves list
Brenwin Guest House
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   P.O.Box 654 | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8051, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #78 of 149 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Wonderful place to stay in Cape Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I loved staying here. The room rates were incredibly good, and the room itself was very expansive, clean and well-furnished.

Pam, the manager, could not have been more helpful to me and my friend while we were there, giving us all kinds of tips and advice on the locality, as well as plenty of suggestions for things to do. It's also just a 10 mins walk from the Waterfront, where lots of stuff happens, although taxis are super cheap in Cape Town, so it's really not hard to get around.

It has nice pool area with a tropical feel, and the included breakfast was also delicious. Overall, this was an excellent choice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    37
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
16
31
10
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This is a very clean comfortable guesthouse located 2 minutes from the Main Street & 6 minutes walk from the waterfront. The staff are friendly & helpful. The breakfast is excellent.
It is up the hill from the main road which means it is quiet at night.
Outside the room there a table & chairs where you can relax.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaborone, Botswana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We arrived at Brenwin House on 9th March, ready for the Argus Cycle Race on 10th. We booked late, and perhaps this reflected in the room we were given, as the guest house was full with cyclists ! Our room was out at the back of the guest house, past the laundry and other staff rooms. In the courtyard there were two rooms downstairs and 2 upstairs each with table and 2 chairs outside. There was a dirty ashtray on the table full of somebody else's cigarette butts ! We had room 9, one of the downstairs rooms. The room was very small, it had a double bed, and a dirty looking cane sofa at the end of the bed which didn't give much room to walk around. The ensuite was not clean. It consisted of a shower, toilet and sink. The floor was dirty with other people's hair. There was no bath mat, and the only bin in the room was a small bin in the bathroom. There was a wardrobe which smelt very musty, and a safe inside it. Also a small dressing table with mirror and a hairdryer. I had breakfast in the restaurant, which was less than adequate. I chose NOT to have a cooked breakfast, and opted for some cereal, the milk tasted sour. It was a buffet style breakfast. The staff in the restaurant were friendly and helpful. The man at reception was helpful when we arrived and as our room wasn't ready (it was being cleaned (or not !!!), we were able to unload our car and leave it in his office. When we checked out, however and mentioned that we thought it was overpriced for the size of the room and there was no excuse for dirtiness, he commented that good job we weren't in room ten as that was even smaller !! he did however give us a 10% discount. Plus points are it is in a great location for the finish of the Argus (the reason we stayed there), and also only a ten minute walk (downhill) to the Waterfront, but (uphill on the way back). This was the most expensive guest house we stayed in all week (probably due to location) but sadly, the most disappointing and definitely NOT good value for money ! I think we will look elsewhere for accommodation for next year's Argus.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I stayed at the guesthouse in February and was very pleasantly surprised by this gem.
It's very close to the Waterfront and the City in fact walking distance.
The rooms were very clean and had all the amenities like a safe, DSTV, fridge, and most
important very confortable beds. The homemade breakfast was outstanding.
We got lots of tips about restaurants and sightseeing tours. The staff were very helpful.
I would recommend Brenwin to anyone coming to Cape Town as a homebase.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the mainhouse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed at this hotel during the 2010 worldcup and it was perfect for us, we walked five minutes to the matches, there was good food real close,the shopping area was right down the street, the hotel itself was clean, quite,comfortable, just a great place to stay the owners who were German were very lovely people and very helpful! when we return to Capetown we will also return to the Brenwin a overall great experiance!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights in October 2012 and found it very convenient. Situated in Green Point, a safe 15 minute walk to V & A Waterfront(wouldn't want to walk it in the dark). The room was spacious and clean, and breakfast well presented . Staff very helpful but other than the security guard there is no-one around after 6.30p.m, although they are contactable by phone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed at the Brenwin for Five nights at the beginning of July 2012. Our first room was very spacious with furniture to match the period of this old Port Captains House, very nice but with small but adequate shower room. Our Daughter and her Partner arrived the following day and we then moved to a room next to theirs, again this was very spacious with a modern shower room that was bigger than our bedroom at home :).
The living room area was very comfortable and the breakfast room very appealling with a hearty breakfast to match - obviously it wasn't the right time of year to use the pool but it did look very inviting, all in all we had a lovely stay and thanks to Hank the very laid back and friendly host for being so helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Brenwin Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brenwin Guest House

Address: P.O.Box 654 | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8051, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Brenwin Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Brenwin Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brenwin Hotel Cape Town
Brenwin Guest House Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brenwin Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.