We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge

Save Saved
You added Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Portswood Road | Victoria and Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 102 hotels in Cape Town Central
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Exceptional Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

This was a perfect hotel in every way. Great location, amazing rooms, food was first class and the staff were exceptional. Highly recommended and they were able to house our party of 86 fantastically well. The best hotel I have stayed at in Cape Town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    94
    197
    60
    28
    19
See reviews for
64
142
30
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chandlers Ford
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This hotel was part of an old jail dating back to the 1600. It now forms part of Cape Town university. The rooms have been modernised and the furnishings are new. The bathroom consists of a wet room with a separate toilet.

This hotel is only five minute walk from The Water Front and across the road you will find The Aquarium which is well worth a visit. Also here you will find the start of The City Bus Tour cost 150 Rand. (£10.75) with 18 stops that you can get on and off at. The City Tour will take you along the coast via Camps Bay. Well worth it.

Back to the Hotel, there's are two restaurants here the food is very good. Don't forget to ask for your discount card at reception this will entitle you to a discount on food eaten here. There was two of us and we got 50% off our food bill. So two main courses, followed by two deserts and two Gin and Tonics and two beers came to £15.00.

Breakfast is a fantastic array of fresh fruit, cereals and many cooked items. Muffins and various pastries along side four flavours of yogurt.

The staff are very helpful and provided an umbrella when it rained. Table Mountain can be seen from here although it is closed for maintainence from end of July through to the end of August.

The building features some of the old cell doors and door frames.

This is a great place to stay and being so close to everything I would truly recommend it.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Hotel rooms are new, modern, charming and super clean.
The hotel is located on walking distance (10 min) to the breakwater complex and have parking included on the rate.
The staff is efficient and friendly.
They have breakfast available to the hotel but I preferred to take it on the markets on the waterfront.
It is a great value for money when comparing the options around.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strand, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We were travelling into Cape Town for a show at the Artscape Theatre last weekend. I wasn't keen on driving back home after 22h30 so decided to book my husband and myself into the Breakwater Lodge for the night and start the drive home safely next morning.
Naturally there isn't much one can gather about a place in just a one night stay (especially where most of your time is spent out elsewhere), but I really do have to commend the PH Breakwater Lodge on it's wonderfully friendly staff. What an absolute pleasure to be welcomed with such smiles and genuine open friendliness. In a world where customer service is severely lacking these days, it was lovely to see. The staff were not only friendly, but also helpful and well informed.
As for the room - although small, it was extremely comfortable and clean. I wouldn't hesitate to go back again should I require a room in the future!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Stayed there back in November 2012 in my first ever visit to Cape Town... My stay at the Protea Breakwater Lodge was simply excellent, the room was very spacious and very well lit with natural light (that's something I really appreciate). It had a sofa and a small desk in addition to the bed... Bathroom was good and well equipped, room was very clean and had modern furnishings with a flat screen TV...

Hotel location is excellent as well, walking distance from the V&A waterfront which has lots of restaurants, a shopping mall, access to take boat trips, an aquarium, and the boat to Robben island... Area was safe to walk alone without any issues... Would definitely consider staying there again... Rate was very good too...

Tried the breakfast buffet (charged separately) which serves the university campus which is kind of attached to the hotel, food was good in terms of variety and quality as well... Was pretty much fir for purpose...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narvik, Norway
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed there for two periods in mars 2013, in our visit to South Africa.
The hotel has a very good location, next to the V&A Waterfront, which is a nice and safe area with many restaurants, shops and activities. Also for travelling to Robben Island, and almost highway to the airport. Interesting hotel building, which is an old prison re-builded as hotel, and linked with the University of Cape Town. Efficient and friendly staff. Very good buffet breakfast.
The rooms are compact, clean and comfortable. We enjoyd our stay.

We also stayed one night in Protea Hotel Umhlanga, Umhlanga Rocks, Durban. Ok, but nothing more. Very good buffet breakfast. Efficient and friendly staff.

Room Tip: Get a room in the receptionbuilding. They have view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

First time at Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge and was very pleased with my stay! Location is great and within walking distance to everything (10 minutes tops) at the V&A Waterfront including Nelson Mandela Gateway to Robben Island, restaurants, shopping, and more. Two Oceans Aquarium is directly across the street. Operating on the grounds of Univ of Cape Town's Graduate School of Business, PH Breakwater Lodge has a unique history and feel but it doesn't disappoint. Front desk and lobby staff were kind and attentive. Two restaurants are on site, Stonebreakers, which is buffet style, and Time Out Café, which is a la carte. We ate breakfast at Stonebreakers and dinner at Time Out and both were delicious. We stayed in a family-style room which has two bedrooms (one with one large bed and the other with two twins) and bathroom. Bathroom setup was unique with the toilet and sink in one room with a door and a shower and sink (like a wet room) in another but it was just fine that way. The only downside to this was that the wet room doesn't have a vent and had some mold on the ceiling and smelled it as well. It wasn't bothersome enough to complain or change rooms. We had a car and parking was safe and secure; just be aware that the turn into the lot is a bit hidden and only wide enough for one car, so take care when turning in (security is there to guide you out into traffic). Spa services were available but I didn't use them. There are meeting rooms available as well and the hotel is a great value for the location. Overall, I had a great stay and hope to return next year with a group I am leading. Thanks for the great service PH Breakwater!

Room Tip: Take a walk to the Blue Shed which has vendors selling arts, crafts, jewelry, and more!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge

Address: Portswood Road | Victoria and Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#49 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a minute away from restaurants, theatres and shops, the Breakwater Lodge, one of the finest hotels operated by Protea Hotels, is perfectly positioned in the heart of the famous V&A Waterfront. Neighbouring the city, this hotel lies within easy reach of the best beaches, tourist hotspots and Cape Town International Airport. Once a 19th-century prison, the hotel today provides comfortable and affordable accommodation in Cape Town, a spectacular setting that looks out over the harbour and Table Mountain. Considered to be one of the premier Cape Town hotels, Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge boasts bedrooms ranging from business to family suites. Each is equipped with a 22 inch LCD TV with satellite channels/radio and direct dial telephone and supplied with a welcome refreshment tray. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Agoda, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com and Venere so you can book your Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Breakwater Cape Town Central
Breakwater Hotel Cape Town
The Breakwater Hotel
Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.