We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Table Bay Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Table Bay Hotel to your Saves list
The Table Bay Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Table Bay Hotel | Table Bay Breakwater Blvd Quay 6, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% discount off BAR Rate
Ranked #23 of 104 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Cape Town
1 review
“Beyond good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

As an experience this hotel is next to none The staff are extremely friendly and helpful and the facilities are wonderful. The ambience is grandiose and the views breathtaking. For a romantic get away this is a fantastic experience

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    709
    196
    48
    17
    16
See reviews for
166
402
30
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

A visit to the Table Bay is a full-on experience of the wonder of Cape Town. Table mountain, the harbour and the bay are always hovering in the back-ground, and peeping through your bedroom window. Inside, the magic continues with staff displaying warm Cape Tonian friendliness, all with the utmost professionalism. The rich, warm, nautical decor and old-worldly ambiance add up to a perfect, magical, once-in-a-lifetime experience.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Great location for a hotel but the big issue is that it's too big and the service is not personal. You are treated like a number - no idea how it's a "Leading Hotel", it's the worst one I have been to. Here's a laundry list of our experience:

1. Forgot to pick us up from airport.
2. Sent car: they said 10-15 minutes but waited 45 minutes and sent wrong size car so we had or luggage on our laps.
3. Long queues to check-in.
4. Messed up my breakfast order twice - and in one case totally forgot to deliver.
5. Wifi down half the time.
6. Pillows are cheap and uncomfortable.
7. Huge hotel and dated where you feel like you’re nothing but a number.
8. Room service/service in general is slow - not unusual to wait an hour.
9. Got every order wrong at breakfast buffet and bar.
10. Dirty tables.
11. Ran out of stuff at the bar - like nuts and olives.
12. Concierge useless - sent us to a bar for sundowners that was closed.

Stayed May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo Prefecture, Japan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Table Bay Hotel for 6 nights while we were in town for a wedding. While the location and convenience of the hotel are without question, the service was not worthy of anything near 5 stars. The reception was less than friendly when we checked in and when I asked if they could make change so that we could tip the maids, bell hops, etc they just gave us a curt "no" without eye contact as though it was a ridiculous request.

We were given the Luxury Family Room which has a king size bed and a pull out sofa bed. We had to call down almost every single night to have them make the sofa bed for our kids and typically it was after 9pm.

The hotel seems quite dated and I suppose it adds to some of it's charm - but I would hope for a shower door that would stay closed while in use so that I didn't have to stand on a sopping wet towel afterwards.

If you are looking for convenience and location this is your hotel. If you are looking for a true 5 star experience I would probably try something like the One&Only just down the road.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This was our second stay at this hotel. The last time was about 7 years ago. We booked here again because I have lusted over their breakfast buffet since then. I was slightly disappointed on my first morning as the fruit table had no passion fruit. A casual mention of this to the bellman in the elevator that night and PRESTO a bowl full of passion fruit appeared on the fruit table the next morning. There were 4 different types of warm meat sausages and 3 different types of good scones. You can figure out how to make an orange sauce from the marmalade for the made to order crepes if you don't like any of the 6 other toppings. There have to be over 100 items of quality food/drink to choose from. It remains in my opinion the best breakfast buffet in the world. No need for lunch or dinner that day. The other restaurant in this beautiful hotel is also delicious. This hotel is one of my favorites in the 5 continents we've visited. It's location is close to all the tourist attractions and has a nice view. Service is superb and the facilities are posh. Rooms are comfortable. However don't have a BMI over 23 if you want to lay down in the tub.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This hotel is lovely, it's beautiful decorated, wonderful location, lots of areas to sit and relax and have a drink. You could not get a better location, you can walk to most places from the hotel!

The room we had was lovely, it was a family room so slightly bigger than most. Lovely bedding, towels and Molton Brown toiletries. The room also had a coffee machine. Nice turn down service every night. Only thing about the room was that there was some glass on the floor after turn down one night, presume a glass was accidentally dropped and not properly cleaned up.

The pool area is beautiful, very comfy sun beds, nice bar area, it is quite small but it was never busy when we went so it was fine.

The concierge was very helpful with booking.
We got complimentary afternoon tea which was delicious, I'd highly recommend it. We had a lovely lady serve us who knew everything about the teas on offer. The bar area is also lovely in the evening and we had a very nice young woman serve us who remembered our orders from the night before!

This hotel is so close to being perfect, it's very frustrating that a few things let it down!
The staff at breakfast weren't as at tentative as the rest of the staff in the hotel or as you would expect from a 5* hotel. Portia though was wonderful, we aimed for a table near her everyday because she was so lovely and helpful! The food and drink choice for breakfast was really good except they don't know what maple syrup is! They have a pancake station and jugs of syrups, including one labeled maple, but it was not which was a little disappointing. The Staff at breakfast also didn't clear your tables very quickly, sometimes you had to ask twice for any extras. One member of staff was using her phone while I was waiting for the juice which isn't really acceptable. Also it would be a nice touch if staff would help you carry your food to your table when you're struggling. Staff don't always give way to you when you're walking past with a plate full of food. It felt like a lot of the breakfast staff were just lingering around chatting and not focusing on clearing tables or helping customers.

Overall a lovely hotel. I'm being super picky here, but for an expensive 5* hotel you should only expect the best! I would recommend staying here. Also it's attached to a shopping mall!!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The hotel is good but not great! We noticed 2 mice running around the terrace area just before some guests came to have dinner on that same table. Staff are not as friendly as Ive experienced at other hotels in Cape Town.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Table Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Table Bay Hotel

Address: Table Bay Hotel | Table Bay Breakwater Blvd Quay 6, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#10 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#22 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Table Bay Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 329
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Between Robben Island and Table Mountain, you’ll discover the famed Table Bay Hotel. Cosmopolitan, gracious and relaxed, The Table Bay is the sum of all that is good about Cape Town. The rooms are inviting and represent the epitome of luxury and comfort. Exceed expectations at this 5-star hotel in South Africa - from the stylish writing desks, to the expansive windows, take in a scene of the harbour or the Atlantic Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your The Table Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Table Bay Cape Town
Table Bay Hotel Cape Town
Hotel Table Bay
The Table Bay Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Table Bay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.