We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Table Bay Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Table Bay Hotel to your Saves list
The Table Bay Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Table Bay Hotel | Table Bay Breakwater Blvd Quay 6, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Top Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

This was our second visit to the hotel, the first being seven years ago. This time we travelled with friends who had never been to Cape Town so I wanted something memorable for them, and boy the hotel did not disappoint. A fantastic location on the waterfront with easy access to everything. The staff were just superb and could not do more for you. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the housekeeping staff were second to none. It was our friends birthday whilst here and so I emailed the hotel before travelling in the hope that they might put something in the room on the day. In fact they put something in the room every day for our five day stay which was exceptional service and further enhanced our friends first experience of South African hospitality. We took afternoon tea on the Sunday, our last day at the hotel, which was fantastic. I would book again without thinking, a perfect start to our holiday.

Room Tip: I have been to the hotel twice and so have experienced both mountain and sea view rooms, both are gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    596
    151
    41
    12
    12
See reviews for
131
333
23
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Me and my wife stayed 3 nights at this hotel last April. The location could not be better: waterfront and in the heart of marina. You can also walk to the city center. The breakfast was probably the best one we had ever. We also had dinner at one of the restaurants. To visit Cape Town we recommend to rent a car. It is not expensive. Finally sail to see the sunset in a boat trip.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Forest National Park, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed for three nights in this 5 star hotel as part of an extended holiday in South Africa. The hotel itself is beautifully appointed. We had an ocean view room to begin with which was very large and well appointed. However, there was noise from carpet replacement on the floor above and we were upgraded to a suite which had views on two sides - Table Mountain and the Waterfront plus the ocean. The suite was huge, very comfortable with a huge bed (excellent quality linen), large walk-in wardrobe plus safe etc. The bathroom was also very large with separate toilet. The toiletries were Molten Brown. We were a long walk from the lift as the room was at the far end of the hotel but that was fine. My only criticism was that we had to phone down each day for mineral water and tea bags which had obviously not been replenished. Also, I did not understand the system for free mineral water and water that you had to pay for - it seemed over-complicated. The hotel is situated in the heart of the Waterfront area with direct access onto the shopping malls. We did not use the pool and sundeck areas because there was so many other things that we wanted to do in Cape Town. The concierge service and Reception staff were excellent. We only ate breakfast at the hotel and did not try the hotel bar or lounge area. However, I must say that the breakfast was probably one of the best I have ever experienced - superb in fact. We had a hire car which was parked for a minimum charge in the hotel carpark. If we visit Cape Town again (and I hope we will because it is a vibrant, wonderful city), we will certainly stay at Table Bay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Table Mountain - waking up in the morning to such an iconic view is breat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a very nice hotel right on the harbor. Many rooms have a view of Table Mountain. Rooms are spacious, bathrooms very nice. The breakfast buffet is amazing. Within walking distance of many restaurants and shopping. Just a great location.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent hotel with views to the famous Table Mountain and walking distance to Water Front with lots of activities, shopping and restaurants. Highly recommended for staying in Cape Town. As well close to beaches - Clifton and Camps Bay by taxi or own rental.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is great for shopping at the V&A Waterfront and for seeing Cape Town. The hotel has a passage way into the shopping mall. The staff were very friendly and courteous.

Our family room was big enough for us and the two kids with a sleeper couch for the children. My son did complain that this was uncomfortable so this could be improved upon in future.

A nice touch that we had was a small balcony which allowed us to enjoy the fresh air. Although we didn't have much of a view of anything as we were on the first floor and the view was blocked by the top of the main building.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is more than amazing , the staff helped us along the time of our stay. The room was amazing. Its always cleaned when we go out. The also helped me to contact and delivered my stuff that I forgot in the other hotel in other city. The breakfast area has all kinds of food you want to have . I've also forgot my necklace the next day when I asked the have gave the security to deliver it to me. The mall is few steps from the hotel , there is an electronic stairs in the hotel that takes you directly to the mall. The entrance to the lifts that takes you to the room has security you can't go in without showing them you room card , and also the lift wont open without entering your card. Loved the hotel and definitely I'm visiting it again.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Table Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Table Bay Hotel

Address: Table Bay Hotel | Table Bay Breakwater Blvd Quay 6, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#8 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#10 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#19 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#22 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Table Bay Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 329
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Between Robben Island and Table Mountain, you’ll discover the famed Table Bay Hotel. Cosmopolitan, gracious and relaxed, The Table Bay is the sum of all that is good about Cape Town. The rooms are inviting and represent the epitome of luxury and comfort. Exceed expectations at this 5-star hotel in South Africa - from the stylish writing desks, to the expansive windows, take in a scene of the harbour or the Atlantic Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Venere, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your The Table Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Table Bay Cape Town
Table Bay Hotel Cape Town
Hotel Table Bay
The Table Bay Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Table Bay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.