We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite hotel in the world” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Table Bay Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Table Bay Hotel to your Saves list
The Table Bay Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Table Bay Hotel | Table Bay Breakwater Blvd Quay 6, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Airport Transfer
Ranked #23 of 104 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“My favourite hotel in the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The Table Bay is the best hotel I have ever stayed at. The location is perfect, with views of either the ocean or Table Mountain, depending on which side of the building you are on. We were quite worried about safety in Cape Town, but we felt completely at ease, day and night, in the waterfront area. The service and security in the hotel were excellent, with friendly staff. We were greeted with a number of lovely special touches, including a complementary bottle of sparkling wine, chocolates and fresh flowers in our room, which was spacious and very comfortable.

The very best thing about the hotel is the breakfast buffet. It consists of separate areas for cereal, fruit, hot food, sushi etc, and also included a juice bar, with a choice of 15 or so different fresh fruit juices. This was easily the best breakfast ever!

We didn't try lunch or dinner in the hotel, but we did have pre-dinner drinks there, which was enhanced by the pianist in the bar.

Room Tip: Rooms on one side overlook the ocean, whilst rooms on the other side overlook Table Mountain - take...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    543
    139
    39
    12
    10
See reviews for
118
303
20
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This property was a fantastic start to our South African holiday. The staff were helpful and friendly and the location was right in the hub of the harbour district - straight into the mall and easy access to fabulous restaurants.
The breakfast buffet was one of the best from sushi to pancakes or freshly made egg dishes... only surpassed by the memorable hight tea - wish we'd had more time to spend in the attractive pool area....
All this with the backdrop of Table Mountain, the Harbour and V&A district in the foreground... WOW! Highly recommended for holiday makers and corporates - our family of four loved this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a Harbour/Table Mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaghan, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed here for the first four nights of our honeymoon. We arrived before noon to check in and whilst we waited on our room to be ready we enjoyed complimentary tea/coffee. We were also upgraded to a room with the most beautiful view of Table Mountain.
The room was beautiful and the facilities perfect, we slept like logs throughout our stay. The beds were very comfortable and the hotel was quiet. Food in the hotel is also first class. The variety at the buffet breakfast is something I have never experienced before.
The service in the hotel was first class, the staff are fantastic. We couldn't fault any of them. They are very friendly and helpful, nothing seemed to be a problem. Ryan and Bradley at the concierge were very entertaining and most helpful in organising our trips! The Table Bay was the perfect start to our honeymoon and we LOVED it! I would not hesitate for a split second in recommending this hotel, it is just outstanding!

Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This hotel is the best in Cape Town. Best property, location, staff, food and meeting facilities. From arrival to departure the service is first class. Our room had a spectacular view of Table Mountain and being located within the V & A Waterfront area, this hotel is perfectly located for exploring Cape Town, certainly one of the great cities of the world. The bars and reataruants within the hotel provide very good value, because of the competition within the V & A precinct for high class dinning. In summary, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of Table Mountain are spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We were in Cape Town for a conference for 5 days. We spent the last 2 nights at The Table Bay Hotel. It looks magnificent from the outside & does not disappoint inside. The rooms, service, food, spa & other amenities are first class. Both Presidents Obama and Putin have been previous guests. Would recommend this place in a heartbeat!

Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acantilado de los Gigantes, Spain
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Beautiful hotel down by the waterside. My room had a view looking up at Table Mountain. The rooms are large and beautifully appointed with all the extras required. The breakfasts are unbelievable with every whim catered for. The main Restaurant and bars are excellent and with a good ambience. There is a walk through to the best shops and restaurants in case you feel like dining out. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel for the staff, food and service.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We went away this weekend and stayed at the Table Bay hotel and I am very impress with the service and the friendly staff. The only problem I had was that the guy standing at the lifts, did not want me to use the toilets as our checking was only for 14:00, but we were having lunch in the mean time.

They way he looked and treated me made me felt like I am a criminal. At least the other people I was with did not experience the same problems.

I do not have any negative comments about this hotel. The only thing was that breakfast area was very busy the Sunday compared to the Saturday so be prepared that it can be noisy if you a person that wants peace and be silent then you are going to have a bit of a problem with this.

The food was delicious and they had of everything. I wish I could take the pillow home because I slept like a baby(Don't know why people use this phrase, because my babies do not sleep)

It is expensive, but it is worth the money.

For people that gym, be warned that the gym is very small so it can be an issue when lots of people use it. O and the guy at the swimming and gym are was the only other person that was unfriendly.

If you can afford it, go stay here, you cant go wrong

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Table Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Table Bay Hotel

Address: Table Bay Hotel | Table Bay Breakwater Blvd Quay 6, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#9 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#22 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Table Bay Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 329
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Between Robben Island and Table Mountain, you’ll discover the famed Table Bay Hotel. Cosmopolitan, gracious and relaxed, The Table Bay is the sum of all that is good about Cape Town. The rooms are inviting and represent the epitome of luxury and comfort. Exceed expectations at this 5-star hotel in South Africa - from the stylish writing desks, to the expansive windows, take in a scene of the harbour or the Atlantic Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Table Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Table Bay Cape Town
Table Bay Hotel Cape Town
Hotel Table Bay
The Table Bay Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Table Bay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.