We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sensational service, great location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Table Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Table Bay Hotel to your Saves list
The Table Bay Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Table Bay Hotel | Table Bay Breakwater Blvd Quay 6, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% discount off BAR Rate
Ranked #23 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Aberdeen
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Sensational service, great location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We visited Table Bay for a one night stay on our way through Cape. We visit annually and this was the first time we opted for Table Bay as we were short of time and wanted a central location for the V&A. The hotel is connected to the main shopping complex upper level, making it incredibly easy to access the shops and restaurants the V&A boasts.

Out arrival was managed seamlessly, several porters were awaiting customers at the main entrance and reception was primed for our arrival by the door staff. The greeting was warm and, to me, seemed heart felt, not a script as mentioned previously. We were escorted to our room, shown the usual bits and had the facilities explained.

The reception areas are grand, modern and well appointed with ample seating and free wifi across the hotel. A business centre on the upper floor offers private office space and printing.

We had a small issue with the included breakfast, too many customers and not enough seats, but the staff resolved the matter. The food was great and i don't recall ever having seen so diverse a breakfast spread.

Our room was large, well appointed and had splendid views across the harbour with the mountains behind. The usual trimmings were all present and the complimentary coffee was decent.

Above all else the level of service delivered by the staff was sensational. Nothing was too much trouble and every single employee seemed to strive to better your stay.

One small point to remember, SA still permits smoking in private areas and the floor we were on was fogged out by the most pungent cigar smoke imaginable. Our room was fine but book accordingly.

Room Tip: Watch out for smoking rooms and book a higher floor to benefit from the view. Corner rooms are exc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    708
    196
    48
    17
    16
See reviews for
166
401
30
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shepshed, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

My partner and I have stayed in many hotels but non compare to the service and quality of hotel that is the Table Bay in Cape Town.

Location is outstanding first of all, connected to the shopping mall and right on the waterfront where all the resturants and action is for a visit to Cape town. The bed when we arrived was set out magnificently with rose petals and fresh water, and chocolates were laid out every night. Truly I wont go into detail about the actual hotel because it doesnt need describing, its a 5 star world class hotel, but you just cannot compare the service you get here to anywhere in the world.

Amazing stay, amazing visit.

Room Tip: Choose a mountain facing room, by far the best views. Ignore your base instinct to be ocean facing t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Table Bay hotel was a fantastic location on the waterfront with many choices for shopping and eating. The concierge were very helpful via email prior to arrival and even better while we were there. Thank you Moira and Bradley for all of your help!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

The hotel is located in the Waterfront and is at walking distance to all cafes, restaurants, many attractions and, of course, has direct access to the mall. It's a bit pricey but is totally worth it given the location and very high quality service. The staff was very warm and helpful. Breakfast was great. Rooms are spacious. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for a room where you could see both the harbour as well as Table Mountain. There would be the on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We have stayed at the Table Bay now for the 3rd time. Expensive, but this is a five star hotel. The fact that it is situated in The Waterfront with direct access to the mall, restaurants and harbour makes it ideal for the overseas tourist visiting South Africa. Breakfast is a huge buffet with everything your heart desires. There is a spa and swimming pool. However book massages in advance as it is always fully booked. Ask for a room with a Table mountain view and on a higher level.

Room Tip: Ask for Table mountain view on higher floor. The other side of the hotel faces the sea which is also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

I stayed at the Table Bay Hotel as part of a South African Tour and was really impressed.
The hotel is in a fabulous location and you can stroll around the V&A Waterfront which is directly in front of the hotel. The rooms were amazing with great views of the waterfront and Table mountain. Breakfast is a real eye opener with more choice than anywhere I have ever stayed. If you fancy oysters you can have them for breakfast!
The hotel connects with the shopping mall so you just take the escalator and the designer shops are waiting for you. All in all it's faultless, a great hotel with great staff and if you travel now you get so much more for your money. A cocktail in the hotel bar was about £2.80..what more could you want!!

Room Tip: Ask for a Waterfront view, they're amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almere, The Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Table Bay hotel is ideally located in Cape Town. Best address. And the service and food is wonderful - especially the breakfast - best in town. The rooms ar spacious, the service good and you can choose either a view on Table mountain or a view overlooking the ocean. Staff is very helpful.

Room Tip: Choose a room that looks on Table mountain…
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Table Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Table Bay Hotel

Address: Table Bay Hotel | Table Bay Breakwater Blvd Quay 6, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#10 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#22 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Table Bay Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 329
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Between Robben Island and Table Mountain, you’ll discover the famed Table Bay Hotel. Cosmopolitan, gracious and relaxed, The Table Bay is the sum of all that is good about Cape Town. The rooms are inviting and represent the epitome of luxury and comfort. Exceed expectations at this 5-star hotel in South Africa - from the stylish writing desks, to the expansive windows, take in a scene of the harbour or the Atlantic Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your The Table Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Table Bay Cape Town
Table Bay Hotel Cape Town
Hotel Table Bay
The Table Bay Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Table Bay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.