We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Table Bay Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Table Bay Hotel to your Saves list
The Table Bay Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Table Bay Hotel | Table Bay Breakwater Blvd Quay 6, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% discount off BAR Rate
Ranked #23 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Ruse, Bulgaria
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Amazing stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

The position of the hotel is right on the Waterfront with direct view on Table Mountain and the ocean which is fascinating.
we loved the easy access to all the shops, bars and restaurants near the WaterFront. The hotel is connected to a major mall.
Service is good enough with very helpful staff, excluding room cleaning, for that price they should do more.
Breakfast was amazing with everything you possibly want to eat.

It's a great place to be in Cape Town.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    708
    196
    48
    17
    16
See reviews for
166
401
30
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Today is my birthday and yesterday my daughter and I booked into the hotel for my birthday treat, at this stage I have to say I wouldn't come back.

We sat at the pool for a while relaxing and ordered an iced coffee and a strawberry juice with our poolside lunch, after finishing our lunch and still no drinks we asked them to please send them up to the room, 1hr after our order we got our drinks.

Last night and again tonight on turn down service there was not even a chocolate on our pillows (Which at this price and star rating, one would expect).

Our spa treatment this morning was outstanding but unfortunately can not say the same for the afternoon one, kept waiting 15mins with no apology and then given mediocre reflexology.

At no stage has any staff member wished me a happy birthday even though I put that as the reason for our booking, it is not that this bothers me personally, but from a service point of view of the hotel, this is attention to detail not paid.

We have one more night to go and if service improves I will definately write a follow up review.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We recently spent a long weekend at The Table Bay to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary and were thrilled with our experience. The hotel location is arguably one of the best at seaside -and quayside! - in the country, spilling views from its rooms either towards the ocean or the bustling Waterfront and working harbour. and unmistakably, the grandeur of the colossus of Table Mountain itself.

As it happened, the Hotel upgraded us to a superior deluxe room, a corner room which superbly boasted views to all of the ocean, harbour and mountain - quite magnificent from the sixth floor. We were generously spoiled given the occasion, amongst others with a complimentary bottle of bubbly and very special roses petals display in bedroom and bathroom - adding to the romantic ambience of our stay.

Service was sharp, generally, and a faulty kettle in our room, for instance, was tended to within 10 minutes. Although we experienced minor hiccup at check-in, this was skillfully and swiftly sorted. The breakfast buffet display is phenomenal and offered in the elegant surroundings, live piano music inclusive, of the Atlantic Grill, inside, or outside overlooking Cape Town's most famous berg landmark. We were however referred to the lounge seating on the first morning, because of an overfull inside restaurant, with much lesser offerings. We had not been told that we could help ourselves to the grand buffet inside, but it was enjoyable altogether.

We enjoyed dinner at the same restaurant on the second night and it was thoroughly fine dining at 5 star service.

Hats off too for our chauffeur limousine service from the airport after an exclusive hotel meet-and-greet representative at the airport. A special accolade too to the concierge who arranged a complimentary limousine transfer to and from our first night-out dinner appointment.

Although we have known the Table Bay since inception, and been inside and around it many times before, its location adjacent to the very stylish V&A Waterfront shopping mall and its efforts to make us really feel like valued guests, made this first stay experience a most memorable one. A worthy Capetonian Leading Hotel of the World!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room from the sixth floor or higher
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013



Dear Sir / madam

We are currently staying at the Table Bay hotel, as we have done on many occasions since we first stayed in 1995.

This is not a complaining email but I just feel that you should know that the standards of service that we have come to expect when we come here are just no longer there.

I have heard many guests complain about the poor levels of service and indeed one man made a complete scene at breakfast yesterday morning by losing his temper in public over these matters. Whilst the way in which this man let everyone around him know was wrong the content of his complaint was very accurate.

I am currently sitting by the pool and it took 45 mins to order a cocktail,and a glass of water. Even then the waitress forgot the type of cocktail I wanted. I have asked for my bill some 30 mins ago and as yet it has never materialised! This is a small example and there are 5 staff at the pool and only 10 guests so it's not busy.

When we arrived our room was not quite ready so we were offered complimentary drinks that they tried to then add to the food bill and our room was only ready about 3.00 pm - we had just flown in on a 12 hour flight from Ireland.

I too run a business employing 25 people and I know your people either make or break your reputation and without your reputation you will achieve nothing. I have heard literally dozens of guests mumble and mutter complaints since we arrived.

I write this to ask you not to ruin what has always been a great place to come and stay in Cape Town until 2014. I don't know if you've had so change in staff or management but please listen to what your customers are saying

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telfs
Top Contributor
286 reviews 286 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

The table bay hotel is located close to the waterfront. The service is superb and the rooms all offer a great view. Breakfast us served inside and outside and you will not miss anything there. All in all one of the best hotels in Cape Town.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

The position right on the Waterfront with direct view on Table Mountain is unique.
Breakfast is great, but avoid their restaurant for the rest of your meals, there is much better just a few steps away.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We visited the hotel as part of our 3rd wedding anniversary from 25th to 29th November 2013 with our 1yr old son.
We were upgraded to a superior family room in arrival and we felt it was a good gesture from the hotel.
The service is extremely good. Everyone went on his/her way to make our stay memorable. Ann was really great in suggesting an African dinner at the Gold restaurant. Thanks a lot Ann.You need to try this restaurant
We were on BB.Breakfast was great with lots of variety.
Hotel is located at the mall which is very convenient for an ardent shopper and right on the V&A waterfront. Visits to Robben island and round the city can be very convenient from this hotel

However, I found the room very old for the price charged. The hotel can do with some refurbishments. The Carpet and corridor was smelling bad but other things were fine.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the waterfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Table Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Table Bay Hotel

Address: Table Bay Hotel | Table Bay Breakwater Blvd Quay 6, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#10 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#22 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Table Bay Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 329
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Between Robben Island and Table Mountain, you’ll discover the famed Table Bay Hotel. Cosmopolitan, gracious and relaxed, The Table Bay is the sum of all that is good about Cape Town. The rooms are inviting and represent the epitome of luxury and comfort. Exceed expectations at this 5-star hotel in South Africa - from the stylish writing desks, to the expansive windows, take in a scene of the harbour or the Atlantic Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your The Table Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Table Bay Cape Town
Table Bay Hotel Cape Town
Hotel Table Bay
The Table Bay Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Table Bay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.