We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic experience.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Table Bay Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Table Bay Hotel to your Saves list
The Table Bay Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Table Bay Hotel | Table Bay Breakwater Blvd Quay 6, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% discount off BAR Rate
Ranked #23 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Amazing property.Tremendous location. The staff and the entire management was very very nice.II would like to thank Andrew,Rodrick for being so prompt. The breakfast spread was huge and they ensured that every little thing is taken care off.

Thanks for making our stay so brilliant and memorable.

Room Tip: The Mountain View room is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    708
    196
    48
    17
    16
See reviews for
166
401
30
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
102 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Great location, right on the V&A Waterfront with easy access to all the shops, bars and restaurants. Connect to a major mall has also a bonus.

The room was a nice size, with a great shower and super fast internet connections.

The breakfast was amazing and can not be missed and the staff was great to deal with

The best part of the hotel is the outdoor patio with views of the harbour, Cape Town and Table Mountain.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Very posh setting, with emaculate service and classic setting infront of the V&A waterfront. The hotel leads into the mall which is very convenient. The location is excellent and most sights are within a 10 minute drive. You must have high-tea here even if your not staying at the hotel.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Table Bay was the ninth and final hotel of our South African tour. It is BIG and my wife took an instant dislike to it. The large foyer seemed to be filled with Security, flunkeys and management clones instructing everybody to "have a good day". During the usual 'welcome drinks' the tour group was addressed by one of the hotel managers. He gave us an outline of the geography of the hotel and placed emphasis on where we could find the Famous Breakfast Room. Next morning we, and others, came down in the lift and made to go towards that breakfast room. Instead, we were intercepted by junior management and, under protest, were marched in the opposite direction into a banqueting suite. We were told that the Breakfast Room was full; (a statement contradicted later by friends). This dimly-lit suite was furnished with eight large round tables seating eight to ten guests on bucket chairs and was somewhat remote from the kitchen. The large buffet was spread in an ante-room with hot food in open lidded tureens. This room was ventilated by an open door that drew a chill draught and allowed flies to come in. The polyglot assembly of guests had to wander backwards and forwards to the buffet and the seating arrangements proved. totally inappropriate. The domestic staff seemed to have been short-term agency recruits and soon used crockery piled up on the tables. Supplies of food on the buffet dwindled, as did items such as butter and conserves on the tables. Guests went on treasure hunts. The coffee well dried up too.
Why all this happened we don't know. Perhaps it was a Management initiation on how to deal with disgruntled guests. The lady in charge was left to defend the indefensible. We should have walked out but we had a tight time schedule.
The next two mornings we were in the proper room and senior management were working the tables trying to right a wrong. Too late.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TableBayHotel, General Manager at The Table Bay Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to offer feedback on your stay with us. I am disappointed to hear of your experience, as this is not our normal standard. Whilst the hotel is large we place an emphasis on personal interaction between our staff and our guests, and value the beautiful views over the harbour and into Table Mountain from our lobby and Lounge which highlight the beautiful city of Cape Town.

I do hope your travels home went smoothly and wish you well over the festive season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serra Negra, SP
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

This hotel is right on the waterfront. You are connected to the shopping mall without even needing to leave the building and can walk to the Robben Island ferry terminal in just a few minutes. The hotel is full of charm and the staff are fantastic - very helpful concierge. It's a great place to be in Cape Town and the facilities within the hotel are great - could not recommend it more!

Room Tip: Ask to get a view of Table mountain from your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TableBayHotel, General Manager at The Table Bay Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
We pride ourselves on great location and engaging staff. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Cape Town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

I was suprised to find a hotel of this quality and a member of the Leading Hotels in the World in the location. Old town setting with very high qauity fittings. Excellent faciities and part of the Victoria and Albert (V&A) waterfront, Easy access to shopping faciliites and water sport as well as water cruises. Many rooms have an excellent view of table moutain and Table bay. Well appointed and good value though pricy.

Room Tip: Rooms are excellent all round but ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

This hotel was in a superb location and our room overlooked Table Mountain - not that we saw much of for the three nights we spent there. The weather was awful - very wet with thunder and lightening, not that stopped us from visiting several sights and we even got to the top of Table Mountain on the last evening we were there. On the day we were leaving the Mountain showed itseld in all its glory. Clear Blue skies. Our bedroom was luxurious snd had a coffee machine, fridge and mini bar. We also had an open plan bathroom! There were loads of beautiful restaurants to eat at. Also the hotel served rather delicious evening bar meals. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was a delight with a pianist playing - very soothing start to the day.

Room Tip: Try for a room overlooking Table Mountain for a superb view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Table Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Table Bay Hotel

Address: Table Bay Hotel | Table Bay Breakwater Blvd Quay 6, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#10 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#22 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Table Bay Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 329
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Between Robben Island and Table Mountain, you’ll discover the famed Table Bay Hotel. Cosmopolitan, gracious and relaxed, The Table Bay is the sum of all that is good about Cape Town. The rooms are inviting and represent the epitome of luxury and comfort. Exceed expectations at this 5-star hotel in South Africa - from the stylish writing desks, to the expansive windows, take in a scene of the harbour or the Atlantic Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your The Table Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Table Bay Cape Town
Table Bay Hotel Cape Town
Hotel Table Bay
The Table Bay Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Table Bay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.