We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Brilliant!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Table Bay Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Table Bay Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Table Bay Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Table Bay Hotel | Table Bay Breakwater Blvd Quay 6, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 101 hotels in Cape Town Central
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely Brilliant!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

The Table Bay Hotel well deserves its 5 star status - it could not be faulted. We had magnificent views of the harbour and Table Mountain and from the other window, the Atlantic. The staff were extremely efficient, friendly and very smart. The food was excellent and the dining room and lounge were spacious and comfortable. We particularly enjoyed the pianist playing whilst we had breakfast! We were celebrating our 40th Wedding Anniversay and we were immediately given an upgrade and a bottle of champagne. Thank you to everyone for making our stay so memorable. We love Cape Town and we will definitely stay at the Table Bay on our next visit.

Room Tip: Our room number was 444 which was very spacious and had lovely views. It's worth asking for an u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TableBayHotel, General Manager at The Table Bay Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Congratulations again on your anniversary. We are currently working on a refurbishment of our restaurant ... when you next return please do make a booking at the new Camissa Brasserie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    463
    124
    31
    10
    10
See reviews for
107
258
18
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Strachur
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

All good at Table Bay Hotel. Fantastic situation for the restaurants, shops and entertainment on the V & A waterfront. It was clean, the room spacious even for our family of four, and the branded toiletries in the bathroom were lovely. There was welcome packs for our children, and daily bottles of water, sweets and other thoughtful touches. Plenty of secure parking, lovely views of the ocean and harbour from our corner room. Don't worry if you don't have a Table Mountain view, it dominates the moment you step out the hotel, and is very impressive even before you head up. We dined in the many restaurants on the waterfront, but had room service on one evening, and it was excellent. Breakfasts were also very good, with a vast array of foods from all over the world. We would certainly return to Table Bay hotel, and would recommend as the location and quality was superb. Cape Town is very cosmopolitan and a wonderful city for tourists. We did the usual first visit things, Table Mountain, Cape Point, Kirstenbosch gardens, Aquarium etc and had a great time, Plenty we missed, so will definitely return.

Room Tip: 5th floor rooms had great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TableBayHotel, General Manager at The Table Bay Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Table Bay hotel! We will be opening a new brasserie restaurant, Camissa on 13 December 2013 - please do take the time to make a booking and experience the local flavours of the Cape.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Spent the last few nights of our trip here earlier in October. We were part of a large group and we're told that lots of groups stay here but it never felt crowded and there were plenty of small groups and couples too.
Set on the Victoria and Alfred Waterfront our room looked out on Table Mountain and the harbour. Lots of facilities including spa and pool plus a mix of shopping malls, craft markets, restaurants and bars reached direct by escalator from the hotel or a within a 100 yards on foot.
The breakfasts are legendary and have the biggest choice of food I've seen at a breakfast buffet. Apparently people come there just for breakfast so if you want to eat in the main restaurant you have to time our visit to be early or late so as to miss the rush in the middle!
That's the only downside - sometimes when there are a lot of people for breakfast it is split between the restaurant and the ballroom and the latter lacks in character and atmosphere with the big tables that you have to share. That said if we get back to Cape Town it is definitely the hotel we will use.

Room Tip: Ask for one that looks out on Table Mountain. Even if the clouds come down the view is fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TableBayHotel, General Manager at The Table Bay Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
We appreciate your comments regarding our indeed 'legendary' breakfast, and pride ourselves in offering such an extensive selection. The breakfast that you experienced in the ballroom is a temporary measure due to the extensive renovations currently taking place for our soon to be opening Camissa Brasserie. We have taken not of your comments and to add to the atmosphere during this transition now offer live entertainment, in the form of a pianist, when the need arises for us to utilise the ballroom as an overflow for breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West England
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Our final stop in our 19 day tour of SA was 3 nights in this fantastic city, in this fantastic hotel, with a room with a view across the waterfront to Table Mountain which apart from a few wisps on our first morning was completely free of cloud. We couldn't ask for more. The public areas are very grand but also welcomimg. Our room was extremely comfortable, well equipped with a great bathroom. The housekeeping staff were marvellous and very efficient.
Breakfasts were incredible, almost too much to choose from but the quality was superb.
The location is great and being attached to one of the huge malls there is no shortage of shopping/eating/drinking opportunites.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TableBayHotel, General Manager at The Table Bay Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay with us. Cape Town is indeed a beautiful city with much to offer and experience. Attached to the V&A Waterfront we are able to offer our guests immediate access to the sights and sounds .... not to mention the magnificent views!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luzon, Philippines
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Stayed 3 nights at Table Bay. Wow what a huge hotel...i had a lovely room on the 5th floor facing table Mountain..but everything ends there. All the loveliness was erased by the ugliness inside.

First incident...for breakfast instead of eating at the restaurant we were ushered to this huge ballroom. There we had our buffet. As i was scooping up sautéed mushrooms on my plate a 3 inch black hair was included. Told the waiter about this and quickly got my plate. The supervisor approached me and said no its not human hair but mushroom hair (portabello). She made me think i was stupid. Uhmm lady...ive been cooking for many years and ive never heard of portabello mushroom hair!

2nd. the telephone in my room was not working from day 1. told the cleaning lady about this and no action even until the day i checked out.

3rd. coffee maker inside room wasnt working either!

4th. the most disgusting...had bed bugs bite all over my legs.

when we checked out i enumerated everything to the man at the front desk. he got my email and said theyll get back to me. its been more than a week and i havent heard anything from them.

my advice. stay away

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TableBayHotel, General Manager at The Table Bay Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. I am sincerely dissapointed to hear that your time with us was dissapointing. The issues mentioned are taken seriously and we do pride ourselves on prompt resolution of instances which occur on the property. I do hope your travels bring you back to Cape Town and we have an opportunity to provide you with a memorable experience. Please make direct contact through my office if i may be of assistance in this regard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights at the end of September , at the end of a touring holiday which was also our honeymoon. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay but there were a couple of disappointing aspects. The room was excellent, on a corner with views of the harbour and Table Bay Mountain. Facilities within room excellent with molton brown toiletries replenished daily. and a turn down service. I had a full body massage in the spa which really relaxing and very cheap compared to prices in the UK. Requested iron/ ironing board which was delivered promptly as was laundry we had done. Service from concierge and guest relations was really friendly and helpful. One of the guest relations staff booked me a hairdressing appointment and even took me to the salon in the mall as I was unsure where it was. Breakfasr was amazing. I have never seen such a choice despite staying in some top class hotels around the world. Now for the downsides. Service at breakfast was very slapdash and unprofessional. Long wait for tea and coffee and for refills. First morning, coffee was served barely warm and had to be replaced. Second morning ordered toast after a long wait to order. It took so long to arrive that my husband had finished his breakfast. This criticism may seem minor but it's not what you expect from a 5 star hotel and it can colour the overall experience. The biggest disappointment however was our dinner in the Atlantic Restaurant on the evening of 30 September, my husband's 65th birthday so we were really looking forward to a special meal. and "fine dining ".Thanks to Vincent our excellent waiter who looked after us so well but the food was below par. I had a risotto for starters but it was so salty I had to leave most of it. My husband had the seafood platter for his main course but presentationally it looked as though it had just been thrown on the plate Also he had to ask for a finger bowl. . I had the eland which admittedly I asked to be well cooked but it was so dry as to render it tasteless. Compare that meal with dinner the following evening at La Colombe which was exquisite and more or less the same price for their 5 course tasting menu with reserve wines. No contest! I should say we did appreciate the birthday cake my husband received at the end of the meal at Table Bay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TableBayHotel, General Manager at The Table Bay Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback of your stay, we are delighted that you enjoyed so many elements of the hotel. We are currently in the process of refurbishing our restaurant with a completely new concept opening in December and i hope on your next visit we can make a booking for you and your husband to enjoy a memorable evening together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JHB, South Africa
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We have been to The Table Bay Hotel a few times and must say that we enjoyed our stay every time.
It is true to a five star hotel and the service of the staff is excellent. Well trained staff. The breakfast is outstanding and on par with top 5 star hotels all over the world. The rooms is comfortable and practical. One of the plusses of the hotel is that it forms part of a shopping centre which is very convenient. The spa is professional but pricey.

Room Tip: Insist on a room with a view over the harbour and Table Mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TableBayHotel, General Manager at The Table Bay Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
We appreciate your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are certainly fortunate with our location attached to the V&A Waterfront .... a tourist destination in itself! During your next visit please do ask the Spa about their monthly specials, these also offer something different to our guests throughout the year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Table Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Table Bay Hotel

Address: Table Bay Hotel | Table Bay Breakwater Blvd Quay 6, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#10 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#19 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#21 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Table Bay Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Between Robben Island and Table Mountain, you’ll discover the famed Table Bay Hotel. Cosmopolitan, gracious and relaxed, The Table Bay is the sum of all that is good about Cape Town. The rooms are inviting and represent the epitome of luxury and comfort. Exceed expectations at this 5-star hotel in South Africa - from the stylish writing desks, to the expansive windows, take in a scene of the harbour or the Atlantic Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com and Venere so you can book your The Table Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Table Bay Cape Town
Table Bay Hotel Cape Town
Hotel Table Bay
The Table Bay Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Table Bay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.