We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Table Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Table Bay Hotel to your Saves list
The Table Bay Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Table Bay Hotel | Table Bay Breakwater Blvd Quay 6, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% discount off BAR Rate
Ranked #23 of 104 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Oakville, Canada
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“First Class Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We were travelling as part of a group and I think that everyone loved this hotel. Superb location - attached to a large, classy mall and right on the waterfront. The breakfast buffet was huge - like nothing I've seen before. The bed unusually comfortable.
The staff in the dining room deserve special mention as they really tried hard to please - and they did.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    709
    196
    48
    17
    16
See reviews for
166
402
30
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

What an incredibly wonderful way to bring in the New Year! Surrounded by the beautiful aqua marine blue of the ocean with an awesome view of Table Top mountain just outside our window. The staff was extremely courteous & accommodating. The festive Christmas decor made you smile from the moment you entered. We loved the variety available on the breakfast buffet. High tea &/or cocktails on the patio with a view of the ocean was a wonderful way to relax. The proximity to the wharf and the multitude of activities, restaurants, shops and entertainment makes this a definite place to which we will return. Considering coming back to the CapeTown Jazz Festival.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield, UK
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We've just returned from a two week holiday travelling around the East Coast of South Africa and stayed at The Table Bay Hotel for three nights on arriving in Cape Town. The location is fantastic and meant that we could walk to restaurants in the evening, as well as being a stone's throw from the Robben Island ferry. From the minute we arrived the staff were, without exception, friendly, helpful and very professional making us feel very welcome and relaxed from the start. Our room had a fantastic view of Table Mountain and had everything you would expect from a hotel of this standard. Breakfast too had everything you could possibly want, even in the smaller of the dining rooms. We used the gym which was small but well maintained and well equipped.

Only slight negative comment we could make (and it really wasn't a huge issue) was that because our room was on the first floor, it was a little noisy outside first thing in the morning but we only had to open the curtains and look at the view for that to be forgiven. Would definitely return if ever in Cape Town again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

On the very front of the Waterfront, unobstructed view of the ocean.
Very convenient location surrounded by shops, tour operators, all kinds of restaurants.
Choose rooms on the west side, the best are the junior suites, DO NOT chose the east side even if it is a free upgrade, very noisy.
The hotel is very elegant and the staff are helpful but be careful some might try to sell you to their taxi friends or tour operators, make sure to ask for the best guest manager in the house Rodick Rodriguez, he is the man to help you with everything from tours to restaurants recommendations and reservations.
If you book a tour from the hotel ask for Nello, an excellent driver and guide, my wife and I had a memorable day with him. The people can make or break your stay.
Cape Town is a wonderful city, enjoy it.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side has the best view and are quieter, the higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

What a great experience we had at the Table Bay Hotel. Exceptional staff...every single person was lovely. The breakfast was amazing....oysters, sushi, waffles, eggs to order, fruit, fresh squeezed juices. The room was lovely with a beautiful view. High tea with wonderful scones was perfect . The dining room is exceptional with a large selection of South African wines and great food. Location is very convenient....actually, it was a perfect stay.

Room Tip: I do not know how you can go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

I wish to thank Mr Banda and Loma for their exceptional service!
It is a pleasure to stay at such a well maintained and beautiful resort
It never ceases to amaze me that the resort grows from strength to strength each year
To all business or holiday travelers, no other resort can compare to the Table Bay.
The food is a culinary spoil
The atmosphere and location is superb
I look forward to my next visit

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed here post cruise after staying at Cape Grace pre cruise, we thought Cape Grace was the best but Table Bay for us was exceptional, we got of the cruise and the bell boy took our bags to the hotel we were that close, check in was a breeze we were greated by all the staff offered a drink, it was very special, the hotel is gorgeous, very classy decor and art work felt like we were in another time, the room 116 was very large with a massive deck which over looked the crusie ship we had just departed, We had the breakfast the next day, we did not have the buffet but checked it out and it was the best breakfast buffet I had ever seen, catered to every taste, again staff very attentive could not do enough for you, I actually prefered this hotel to Cape Grace, better location. but really hard to choose, if you have the opportunity check them both out

Room Tip: The first floor with the big patios
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Table Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Table Bay Hotel

Address: Table Bay Hotel | Table Bay Breakwater Blvd Quay 6, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#10 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#22 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Table Bay Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 329
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Between Robben Island and Table Mountain, you’ll discover the famed Table Bay Hotel. Cosmopolitan, gracious and relaxed, The Table Bay is the sum of all that is good about Cape Town. The rooms are inviting and represent the epitome of luxury and comfort. Exceed expectations at this 5-star hotel in South Africa - from the stylish writing desks, to the expansive windows, take in a scene of the harbour or the Atlantic Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your The Table Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Table Bay Cape Town
Table Bay Hotel Cape Town
Hotel Table Bay
The Table Bay Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Table Bay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.