We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best in Capetown” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel

Save Saved
You added Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   76 Orange Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (City Bowl)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off published rates
Ranked #18 of 101 hotels in Cape Town Central
Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“the best in Capetown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

this is a world away from the hustle and bustle of Capetown! Contained within its own compound as such within the city, although away from the waterfront area this property rivals the "new world"
And challenges it from a bygone era of style and luxury, guests are made to feel special and treated not only as long lost friends but as such to be given the experience of a lifetime. The world famous Planet restaurant sits quaintly in the opulence that has witnessed many a famous guest, every detail has been seen to from removing the ivory in its antique solid silver decanters to what actually is served from the hotels own organic garden! One can see why this hotel is indeed an icon and not to be missed. A 2 night stay has enlightened me and I truly did not want to leave!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of table mountain, for families the cottages are ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xavier L, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for posting this lovely review. Hopefully you will be able to come back and stay with us.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    599
    86
    30
    12
    8
See reviews for
124
348
29
114
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in August for 2 nights. The hotel from reception to room, felt a bit dated. This may have been due to the fact that we stayed in the original hotel building which is supposed to be the nicer more expensive part. Planet Bar was perfect for pre dinner drinks - clubby and intimate. Hotel is well positioned for walking into the vibey bit of Cape Town. Breakfast area was very average as was the buffet offering. Nice hotel overall but not worth the rave reviews.

Room Tip: Our room was in the original old building - very spacious and looked back towards Table Mountain whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xavier L, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for having stayed at the Mount Nelson Hotel. The Mount Nelson was built in 1899 and for a 115 years old lady, she is trying her best to stay healthy. I am sorry that you found the hotel a bit dated. The Mount Nelson Hotel has been going through numerous renovations in the past few years. 47 rooms were refurbished in the main building in 2010 and 2011, the 30 rooms of the Oasis Wing have been refurbished in 2012 and we are currently renovating 36 rooms in the Green Park section. The Green Park renovations will be complete at the end of this month.
The hotel also has lovely cottage suites that have beautiful views of Signal Hill and that are located in front of one of the hotel's pool.
Thank you for your honest opinion and we will continue upgrading our property.
Once again, many thanks for your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic afternoon tea in relaxed elegance wonderful service offering as many different pots of tea as you can handle but the option for coffee or hot chocolate also included in the price, buffet service allowing you to go back as often as you like we were there two hours so made several trips to the table. The pianist playing romantic tunes in the back ground was a delight, a special treat for 225 rands fantastic value for money. Booking is advisable as this is a very popular treat. Enjoy we did

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xavier L, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Glad to hear that you enjoyed the afternoon tea at the Mount Nelson Hotel. You absolutely correct, it is highly advisable to make a reservation for the afternoon tea as it is very often sold-out.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has been around for decades- yet it isarill exceptional. The views onto Table Mountain is magnificent, the service great and the rooms big.

Breakfast is very good with a huge spread to choose from. If you like colonial hotels in the true Orient express fashion- this is a must do.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xavier L, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Cape Town and your stay at the Mount Nelson Hotel. Hope to welcome you again on your next visit to the Mother City.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I was told on arrival by a friend that, this hotel is called the Pink lady. I was so fascinated by the architecture and so I read up about it. It dates back to 1800! The cheese cake was amazing, the calamari so tasty as well. The service was good. The breakfast was rather basic in my opinion, but everything else was good.
The rooms were very big and everything has been kept as was would be in the old days, there is hardly anything modern. I was on the first floor but I had a cute little balcony overlooking the garden.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xavier L, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for visiting the Mount Nelson Hotel. Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This is definitely the best hotel I have been to in this parts. The ambience, the service, the decor stands out in a class of its own. Definitely a place for Presidents and top class executives wishing to have a real first class five start experience. A wonderful experience, I will definitely love to repeat this visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xavier L, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for your nice comments. Hope to see you again at the Pink Lady on your next visit to Cape Town.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Lodge, Montana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

On check in we were updated to two of the cottages. Had kids and grand kids in tow. From checkin to checkout the service and comittment to excellence was unparalleled. I must bring your attention to our most delightful waitress at breakfast each morning. Margaret is such a wonderful and efficient staff member. She made our stay ever more wonderful. We shall return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xavier L, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for your nice review and I will certainly pass on your compliments to Margaret who has been providing exceptional service to our guests for close to 30 years. Look forward to welcoming you on your return visit to Cape Town.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel

Address: 76 Orange Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#8 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the vibrant heart of Cape Town, Mount Nelson Hotel offers easy access to all that’s happening in this dynamic city. Enjoying a superb location at the foot of Table Mountain, and just a short stroll from downtown, Mount Nelson Hotel offers the perfect combination of leafy tranquillity and contemporary buzz.Whether dining on exotic Cape cuisine, soaking up the sun on any of the stunning beaches nearby or getting ready to stroll down fashionable Kloof Street, guests have the ideal central base from which to discover this exhilarating city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orient Express, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Jetsetter and Venere so you can book your Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Nelson Cape Town
Hotel Mount Nelson
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.