We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing from check-in to check-out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel to your Saves list
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   76 Orange Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (City Bowl)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% Discount on Suites
Ranked #11 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Kilkee, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing from check-in to check-out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We recently spent three nights at this amazing hotel, steeps in history and old world atmosphere, coupled with sophisticated, up to the minute service and attention to detail. Check in was personal and relaxing after a long day of traveling. Check-out was like the sadness you feel when leaving a close friend. We didn't not want to leave. All the staff were efficient, helpful and very friendly, yet professional. Our schedule did not facilitate us to partake in their famous afternoon tea. We did not get to use the spa either. There is only one conclusion to arrive at and that is to return to this magnificent hotel.

Room Tip: The oasis wing was over the garden and away from the road. Very peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xavier L, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Always a pleasure having Irish friends visit. We hope to see you again on a return visit to Cape Town.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    772
    112
    34
    13
    8
See reviews for
158
457
32
146
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

An amazing place to stay; great food, excellent service, friendly staff al set in a majestic and historical hotel. Well worth a treat to experience and enjoy the elegance that it offers. It's a shame we didn't stay there longer. The high tea is defiantly a high light. The hotel even couriered some left clothes of mine all the way back to the UK!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xavier L, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We look forward to seeing you on a future visit to Cape Town.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Travelled to hotel as part of a large corporate group, check in was a little chaotic, but finally given a room to find a very bad Air-conditioning noise. The person at reception was very helpful and moved me to another garden room. The room was beautifully appointed. Typically of the Cape at that time of year it began to rain late that night and the roof started to leak onto the bed.

When the front desk was called they had to run around to find another room in the main hotel. It took over 45 minutes to get settled at 2 am in the morning. The only room they actually has was closed for maintenance. It was dry though. We had to go back to the wet old room to shower and shave as the bathroom in the one we slept in was not working.On checkout the next day, no apology nothing, only that the manager was aware of the problem, which is very disappointing after a completely messed up night.

Overall a very old world charming hotel. Service was spotty, even taking into account the fact that the hotel was full. Breakfast was also not of a particularly good standard and the staff, and there was lots of them, stood around chatting.

After the expectations we had of this Grand old lady we were severely disappointed. Furniture was shabby, no coffee cups in the garden room. Far to many small little things that you expect from a top hotel were missing.

For the money the One and Only Waterfront , where I recently stayed, is a far better choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xavier L, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Mr. Ambros,

Please accept our sincere apology regarding your past experience at the Mount Nelson Hotel. I have contacted you directly and hope to hear back from you very shortly.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I travelled here recently on business as part of a large corporate booking. We arrived from the airport before 10am, and the hotel didn't let us check-in by 1pm, after waiting in the lobby for a long time (and breakfast was arranged). Understandably, check-in everywhere is at 2pm, and while the rooms were ready, I don't know why they were so strict about such a small waiting gap.

I loved the location, decor, my room - and the beds were very comfortable. I had a lovely view with a little balcony, but it was slightly noisy due to construction taking place one level below. The lift I took to my room looked like a library!

I was surprised that a property with such a high rating and reputation didn't put a little chocolate on the pillow as part of the turndown service. Not that it ruined by stay, but it's something small I look forward to at every hotel I stay in.

At breakfast the next morning, we were grouped under the main corporate account for breakfast, in a small dark dining area with large tables, and not the main breakfast buffet area, almost as if we were not good enough to eat where everyone else at the hotel ate. Incidentally, we ate breakfast there the day before, when we arrived early.

The stay itself was great, and I just found that these little things felt like a minor let down.

Have heard about their high tea, would love to try it someday.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xavier L, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on Tripadvisor. The Mount Nelson Hotels tries its best to allocate rooms on arrival even if it is prior to the check-in time. Your group was a rather large group (+/- 100 rooms) and unfortunately not all the rooms were ready for the group at 10'oclock in the morning. If your room was vacant, there is no reason that you should have waited and I will investigate this further.
Your room was located in the Oasis wing and we were just in the final process of setting up a new awning for the Oasis Bistro terrace. This is now complete and the Oasis Bistro will be open and serving breakfast from October 1.
It is true that we do not give chocolates at turn-down. Perhaps something we will look into implementing again. Here is a little hotel trivia for you. The first hotelier that started putting chocolates at turn-down was a German hotelier...I think in Berlin. In the late 1940s or early 50s, just after WWII, he decided to put chocolates at turn-down in the rooms as a special recognition as chocolate had been so scarce during the war.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

High tea at Mount Nelson is a wonderful experience to enjoy for a special occasion (or just if you feel to relax). The treats and tea selection are excellent and served in a beautiful setting, makes for a truly great experience. Add to this live piano music and you can spend the afternoon there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xavier L, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you for spending your afternoon at the Mount Nelson Hotel. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Having been blown about on the trip to Robben Island during our stay in the Cape, we were pleased to take sanctuary in the very comfortable lounge at this luxury hotel and have far more afternoon tea that was probably good for us. But good it was, and compared to the price you would have to pay in London for something similar, extremely good value. We have been to tea at The Mount Nelson 6 times since our first visit in 2007, so surprised they didn't hide the finger sandwiches and scones when we arrive!!!! A great treat as always and we didn't need dinner that evening!! Try it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xavier L, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for your continuous support. Not to worry; we'll keep the the finger sandwiches and scones ready for you.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

What a beautiful property, everything is to take care of the guest. Food is great as of the service. Breakfast buffet is tasteful, lots of variety, service staff is there to take care of you and clear the table. Great location, close to the Company Gardens, Museums. On Long Street there are restaurants one after another with different types of food. The shuttle took us and picked up from the wharf. Everybody is very friendly.The view of Table Mountain is amazing, we will be going there tomorrow. Cape Town reminds me San Francisco

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xavier L, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for posting this nice review. The staff and I are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Mount Nelson.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel

Address: 76 Orange Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#1 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the vibrant heart of Cape Town, Mount Nelson Hotel offers easy access to all that’s happening in this dynamic city. Enjoying a superb location at the foot of Table Mountain, and just a short stroll from downtown, Mount Nelson Hotel offers the perfect combination of leafy tranquillity and contemporary buzz.Whether dining on exotic Cape cuisine, soaking up the sun on any of the stunning beaches nearby or getting ready to stroll down fashionable Kloof Street, guests have the ideal central base from which to discover this exhilarating city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Belmond, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Splendia, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Nelson Cape Town
Hotel Mount Nelson
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.