We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Style, class, romance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel to your Saves list
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   76 Orange Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (City Bowl)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #12 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Chania Town, Greece
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Style, class, romance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is a classic hotel in central Cape Town. Ideal setting, classy hotel right on the foot of Table Mountain. The services is top notch, you feel like a king driving through the main entrance up the tree covered driveway and arriving at the Victorian-styled main building. This hotel is old but very well maintained and offers all anyone would expect from a first class hotel..everything but a sea-view I guess. Access to the all the great sites like the V&A Watarfront, the public gardens, the Cable car going up to Table Mountain, Clifton beach, a drive through Sea Point, Bantry Bay, Camps Bay is all 10-15 minutes away. I definitely give the Mount Nelson a thumbs up for classic styling, class and romance.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    711
    99
    32
    13
    8
See reviews for
144
424
31
131
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Have to say that we did not stay at the hotel, but we did book afternoon tea which was lovely.
A beautiful lounge, serve yourself sandwiches and cakes were elegantly presented. Many offerings of tea and infusions and all choices were replenished gracefully by our server. We lingered and chatted, met our South African travel agent, and then observed a young actor from Nigeria and his "people", and on departure found that the African Community leaders were meeting at the hotel - we saw the arrival of the president of Malawi and probably could have waited for others to step out of their limos. It was a very uplifting afternoon - and just what we needed after exploring Robben Island and its history in the morning - an excellent change of pace. Having experienced what was offered, the price was even more palatable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Every thing about this hotel is amazing...rooms, food, service, its the only place to stay in Cape Town. ....and the afternoon tea is not to be missed.
The hotel will also set up private tours of the cape and the wine area which are very well done.
If you are going to Cape Town this is where you want to stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This place is amazing. From the grounds, to the service...unbeatable. Wonderful spa. Amazing food. There is really nothing bad I can say about it. True elegance. A gem in cape town. I met some girlfriends here for a weekend...it reminded me of old Hollywood pulling into the place. Cape town should be on everyone's bucket list...and the hotel sets the standard.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This hotel is the reason I started writing reviews here in the first place. I just wanted to trace my travels all the way back to Nov 2009, when I traveled to Cape Town and stayed in this incredible establisment. Where do I begin:
The hotel: Old style, colonial, incredible ambience, incredibly well kept, I don't have words. The public areas were wonderful, the staff and concierge very helpful, the food excellent and the bar young and trendy with some of the best cocktails I have tried - also sent to your room if you prefer. The best thing of cource was the Saturday tea. It was a ritual, never have I had so much fun with my (then friend, future) wife. We couldn't stop stuffing ourselves with cakes and sweets and at the end we had some plates taken up to our rooms to gorge.
I shouldn't forget the gardens, which are immaculate. The weather wasn't very hot, but we relaxed by the pool watching the squirrels and savouring the experience.
The rooms: Large, old fashioned but not at all depressing, warm colours, pure luxury.
The staff: As I mentioned, helpful and courteous.
The town: What can I say? One of the best trips of my life. The centre, the waterfront, Table Mountain, the Cape, the suburbs, the wineries, the ostriches, Konstantia, Camps Bay, the cold safari, I will never forget them and can't wait to be back.
All in all five points are not enough for this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Had a wonderful stay at the Nelson as the gateway to our trip Namibia. Rooms were gorgeous, comfortable, spacious. Service was excellent, especially our hotel guide, Darrol Lee. Darrol took us on two major full day outings -- to the Cape of Good Hope and the wine country, I highly recommend both of these tours. Darrol was an excellent guide and a very enjoyable touring partner. We hope to return soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biddenden, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

My partner and i recently stayed at the Mount Nelson Hotel prior to joining a cruise ship. Our stay was without doubt the highlight of our holiday. Your adherence to tradition combined with elegant old fashioned service makes the Mount Nelson an unforgettable experience.
Thank you

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel

Address: 76 Orange Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#2 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the vibrant heart of Cape Town, Mount Nelson Hotel offers easy access to all that’s happening in this dynamic city. Enjoying a superb location at the foot of Table Mountain, and just a short stroll from downtown, Mount Nelson Hotel offers the perfect combination of leafy tranquillity and contemporary buzz.Whether dining on exotic Cape cuisine, soaking up the sun on any of the stunning beaches nearby or getting ready to stroll down fashionable Kloof Street, guests have the ideal central base from which to discover this exhilarating city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Otel, getaroom.com, Booking.com, Jetsetter, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Nelson Cape Town
Hotel Mount Nelson
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.