We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay with excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel to your Saves list
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   76 Orange Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (City Bowl)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #13 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Aberdeen, Scotland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay with excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Stayed here for a week as part of a business conference that I organised. Could not have picked anywhere better in terms of location, quality of rooms, customer service and fantastic food. Our large party had a great time with nothing too much trouble by any of the staff. The concierge desk were very helpful and organised transport and sightseeing for us. The private dinners, bar food and breakfasts were all delicious and freshly prepared. There was always plenty of options to choose from and constantly topped up. The swimming pools were clean and the hotel grounds were beautifully manicured. The famous afternoon teas proved very popular and again delicious. Hotel was very busy but still maintained its lovely quiet Colonial style ambiance. Will come here again for vacation next time!

Room Tip: Our group had 30 plus bedrooms booked and nobody complained about any of the rooms allocated. One in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xavier L, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for sharing your positive comments on TripAdvisor. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mount Nelson Hotel on a future visit to the Mother City. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    682
    96
    30
    13
    8
See reviews for
137
404
31
126
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

the hotel is just amazing, great service, the room is big enough and the tea that they served as an english tradition makes the difference, some day i will be back with all my family, it worth it. i loved the gadens.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xavier L, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on the hotel on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed our gardens. Our gardners do an amazing job and we are very proud of them. Hope to see you back on a future visit to Cape Town. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

A beautiful hotel in glorious settings. Large , luxurious rooms and attentive staff. Food was superb. The views simply wonderful. Everything was to a very high standard, as you would expect from a hotel of this caliber. You will love the colonial style and history it brings. The gardens and grounds are spacious, colourful and delightful to wander round. Courtesy car available at times to take you to the waterfront/Camps Bay or to the mountain. Walking distance to some great bars . On our return visit we were upgraded to a breathtaking suite . Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Highly recommended. I can't imagine retuning to Cape Town and not staying there. An unmissable experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xavier L, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others on your visit to the Mount Nelson Hotel. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Cape Town. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

The hotel is an English style traditional establishment. Staff were most welcoming and friendly with excellent service. The reception staff were particularly friendly and helpful. Our cottage was luxurious and very spacious. We were almost adjacent to a very pleasant swimming pool with views of Table Mountain. Reception rooms and lounge were well appointed and very comfortable. Food was excellent with very wide choice. Hotel grounds were delightful and well maintained. The hotel is within walking distance of main shopping areas and about 20 minutes from the waterfront area. I recommend the Mount Nelson most highly!!

Room Tip: The cottages are a delight, roomy, quiet and with direct access to an open air swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xavier L, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
On behalf of the entire staff at the Mount Nelson Hotel, thank you for taking some time to share your impressions of our property on TripAdvisor. Glad to hear that you enjoyed the cottage pool which is one of our two pools on property. Hope to see you back on your second trip to Africa! Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wurzburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

This traditional house offers a luxurious stay in old English style. Our room was spacious, everything was clean and the breakfast choice was huge. Service could be a bit faster.
The Hotel is placed excellent, so it is just a 5 minute walk to Longstreet and about half an our to the Waterfront.
I highly recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xavier L, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for sharing your opinion on our property on TripAdvisor. Your point on service being a little slow is well noted and we will keep on focusing on improving our efficiency. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed at this property as part of an organized tour. The rates are such that we would never select on our own, but we were so happy we got to stay here. The property is reminiscent of the Empress Hotel in Victoria BC. We had an especially large room with a view of the back gardens. The grounds are beautifully landscaped and the sculptures and art make walking the grounds very enjoyable. The property is near the City Gardens and a cute neighborhood street containing many local dining facilities. Shopping is also nearby.
The staff is very well trained, through service in the restaurant can be spotty. They offer a beautiful high tea each day and though we didn't have the opportunity to try it, the food looked wonderful.
The "Signature Shop" in off the hotel lobby offers a variety of African-made products that are unique and very reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Garden view on the rear of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xavier L, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for sharing your impression on the Mount Nelson Hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed the sculpture exhibition. We currently have 26 sculptures throughout the gardens; all of which are from South African artists. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I had the opportunity to stay at the Nelson and wish i had not! The room i was allocated was the size of a cupboard and was dirty, the breakfast was a major disappointment we was told that if you wanted seeded bread that they would keep some aside as they had run out, this is meant to be a 5 star establishment.....Staff at the hotel did not clearly have any training as the majority of the service was poor, staff that had been there for some years even admitted to us that it had gone seriously down hill over the last 18 months wish I had know before making a speical trip to surprise my parents who were staying there for 6 weeks.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xavier L, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thank you for having stayed at our property. We are very sorry that your experience during your stay was not at the level that one should expect when staying at the Mount Nelson. The reservation that you had made was for a classic room which is the entry level room. The Mount Nelson has 12 of these rooms out of 198 rooms and suites. These rooms are a little smaller than the superior and deluxe rooms. When possible, we try to upgrade guests from these rooms if the hotel has sufficient availability. However, during your visit the hotel was operating at very high occupancies. As you most likely noticed, your parents, who stayed at the hotel 21 nights, were upgraded to a beautiful deluxe room.

The fact that the rooms was not as clean as expected is not acceptable and please accept my apologies on behalf of the housekeeping department.

Training and service are essential to the success of the Mount Nelson Hotel. The hotel's training and development manager organizes, with the help of the department managers, ongoing training sessions. The hotel is regularly monitored by a quality service audit firm and the hotel scores have improved in the past two years.

Once again, please accept my sincere apologies for your disappointing visit. Please do not hesitate to contact me if you would like to discuss this further and hopefully, if you decide to return to the Mount Nelson Hotel, we will be able to change your opinion.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel

Address: 76 Orange Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the vibrant heart of Cape Town, Mount Nelson Hotel offers easy access to all that’s happening in this dynamic city. Enjoying a superb location at the foot of Table Mountain, and just a short stroll from downtown, Mount Nelson Hotel offers the perfect combination of leafy tranquillity and contemporary buzz.Whether dining on exotic Cape cuisine, soaking up the sun on any of the stunning beaches nearby or getting ready to stroll down fashionable Kloof Street, guests have the ideal central base from which to discover this exhilarating city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Otel, getaroom.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Tingo, Jetsetter and South African Hotels so you can book your Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Nelson Cape Town
Hotel Mount Nelson
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.