We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel

Save Saved
You added Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   76 Orange Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (City Bowl)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Now to Save 25%
Ranked #16 of 102 hotels in Cape Town Central
Manchester,England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Very comfortable place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Geat place to unwind for ten days after a busy holiday spent staying at a winery in the Southern Cape, a safari at Ulusaba (truly magnificent) and re-aquintance with a country visited for the first time 30 years ago, such change.
We stayed in a cottage property within magnificent grounds just underneath the beautiful Table Mountain,a lovely lawn at our entrance leading to the outdoor pool hard to beat.
The service at the Mount Nelson is as one would expect, exceptional. We were not enamoured of the afternoon teas as reviewed but if you like sweets then go for it!
The prices are comparable with most 5 star advertised properties the restaurant food much better than competing local haunts, unusual for hotels of this type.
In summary an excellent place to stay in a wonderful location very close to City and places of interest, good value.

Room Tip: Go for the cottages, a very neat terrace of luxury
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    601
    87
    30
    12
    8
See reviews for
123
354
29
114
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

A grand driveway and stunning view, let down bŷ warm drinks to welcome and nowhere to sit. Great rooms, great afternoon tea and bar. Weak performance fixing the aircon in our of our two family rooms. Jerald the pool waiter set the tone for the service overall ,a star, the afternoon tea is rightly legendary. You will see cape towns hoi polloi in all their finery. Worth a visit for grounds/history and grandeur alone.

Room Tip: Third floor has highest ceilings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

I stayed here for one night at a conference and had a large beautiful room overlooking the lush gardens.

The hotel is an older property and been lovingly restored, it does not feel like a city hotel despite its location in he city and this is due to the expansive gardens and grounds. The room style is quite colonial rather than modern/contemporary so if this is to your taste then you will like this hotel.

They do an excellent afternoon tea which is well worth having even if you are not staying at the hotel.

I would suggest that this hotel is better/more suited to a leisure stay rather than business, I really like the taj for a business stay or cape grace on the waterfront.

The hotel is walking distance to all the key city centre attractions but further away from the waterfront.

Room Tip: I for a room overlooking the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I see from previous reviews that this hotel is everything you would expect from a 5 star.I endorse all that is said and wish that I could have stayed there longer than we did to enjoy all the facilities fully but we were on a tour and had to move on after three nights.I adored the "olde worlde" ambience,the service that made you feel special,the chauffeur car service,the fabulous food,the faultless service and the wonderfully comfortable rooms.Treat yourselves,people, to a once in a lifetime experience or more if possible.

Room Tip: We didn't use the spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

The Mount Nelson is one of the best hotels we've stayed at in the world and is even better thatn Raffles in singapore. Gasp - I hear from some people but seriously the Mount Nelson has the edge. There is nothing I could possibly fault about the 'Nellie' and we will keep going back because it just doesn't get any better than this. When you are sitting by the pool and enjoying a cool drink it's as close to perfection as you'll find. The rooms are delightful, nothing is too much trouble for the staff and the Head Concergie is a Master even at such a young age. We ate out most of the time because there are so many lovely restaurants in Capre town that you have to visit but the Hotel provides a chauffeur car service where you are taken to the restaurant, you call when you want collecting, and there's your driver waiting to take you back to the Nelson. How lovely is that!

I could write pages on just how good this hotel is but don't take my word for it. We stayed there when the film Invictus was being filmed in and around Cape Town. Morgan Freeman was staying at the hotel and Noel Gallagher was also there enjoying the pool with his family. No-one bothered them and that's the sign of a good hotel when any guest can enjoy luxury without any hassle. I can sum up the Nelson Hotel in just a few words. "Go and stay there - you'll absolutely love it."

Room Tip: They are all superb. Don't worry for a second.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jedburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

This hotel is quite outstanding for it's accommodation, service and food. The setting at the top of Government Avenue is ideal for walking into the centre of the city. The facilities are excellent and the staff most helpful. Do not miss afternoon tea but be sure to book beforehand as it is very popular. The Planet Bar is a must even if just to soak in the ambience. The restaurant is much improved since we last visited and the meal one of the best due to the quality of the food, the attention of the staff and the help of the sommelier.

Room Tip: Some rooms are in adjacent buildings. Those in the main building more convenient particularly in in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

The Mount Nelson is everything it is cracked up to be! It really is the most beautifully run hotel, the service is faultless, breakfasts wonderful and was the most magical end to a lovely trip to SA. I could not recommend it more and will definitely be back. What a great hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel

Address: 76 Orange Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#8 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#16 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the vibrant heart of Cape Town, Mount Nelson Hotel offers easy access to all that’s happening in this dynamic city. Enjoying a superb location at the foot of Table Mountain, and just a short stroll from downtown, Mount Nelson Hotel offers the perfect combination of leafy tranquillity and contemporary buzz.Whether dining on exotic Cape cuisine, soaking up the sun on any of the stunning beaches nearby or getting ready to stroll down fashionable Kloof Street, guests have the ideal central base from which to discover this exhilarating city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orient Express, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Nelson Cape Town
Hotel Mount Nelson
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.