We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great until we got to our room.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel

Save Saved
You added Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   76 Orange Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (City Bowl)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off published rates
Ranked #17 of 103 hotels in Cape Town Central
New Orleans
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great until we got to our room.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2008

Walking into the Mount Nelson was an experience in and of itself.

The Mount Nelson exudes class once you come through its gates. Everything is elegant and first rate from the ground up through to the lobby. Then once we checked in it was really disappointing.

Our room was incredibly small (was an odd corner room) even though we chose a mid level room (almost all other rooms on the floor that we saw were much larger). Everything in the room seemed old and over used. There were numerous watermarks on the bathroom ceiling and hardly any room to get around the bed. The room just seemed incredibly awkward and ill-designed.

The restaurant was great, but the experience got tarnished as they seemed to have lost our reservation and we spent almost an hour waiting. Would not have been too big of a deal except that when we finally got into the restaurant it was half empty.

Perhaps they treat the uber rich and regulars a bit differently, but it would seem they treat the average joe, well... average.

But hey, the view was nice.

  • Liked — the grounds
  • Disliked — the room
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewCapeTown, General Manager at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2008
Thank you for your constructive feedback which I have shared with the relevant management. As a historical 109 year old building the MNH has 201 bedrooms individually decorated with no two rooms identical. We have a range of room catergories starting with our superior rooms. Due to the nature of the design of the building some of the corner rooms are unfortunately smaller in size than other rooms in the same category. We are in the process throughout 2008 of upgrading bathrooms, softs and furnihings to a large number of our bedrooms in the hotel. Your experience at our restaurant was unacceptable and corrective steps have been taken with the respective management in order to avoid any repetition. i am pleased to inform you all our restaurant staff and management have now completed a refresher course in Interpersonal sales and service skill training. Thank you again for constructive comments and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    598
    86
    31
    12
    8
See reviews for
124
347
30
114
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LONDON
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2008

Booked as part of our third wedding anniversary trip...
I cannot speak highly enough of this hotel.
one of the only five star hotels where I have stayed which made you feel like you were the only guest.
The staff from the general manager to the porters were fantastic, we hated the fact we had to go.
If anyone is going to Cape Town, you must stay here...
Its also far enough from the sometimes chaotic V&A but close enough to get there quickly.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashby de la Zouch, Leics
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2008

The Mount Nelson was a superb hotel for my first visit to Cape Town, the sun shone, the flowers bloomed and the birds sang.
The Nellie as it is affectionately called is set in lush acres of garden, extremely well appointed for its age. The service is impeccable and friendly.
Breakfast is served in the Oasis restaurant overlooking the gardens and pool, with a wide choice as you would expect from a five star hotel. lunch and dinner are served in the main restaurant, beautifully presented.
The rooms are large comfortable, copious towels and a turndown in the evening.
There is a courtesy mini bus to the harbour area throughout the day, taxis are always available and due to the exchange rate with sterling at the moment very cheap. Check their website for photos & more info it's all true.

  • Liked — The old style charm and courteous service
  • Disliked — Distance from the harbour area
  • Stayed November 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2007

Unbelieveable service and scenery. Stayed for a week and was reluctant to leave. Service from checkin to checkout was top notch with staff always knowing our names and taking time to chat about everything Cape Town had to offer. Concierges were overly helpful in arranging tours, car hire or restaurant reservations - Vaughan and Lyall went above and beyond. And the grounds were immaculate and a great respite from the surrounding city. All lead to a definite WOW factor.

Only nits would be the dated rooms, expensive internet and relatively expensive dining for the city. But all of that is overlooked compared to the positives. Don't stay here if you are looking for hip and efficient. Stay for the old school feel, impeccable service and great location.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
229 helpful votes 229 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2007

Everything that a hotel should be. Offered a port, sherry or water on check in and the receptionist gave us a short tour of the hotel. Our room was beautiful. - elegant linens, best bath room ever and lovely toiletries. We were given a bottle of wine and fruit to welcome us. Two swimming pools, one adults only and both heated. Beautiful grounds. Concierge very helpful. We ate once in the fine dining restaurant. Good but the service was slightly slow. We did not complain but at the end of the meal were told that there would be no charge as the meal did not meet their high standards. The Mount Nelson was a treat for our last two days in Africa. We had stayed at Table Bay on arrival and had several problems there. This is a vastly superior hotel. I would stay here just for the experience. Table Bay is an efficient hotel which could be anywhere in the world. Mount Nelson is the best hotel I have ever stayed in anywhere.

  • Liked — Room and grounds of hotel
  • Disliked — Couldn't fault it
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2007

We were surprised to receive a warm, friendly and down-to-earth welcome when we arrived, having been a little apprehensive that the hotel might be a bit snooty given its status. This approach was continued throughout our stay, and made us feel right at home.

We had a luxurious junior suite (honeymoon!) which had been beautifully decorated with rose petals, flowers and candles for our arrival. It could not disappoint.

Generally, service was efficient but unobtrusive. There were some small glitches: a romantic breakfast in bed was a disappointment because the size of the establishment meant that the food was almost cold by the time it reached us, late. And there was some confusion about whether our package included a dinner in the restaurant, about which enquiries had to be made. But all queries were quickly dealt with and resolved, including making space for us for that dinner in the Cape Colony restaurant by including us in a special event that was taking place there.

This isn't a place for the individualised personal touch that one might get from a boutique hotel. It's just too big for that. But it now fully lives up to its reputation. We're glad that we chose this after all rather than going to a glitzier competitor, and we'd happily come here again.

  • Liked — Warmth and friendliness of staff.
  • Disliked — Too big for a true personal touch.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville,TN
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2007

Stayed here for three nights, November 12-15. This is the grande dame of Cape Town hotels---big, old, historical, and as such, it's like a generic big, old, historical hotel anywhere. Service excellent. Rooms fine. We were here as part of a tour, and on my own I would have stayed at a place with more charm, intimacy, and local flavor.

  • Stayed November 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel

Address: 76 Orange Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#8 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the vibrant heart of Cape Town, Mount Nelson Hotel offers easy access to all that’s happening in this dynamic city. Enjoying a superb location at the foot of Table Mountain, and just a short stroll from downtown, Mount Nelson Hotel offers the perfect combination of leafy tranquillity and contemporary buzz.Whether dining on exotic Cape cuisine, soaking up the sun on any of the stunning beaches nearby or getting ready to stroll down fashionable Kloof Street, guests have the ideal central base from which to discover this exhilarating city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orient Express, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com, Jetsetter and Venere so you can book your Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Nelson Cape Town
Hotel Mount Nelson
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.