We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Darrel Lee Tour Guide” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel

Save Saved
You added Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   76 Orange Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (City Bowl)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Now to Save 25%
Ranked #16 of 101 hotels in Cape Town Central
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Darrel Lee Tour Guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Mount Nelson Hotel arranged a tour with Darrel Lee who took us to the Cape of Good Hope and through the vineyards outside of Cape Town.

Darrel was fantastic. His personal experiences through South Africa's growth and changes were shared only as we requested more knowledge and a better understanding. We were thoroughly entertained during our tour and would highly recommend requesting Darrel during your visit.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    604
    87
    30
    12
    8
See reviews for
123
353
29
114
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

What a joy it was to re-visit the Nellie, as this hotel is affectionately called by locals. Instead of a concrete high-rise building in an urban setting, this city hotel is situated in an oasis of palm trees and beautifully landscaped gardens. When stepping into the marble floor foyer, I mowed into a world of elegance and luxury. The highly professional staff greeted me politely, directing me to the lounge where afternoon Tea was served. An excellent selection of cakes, petit fours and canapes is beautifully set out on an antique table. In the corner of the large room a pianist caresses the keys of a Grand Piano. One feels like royalty!
After my delectable refreshments, I took a walk through the large gardens to the swimming pool. To round off my visit, I enjoyed a Gin & Tonic under the palm trees.
I can't wait to be back, this time hopefully for an overnight stay.
My compliments to the staff and Management.

Room Tip: End of corridor suites are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

Without question, it's the best hotel in Cape Town. You are made to feel special from day one. Literally everything about the hotel is wonderful! I've travelled a great deal and stayed at many of the best hotels in the world and The Mount Nelson far exceeded my expectations and really impressed me. I am now altering my plans, so that I can return again later this year.

Room Tip: Ask to be in the main building. We stayed in Junior Suite but saw one of their entry level rooms and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012 via mobile

Don't trust your reservations at this hotel! We had reservations confirmed in August for a Dec. 28 reservation and they cancelled the day before we were due to check in. Outrageous and unforgivable!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albufeira, Portugal
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

We enjoyed a wonderful Sunday jazz buffet brunch at the Oasis Restaurant next to the swimming pool. There was a vast amount of food to choose from, ranging from breakfast and egg options, to traditional Sunday roast meats, chicken, fish and vegetarian dishes. Fruit, smoked salmon, oysters, cold meats, cheese, many salad and deli options, soup, desserts, etc. all fresh, well prepared and delicious. Excellent welcome from the restaurant manager Jason le Fleur, very friendly and accommodation. A really lovely way to spend a Sunday afternoon, whether you are staying at the Mount Nelson or not.

Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hill View, Warwick, Bermuda
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

It has been 11 years since I last went to the Mount nelson hotel . It was a moment of fond memories to go back and experience the high tea of the Mount Nelson hotel.
I was most impressed to recognise some of the waitering staff who used to serve me . my favourite champagne was served without asking by the same gentleman who used to serve me everyday pink champagne. We were a group of 8 people who travelled from bermuda and this experience was well worth every penny.

The abstract monochrome interiors of the bar to the classic pink carpet of mount nelson helped to create a festive moment when friends and i were sipping away on champers and indulging into the finest of finest high tea nibbles.

It was a gorgeous day especially the soft sounds of the grand Piano music and may I add it looks very much fabulocity !

Room Tip: make sure you dress for the occasion- most guests are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

We have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and its eating places. This is our 5th consecutive year of visiting the Nellie and each time we come away feeling the same - its first class all round excellent holiday. Service is first class - the food is wonderful - most especially the Planet resturant which is total treat.

The rooms are excellent and the views out over table mountain breath taking.

A friend of ours came with us for the first time this year and left in awe at the enjoyment of staying at the Nellie.

An unreserved recommendation if you need a break and want to be look after - go to the Nellie - it costs a little more - but its worth every penny.

Room Tip: Seek a room with a view of table mountain if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel

Address: 76 Orange Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#8 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#16 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the vibrant heart of Cape Town, Mount Nelson Hotel offers easy access to all that’s happening in this dynamic city. Enjoying a superb location at the foot of Table Mountain, and just a short stroll from downtown, Mount Nelson Hotel offers the perfect combination of leafy tranquillity and contemporary buzz.Whether dining on exotic Cape cuisine, soaking up the sun on any of the stunning beaches nearby or getting ready to stroll down fashionable Kloof Street, guests have the ideal central base from which to discover this exhilarating city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orient Express, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Nelson Cape Town
Hotel Mount Nelson
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.