We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious hospitality!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cape Grace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Cape Grace to your Saves list
Cape Grace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   West Quay Road | Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 5 and Save 25%
Ranked #8 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Luxurious hospitality!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2010

The Cape Grace is a luxuriously comfortable small boutique hotel in a great location. The staff are delightfully pleasant and anxious to take good care of you. Smiles everywhere. The rooms are very well appointed and spacious. The restaurant is excellent, and I would be very happy to stay here again, which I will probably do.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,003
    90
    25
    6
    9
See reviews for
187
619
44
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NEW ZEALAND
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2010

this hotel is in the best spot of the city. Is very nice, clean and comfortable. The view of the waterfront is great, the service is outstanding and all the staff is more than helpfull GREAT

  • Stayed January 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2010

Cape Grace Hotel is located in a terrific location in terms of shopping and restaurants. The hotel is right on the harbor and the views are beautiful. There are wonderful touches, such as complimentary sherry and port in the library every evening; downloads of your favorite newspapers (we got the New York Times and USA Today delivered to our room every day) and the courtesy limo to places in Cape Town.
The service in the restaurants was not consistent. Several times at breakfast we had to find our own coffee and almost beg for service. Given the price of the hotel, this is unacceptable. The guest relations desk was not always staffed with people who could help out.
Rooms were lovely with a spacious dressing area and a huge marbled bathroom. French doors opened to a view of the harbor-in the evenings we saw seals romping in the water.
Overall this is a very gracious and lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarm
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2010

The Cape Grace is situated at the V & A watwerfront development. The room we had was one of the best we have ever occupied. The staff were pleasant and extrenely helpful. The food was excellent.
The only drawback is that the non-smoking area of the bar is sometimes cordoned off for private parties. Otherwise faultless.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Scotland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2010

Stayed at the Cape Grace for 4 days at the start of our trip to South Africa. From the minute we arrived at the hotel it was a fantastic experience. It ranks as one of the best hotels we have stayed in. The team at Guest Relations are very helpful in arranging tours or restaurant recommendations. (Special mention to Sheba!). The breakfasts were of an extremely high quality with an excellent selection. The rooms and general decor of the hotel is extremely classy whilst being very cosy and welcoming. The pool area is a bit on the small side but was never busy during our stay and the pool staff couldn't do enough for you. We made good use of the hotel's BMW 7 Series to ferry us around the city, it's complimentary and you do need to book in advance. The hotel is certainly not cheap but we also didn't feel it was poor value either. The old addage you get what you pay for certainly applies at the Cape Grace.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2010

after three flights this hotel couldn't be more inviting. Centrally located to many restaurants so you dont need a taxi.

Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2010

Cape Grace sits among the top hotels I have ever stayed at (along with Four Seasons Hong Kong, Four Seasons des Bergues in Geneva and the Park Hyatt Tokyo).

The rooms are spacious, and feel completely new and clean. They all offer views of either the harbour or Table mountain. Beds are very comfortable and sheets are crisp.

Bathrooms are also very luxurious and clean. Our room had a huge shower that could fit two.

Overall, the furniture feels new yet comfortable and homy. The service was irreproachable (concierge/reception were always quick to satisfy our demands and make recommendations for dinner).

The location of the hotel is perfect for tourism. It is also pretty close to the World Cup stadium (probably a 20-minute walk).

The hotel restaurant was also excellent. We had dinner there our last evening and it offers a great selection of seafood from the region.

All the amenities and service level of this hotel make it a sure 5-star by any international standard.

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cape Grace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Grace

Address: West Quay Road | Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#2 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Grace 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a private quay between the working harbour of Cape Town’s bustling Victoria & Alfred Waterfront and the serenity of an international yacht marina, Cape Grace is a welcoming and gracious sanctuary of tradition, sophistication and contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Venere, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Cape Grace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Grace Hotel Cape Town Central
Hotel Cape Town
Cape Town Grace
Cape Grace Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape Grace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.