We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cape Grace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Cape Grace to your Saves list
Cape Grace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   West Quay Road | Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 5 and Save 25%
Ranked #7 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Brussels
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2009

We stayed here for 5 days as part of 3-week honeymoon. The staff are wonderful – very friendly, helpful, professional and efficient. Loved our room and the Bascule whisky bar. Loved Cape Town full stop and when we come back we wouldn’t stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,105
    101
    30
    8
    11
See reviews for
210
682
46
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2009

I travel regularly around the world and have stayed in hundreds of hotels. The Cape Grace has become the gold standard: it is simply the best hotel I have ever stayed in. This is not because it is the plushest, or the largest, or the most expensive. Rather it comes down the tasteful decor, extraordinary staff, exceptional location and a whole range of little personal touches: fresh flowers in the room, a creative little box of goodies for our children, even a gingerbread man for them in the evenings. Do yourself a favour next time you are in Cape Town and stay in this hotel. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2009

This hotel is the best ever!

This best thing about the hotel is that the staff and managers are so very friendly and helpful so that this hotel is the best ever!

Stepping out of our transfer from the airport the concierge greeted our daughter by her Christian name and this was the start of the best ever hotel we have stayed in both from the staff, the hotel room and the excellent restaurant where we were given glasses of Chardonnay while waiting for our wine to cool. It is all the very small special touches and helpfulness which distinguishes this hotel from the rest and so you really must go there and stay and enjoy it for yourself.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Durham
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2009

If you are reading this and trying to decide wether to book, do it its amazing you wont be dissapointed! We stayed at this hotel in Jan last year and had the most amazing time.

Rooms
Very well equiped we had a separate dressing room,large bathroom with walk in shower separate toilet,we didnt have a view of Table Mountain as we were at the front of the hotel.We had a juliet style balcony and had a lovely view over the V&A waterfront.Plenty of storage in the room, lovely toiletries similar to Molten Brown/White Company.Plenty of tea/filter coffee,biscuits,bottled water,lovely turndown service with choccies etc.

Pool
I agree with previous reviews the pool area is quite small but as there is so much sightseeing to do in Capetown we only spent 2 days by the pool.Pool service was good ate at the poolside and it was lovely.We thought the meals really good value.

Bar/Food
The bar in the basement was fab,the biggest wine cellar ive ever seen.Really great staff .The bar gets really lively on a weekend and has a great vibe cocktails were fab.We also ate in the bar and again food was gorgeous and reasonable.We had both breakfast in our room and in the restaurant and both were great.

Spa
Was lovely I had a pre long haul flight treatment on my last day which was great,a massage & scrub then inflatable sort of leggings it was lovely and my room had a view of table mountain.When I got back to my room after my teatment there was a little gift from the spa which was a nice touch.

We ate at a couple of restaurants on the V&A waterfont and they were all good even tried Ostrich.I would recommend a trip to Table Mountain hotel will organise a car or taxis are sooo cheap.We went to Robben Island the ferry crossing is only a few minutes walk from the hotel, quite an emotional experience and well worth a visit.We also took a taxi to Camps Bay which was amazing, fantastic beaches and restaurants ate .We ate at the most amazing restaurant which was one of the top places to eat overlooking the sea dress up a bit it was v posh.We had friends staying in The Table Bay which didnt look as nice as our hotel,much bigger and not as classy.The shopping centre on the V&A waterfont is great not any cheaper than home but lovely designer shops.

Oh and dont forget the amazing wine.

Hope you decide to visit we will return!

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the cape grace a few weeks ago. It is without question the greatest service we have ever received. We are used to staying at Four Seasons, Ritz Carltons etc so we know nice hotels. The service here was unreal. The hotel offers a complimentary car service anywhere in a 10km area. We went to Table Mountain and the hotel dropped us off and picked us up in their beautiful 7 series BMW. We went to a restaurant for dinner and they dropped us off and told us to call them when we finished and they came right back to pick us up. Each morning with our wake up call came a knock on the door with fresh coffee and tea. Every night we came home we had a small gift waiting for us. I would recommend anyone to stay at this hotel provided you are not scared off by the high rates they charge. It's not a cheap place but to me it is well worth it. It's in a great location for walking to shops/restaurants and many other activities. Jules and Andrea in particular were just incredible helps to my wife and I as we had never been to Africa before. It was a truly amazing experience.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IN
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2009

This hotel deserves all the accolades it receives. We were there for five nights in a rooftop terrace room and couldn't ask for better. The service, the friendliness, the location - all was great. It is expensive, but it is an expensive area. We thoroughly enjoyed the activity of the adjacent harbor area. A perfect place for our first stop in South Africa.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2009

my husband and i spent 5 nights here,hotel is very elegant has almost a colonial feel.perfect spot right on the marina facing table mountain!our room was lovely beautifully furnished with juliet balcony facing table mountain and marina down below us,wonderful sights from the moment you woke!
service excellent,good choice of food only down side was pool area very small totally not suitable for a hotel of this rating or room size!if you were there to want to use the pool daily i can imagine it would become a gripe!we werent so didnt bother us!
pre going i wasnt keen as didnt know what to expect,having stayed there all i can say is capegrace is somewhere we would def return to...!

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cape Grace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Grace

Address: West Quay Road | Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Grace 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a private quay between the working harbour of Cape Town’s bustling Victoria & Alfred Waterfront and the serenity of an international yacht marina, Cape Grace is a welcoming and gracious sanctuary of tradition, sophistication and contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Splendia, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Cape Grace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Grace Hotel Cape Town Central
Hotel Cape Town
Cape Town Grace
Cape Grace Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape Grace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.